We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Staff extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, so were the evening meals. Our room was lovely - clean, fresh and spacious. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazz469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you so much for finding the time to post a review and your kind words.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 847 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

Staff were friendly and helpful, but I would definitely recommend booking a table for dinner in advance if you plan on eating there. The meals were very nice - an absolutely huge serving of fish and chips, and delicious mushy peas. However the rooms weren't fantastic. Our whole room was on a lean, with everything slanting back towards the door. The bed was two single beds pushed together, and this also had a lean to it, resulting in a bit of an uncomfortable night's sleep. Pillows weren't great either. Shower was hard to control in terms of temperature, and there wasn't much pressure. Appreciated the free wifi, but it often dropped in and out. Overall, I'd definitely eat there again but would probably look for somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am obviously pleased you loved our food but disappointed that you did not enjoy the room.
The room you refer to is in the very oldest part of the hotel and dates back to 1654. I agree it is very uneven and completely take on board your comments; however we purposely have never changed it due to its character (not to mention the grade one listing). Apart from the seven rooms in the main building we do have twenty five that are of a modern structure, including the new Mews rooms that have been purpose built in 2012. As you enjoyed the food and service, I do hope you would come and stay again in one of those.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our daughter found the Redesdale on the Internet for us while we were inLondon. We were travelling by train and Moreton-in-Marsh was the railway station central to the Cotswalds we had a 5 day stay here and found everyone to be very pleasant and helpful. Joseph was very promp on answering emails and when we arrived found the girl at the desk(think her name was Terry) to be very efficient. Our room was lovely and very clean the housekeeping staff very friendly and advised on places to see and buses to get. Dining room and ar staff very efficient
We would thoroughly recommend The Redesdale to anyone visiting Moreton-in-Marsh

Room Tip: We only stayed in one location but I would say that all rooms would be spotless because the housekee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time ion the Cotswold's. It is amazing that in only one and a half hours from Paddington , you can be in the heart of the Cotswold's.
Many thanks
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We arrived in Moreton in Marsh for a week's holiday in the Cotswolds and found this pub to eat at the first night. Fabulous Pork dish with the most amazing Forestiere sauce and crackling. The Dutch style chips weren't up to much (with cheese and fried onions). My partner had the sausages and mash and he loved it. Spent a pleasurable couple of hours in this pub where there was no loud trashy music and you could talk without having to shout. Very, Very nice.

Room Tip: Get there early if you want to eat. Fills up quickly after six pm and the restaurant is always full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you, The Pork breed is "Gloucestershire Old Spot".
So glad you enjoyed it.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stay at the Redesdale Arms regularly as I have business in the local area. I have always found the hotle to be very clean with a welcoming abience. The staff are friendly and professional and provide an excellent service, the food is also excellent - whether bar food or restaurant meals. The accommodation is clean and very comfortable and the internet access is extremely helpful for me as the signal locally is not always good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BH050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.1 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,998 reviews
0.1 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,144 reviews
8.2 km away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
283 reviews
10.6 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
11.4 km away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: ₹ 6,634 - ₹ 12,838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing