We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Crown Hotel(Blockley)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Bell Inn(Moreton-in-Marsh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coach & Horses Inn(Longborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horse and Groom(Bourton-on-the-Hill)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Malins(Blockley)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Inn(Moreton-in-Marsh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,326)
Filter reviews
1,329 results
Traveller rating
786
414
96
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
786
414
96
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecanter of sherrymews roombreakfast was buffet stylewhirlpool bathlounge barspiral staircasehot buffetbottled watermain buildingjunior suitemodern bathroomhigh streetcar parktea and coffee making facilitieshuge bedevening mealkippers
Filter
Updating list...
993 - 998 of 1,329 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Staff were friendly and helpful, but I would definitely recommend booking a table for dinner in advance if you plan on eating there. The meals were very nice - an absolutely huge serving of fish and chips, and delicious mushy peas. However the rooms weren't fantastic. Our whole room was on a lean, with everything slanting back towards the door. The bed was two single beds pushed together, and this also had a lean to it, resulting in a bit of an uncomfortable night's sleep. Pillows weren't great either. Shower was hard to control in terms of temperature, and there wasn't much pressure. Appreciated the free wifi, but it often dropped in and out. Overall, I'd definitely eat there again but would probably look for somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am obviously pleased you loved our food but disappointed that you did not enjoy the room.
The room you refer to is in the very oldest part of the hotel and dates back to 1654. I agree it is very uneven and completely take on board your comments; however we purposely have never changed it due to its character (not to mention the grade one listing). Apart from the seven rooms in the main building we do have twenty five that are of a modern structure, including the new Mews rooms that have been purpose built in 2012. As you enjoyed the food and service, I do hope you would come and stay again in one of those.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our daughter found the Redesdale on the Internet for us while we were inLondon. We were travelling by train and Moreton-in-Marsh was the railway station central to the Cotswalds we had a 5 day stay here and found everyone to be very pleasant and helpful. Joseph was very promp on answering emails and when we arrived found the girl at the desk(think her name was Terry) to be very efficient. Our room was lovely and very clean the housekeeping staff very friendly and advised on places to see and buses to get. Dining room and ar staff very efficient
We would thoroughly recommend The Redesdale to anyone visiting Moreton-in-Marsh

Room Tip: We only stayed in one location but I would say that all rooms would be spotless because the housekeeping staff were very thorough
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time ion the Cotswold's. It is amazing that in only one and a half hours from Paddington , you can be in the heart of the Cotswold's.
Many thanks
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We arrived in Moreton in Marsh for a week's holiday in the Cotswolds and found this pub to eat at the first night. Fabulous Pork dish with the most amazing Forestiere sauce and crackling. The Dutch style chips weren't up to much (with cheese and fried onions). My partner had the sausages and mash and he loved it. Spent a pleasurable couple of hours in this pub where there was no loud trashy music and you could talk without having to shout. Very, Very nice.

Room Tip: Get there early if you want to eat. Fills up quickly after six pm and the restaurant is always fully booked.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedesdaleArmsHotel, General Manager at Redesdale Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you, The Pork breed is "Gloucestershire Old Spot".
So glad you enjoyed it.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I stay at the Redesdale Arms regularly as I have business in the local area. I have always found the hotle to be very clean with a welcoming abience. The staff are friendly and professional and provide an excellent service, the food is also excellent - whether bar food or restaurant meals. The accommodation is clean and very comfortable and the internet access is extremely helpful for me as the signal locally is not always good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BH050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Just returned with my wife and family after two nights stay. Rob the Manager and his Staff were very efficient and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We had two Executive rooms which were very modern and spotlessly clean. Also had a meal in the Hotel restaurant which served top quality food and 1st class service. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews