We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay on our way home. Our room was new and in the courtyard at the back. It was lovely and quiet with no traffic noise.

The room, was, I think, brand new. Everywhere was sparkling clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. The breakfast was plentiful and excellent and we felt it was very good value for money.

However....there were one or two niggles. The bed was a 'triple' and therefore enormous - unfortunately it was far too big for the tiny room! There was also a huge flat screen TV on the wall. The room was so overwhelmed by the furniture we could barely walk around the bed and I think I would have found it very claustrophobic for more than one night's stay. There was a small wardrobe which came to about chest level. This had mirrors on it - so, rather bizarrely, I could check that my lower body looked OK but not the whole effect - perhaps a full length mirror on the back of the door would have been more sensible?

Our room was on the ground floor and overlooked an inner courtyard. It had patio doors which were chained so they could only be opened very slightly. This was the only way to get air into the room and, as it was quite warm, it was frustrating we couldn't open it wider. There seemed only two reasons why the door was chained this way - either for safety as other rooms also faced into this courtyard or, I suspect more likely because it contained a hot tub which presumably we weren't supposed to use as it probably was an extra cost on the room. Luckily no one used it whilst we were there as the noise from its use would have been annoying.

Anyway, as I say, for one night's stay it was fine!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

948 - 952 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed in June 2012 and were greeted with a nice, spacious airy room with a comfortable bed. However the hot water in the bathroom lacked pressure and was not too warm. The location was great being a 5-min walk from Moreton-in-Marsh train station. The food was also good but there weren't a lot of vegeterian options at breakfast apart from eggs, toast, beans, mushrooms and hashbrown. Some places have a vegeterian sausage, porridge, pancakes etc which this place does not have.
Overall, we would stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subbu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We didn't stay at the Redesdale Arms but we ate there several times. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The hotel dining room, outdoor eating area and bar area were very comfortable with a good atmosphere. The accommodation area looked good and is reasonably new at the back of the premises, with convenient car parking.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The hotel is located right in front of the bus stop and is a 5 minute walk from the train station.
The staff are warm, helpful and surprisingly good spirited!
You enter through the pub and make your way to the back where the rooms are.

Tired from a 7 mile hike in the countryside, we ordered room service for the night, which was very tasty and had decent portion sizes.

The room had a framed history of the hotel - a fun read!

There was what looked like the skin / fur of some large animal on the carpet. I do hope it wasn't real. Quite creepy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeelimaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I chose to stay in Moreton-in-Marsh, a less touristy town in the Cotswolds with better train and bus connections. I enjoyed the more natural manner of the town as compared to say, Bourton on the Water. I did like Chipping Camden.
The Redesdale Arms was a nice, comfortable hotel option, especially if you are without a car. Modern appointed rooms in one wing, a nice bar where locals and guests mix, quaint lounge, and a substantial breakfast. The restaurant serves nice meals. The mussels were some of the best I've had (twice)! Staff was hardworking and attentive. (Many thanks to Robert for assisting in my lost invoice).
Nice hotel option in a town that is less affected than most in the area yet still maintains the Cotswolds charm.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,101 reviews
0.1 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,173 reviews
8.6 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
995 reviews
6.9 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
318 reviews
7.3 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redesdale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redesdale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price Range: ₹ 6,225 - ₹ 14,163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Redesdale Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 32 en-suite rooms including recently renovated Double and Twin rooms in the main buildings first floor/ground floor of annex to rear of hotel and purpose built executive rooms including stunning four poster room and wheelchair friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Redesdale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redesdale Arms Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing