We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the Cotswolds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Have just had a few days in this hotel to unwind. After reading reviews on Trip Advisor before we went, we were not sure what to find. What we did find was an excellent hotel with friendly staff, good facilities, superb food & a lovely atmosphere!! Dinner was served in a very pleasant dining room with lovely linen on the tables. The wine list offered a good choice of both wines & prices. We chose a Cote du Rhone which was really delicious!! The meal was one of the most delicious that we have had in a long time. Breakfasts were also superb. Lots of places were close by and quite a few National Trust houses & gardens.
We certainly look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Rooms facing garden are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    289
    85
    40
    19
See reviews for
141
643
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked a night in a fourposter room to celebrate my partner's birthday. I asked for a quiet room and we were delighted to get Room 8 at the back with a view over the garden. Huge, high four poster bed with a lovely comfy mattress, gorgeous window seat with a view over the garden and very peaceful but the room itself and bathroom were quite small.

Moreton is not the loveliest town in the Cotswolds - a main road runs through the middle and there's not a lot there - but we had a nice wander round Batsford Arboretum which is less than 5 minutes away by car.

We had a lovely afternoon tea in the library - fabulous scones! Highlight of our stay was the lovely service at dinner where we were made to feel very special from the moment we entered the bar to have a pre dinner drink to being left to talk long after we'd finished dinner. Great staff. Dinner was lovely but the dining room lacks ambiance somewhat, especially at breakfast. If we stayed again, I think we'd eat in the Brasserie which is set in a lovely conservatory.

Overall, good place for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Room 8 is small with a tiny bathroom but is lovely and quiet with a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamae64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

First Impressions, beautiful, very tasteful decor, cosy areas to sit, open fire in lobby. Staff very nice. Room, small, clean, very nice, not fantastic quality mattress, nothing wow but everything you need, view over a flat roof. The area is beautiful, lots af antiques shops, art galleries, nice places to eat, drink and walk. We had a single nights stay, which included a cream tea, a 4 course evening meal and free tickets to Batsford arboretum, which was well worth the visit, what an amazing place with such an interesting history. We were looking forward to our evening meal but were left feeling a little flat and disappointed.The amuse bouche was a piece of feta deep fried in breadcrumbs hardly showcasing the chefs creativity. For our starter we ordered minestrone soup and stilton crème brulee, the soup was very good, but the stilton brulee, a small ramekin of quiche textured brulee topped with tiny rings of fried onion (not crispy onion rings) a small dish of sloppy cranberry jelly and a piece of toast with a walnut covered in caramel placed on top, hard enough to break your teeth and sharp enough to cut your mouth. Main course, my husband ordered, fillet of monkfish with oxtail cannelloni, the monkfish was overcooked but the oxtail was very good. I ordered seared scallops, caramelised chicken wings, the scallops were cooked well, the nero risotto, was a dry, gloopy under seasoned mess which you could push around the plate in a ball.The dessert was by far the worst course, we both ordered Coffee and doughnuts espresso mousse, home made doughnuts, brandy snap tuille. We had 1 doughnut the size of a walnut, which was heavy and stodgy not an air bubble in sight, the brandy snap tuille wasn't even on the plate, maybe that was something else the chef couldn't master. The food was presented beautifully and the service was great but your not there to look at it. The cream tea served in the afternoon was great, more filling than the evening meal. Breakfast, couldn't fault it. We paid less to stay at the Lords of the manor hotel not far away, the food was so must better.If your not a 'foodie' I don't think you'll be disappointed in this hotel in anyway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had our wedding at the Manor House Hotel - 21st April, what can I say...apart from the fact it was faultless, amazing and beautiful. Anyone who is considering getting married here...you shouldn't have any concerns. (magical) I would also like to say a very very big thank you to Tom at the hotel"our wedding co-ordinator" who is absolutely brilliant at his job and a very big credit to the hotel. Everything went so smoothy!.. anyone thinking about getting married here...you should not have any concerns, everything down to the final detail was perfect. I can honestly say if I owned a hotel..I'd head hunt Tom Gibbons he's really that good! Thank you to all the staff at the Manor who made our day wonderful "a day that will remembered forever". I can't thank you enough

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamesandkatie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Charming hotel (quirky rooms) complimented by great food and friendly staff.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Runningthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moreton-in-Marsh
0.2 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.2 km away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
12.9 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
10.5 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
8.8 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: High Street, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Moreton-in-Marsh
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,012 - ₹ 21,875
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel Moreton In Marsh
The Manor House Hotel Moreton-In-Marsh, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing