We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar”
Review of The Abbey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abbey
Ranked #15 of 68 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Stellar”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We came into town without a reservation and were lucky enough to get a room. Stayed two nights and were very happy. comfortable beds, great shower, nice tea set up in room. Everything was comfortable and nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountain_explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    53
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
69
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Excellent location for town. Sophie and Greg very freindly, breakfast excellent. You received a parking permit, but in the evenings it was difficult to park if you came back late. Rooms clean and tidy, my sister in law was in room 5 which was modern and very light looked as if it had just been done, but the shower was small so if you was average build it would be quite a tight fit. We had room 14 which wasn't as modern, but the shower unit was a lot larger and more managable. Overall an enjoyable stay and would go back if room 14 was free.

Room Tip: As said above room 14 had a decent size shower unt
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lis014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2011

A lovely hotel! Myself and my other half wanted a get-away weekend in Cheltenham and we got a double room at The Abbey at short notice. Its just a short walk to the town centre which is great and also there wasn't much noise during the night from local pubs.

Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished and had an en-suite shower and toilet with a basin in the bedroom, which was no problem. The hotel was very homely and the owners were very friendly and helpful, there was a good selection available for breakfast and the full English was delicious!

We didn't bring a car and instead travelled to and from Cheltenham on the train, after check out the owners kindly let us leave our backpacks in the hotel for a few hours while we spent the day in Cheltenham, which was great!

We'll be coming back soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2011

A fine place to stay, with friendly hosts and a quiet part of town. Every comfort and fresh, clean room. Excellent breakfast. We will be back

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgrbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Meadows, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Abbey! The staff was friendly and informative, the guests were interesting and engaging. The rooms were quaint and I felt welcomed and at home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ariananeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cheltenham hotels
0.6 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#14 of 23 in Cheltenham
547 reviews
0.5 km away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
1.0 km away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
220 reviews
0.2 km away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
1.0 km away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey

Property: The Abbey
Address: 14-16 Bath Parade, Cheltenham GL53 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,449 - ₹ 9,260
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run town house bed & breakfast hotel in the heart of Cheltenham. Ideally situated in a pleasant residential street with all town centre amenities just a brief walk away. We provide a friendly, relaxed atmosphere in comfortable and attractive surroundings. Residents bar. Free parking permits. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing