We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
358
179
44
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
179
44
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet squaretown centreteddy beartop floorno liftsteep stepslovely hotelhappily stay here againhigh ceilingssuperior roomcar parkgave us a maplarge roomfull englishbreakfast was excellentporridgewarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great, 10 minutes walk to cinema, restaurants and shops. Staff were friendly and hard working, although the man who checked me in was grumpy. I wasn’t told about the pool access, given a map or told about the DVD library that is mentioned in other reviews. Initially we were given room 8 on the ground floor but I could hear people chatting below me and could hear every word - went back to reception and moved to room 10 on the first floor which was much better. Breakfast was okay with a fair selection but some of the breakfast dishes were dirty. Both rooms I saw needed a deep clean. Although the fabric of the building is old, bathrooms should still be clean and this could easily be remedied. WiFi was good and parking was convenient.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShrimpUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear ShrimpUK. Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found many aspects of your stay enjoyable. As you are aware you did arrive early and wanted to check in early. We did everything in our power to get the room for you as quickly as possible, but we could tell that you were not happy that it was not ready for which we apologised and we did remind you that check-in was not until 2pm. I believe your husband made the booking and was not with you at this time, so we appreciated that this may have been why you did not know this. In hindsight we did rush to get the room ready for you, we should have taken longer and our housekeeper should have thoroughly checked the room, as would be our normal standard for which I apologise. I hope you will understand we were just trying to get the room ready for you as quickly as possible. In addition because you were sat in the lounge waiting for the room we did not check you in as we normally would, so if some things you were interested in were missed again my apologies. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review. Regards Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

A charming hotel in a beautifully converted townhouse. Our upgraded room was Cosy, with beautiful decoration and a spacious bathroom. Breakfast downstairs had a nice choice from croissants to full English. Very relaxing base for exploring the cotswolds.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Fedz2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Clarence Court and Cheltenham very soon and thanks once again for your lovely comments. Regards Chris

Traveler Tip: Remember it is always cheaper when you book direct on our website or over the phone on 01242 580411 rather than through an on line agent as we pay them a large commission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

8 plus baby stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and were well looked after. From arriving at the hotel we were made to feel welcome Scot and the team are exemplary in the hospitality field giving lots of tips and advice for our adventures. The rooms were all well furnished and beds really comfortable. Would recommend this hotel in a flash and if we ever down this way again will definitely be stopping over for our stay.

Room Tip: Mid range prices for luxury accomodation
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank vicjay160992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Vicjay 160992, Thank you so much for your lovely review I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that Scott and the team looked after you and our beds really comfortable. We use top of the range 3000 pocket sprung mattresses and we believe this really makes a big difference. We hope to welcome you back to Clarence Court and Cheltenham very soon and thanks once again for your lovely comments. Regards Chris

Traveler Tip: Remember it is always cheaper when you book direct on our website or over the phone on 01242 580411 rather than through an on line agent as we pay them a large commission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We came for 3 nights in a group of 8 all different ages, rooms lovely, hotel very nice, the restaurant Joules served amazing home cooked fresh food, the staff and management where so helpful suggesting days out and very welcoming the manager especially took the time daily to speak to us all, would recommend this hotel to others and would return if ever in the area

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Daydream741687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our food in Joules restaurant, we do try to use locally sourced ingredients as much as possible and we believe this and cooking everything to order makes a big difference, I will certainly pass on your kind comments to all concerned. We hope to welcome you back to Clarence Court and Cheltenham very soon and thanks once again for your lovely comments. Regards Chris

Traveler Tip: Remember it is always cheaper when you book direct on our website or over the phone on 01242 580411 rather than through an on line agent as we pay them a large commission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Very welcoming staff keen to oblige. Plenty of parking a distinct bonus in Cheltenham. Restaurant and possible to dine in which is a bonus with a very good choice of food on menu. A lovely large room and with comfy bed and bath shower ensuite well provisioned with toiletries.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard Stewart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarence99, Owner at Clarence Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Richard, thank you so much for your lovely review I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Clarence Court and Cheltenham very soon and thanks once again for your lovely comments. Regards Chris

Traveler Tip: Remember it is always cheaper when you book direct on our website or over the phone on 01242 580411 rather than through an on line agent as we pay them a large commission.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews