We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic and perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Steve T
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic and perfect location”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just stayed and it was perfect. Good location near the river. Very clean and well presented.

Used information pack and walked to the Slaughters and Naunton. Cycled to Stow and Slaughters.

Access to walks from cottage were ideal.

As cottage so well equipped we only ate out twice in the week we stayed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
We're pleased that you enjoyed the perfect location for walking & cycling to explore other local villages. Let's hope you have fine weather when you return in December!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jun 2014
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lavender Cottage and the facilities it offers.Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachael O
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful home away from home in a lovely location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful and very comfortable cottage in a lovely location. The owners had gone to great lengths to ensure that our stay was perfect.

On arrival we were greeted with a well stocked fridge containing wine, juice, milk, water, butter, fresh coffee, jam, ketchup. The cupboards were equally tempting with teabags, bread, a variety of cereals and an assortment of condiments. There was fresh fruit in a bowl and several treats/snacks.

The cottage is very comfortable and cosy with lots of throws and fleecy blankets to snuggle up under. The beds were very comfy and there were plenty of big fluffy towels.

Centrally located in Bourton-on-the-Water but in a very quiet and tranquil setting. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great for us but if it had have been we would have made full use of the delightful garden area.

Prior to booking the cottage, Hilary, the owner was really helpful. She went to the cottage and measured the available space in each bedroom to ensure that our daughter's travel cot would fit. Having left an item of clothing in the washing machine, Hilary alerted us to this and posted it back to us, declining our offer to pay for postage. She even washed it again for us. Hilary also arranged for us to have an early check-in and a later check-out which was much appreciated.

We can highly recommend this cottage and the service is first class.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the excellent customer service
Liked least: The stairs were a little awkward when carrying our baby up and down but this was a very minor issue and one that we were fully aware of prior to booking
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the quiet location. It's such a pity that you had so much rain. Bring your own sunshine next time?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrina L
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in the heart of a picturesque village”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Lovely weekend spent here with friends - the cottage is in a fantastic location, right in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water and is a great place to relax or as a base for the many walks and attractions nearby.

The owners were extremely attentive and keen to ensure we had everything we could need, including breakfast essentials, extra blankets etc.

There's a huge choice of pubs and restaurants nearby - particularly recommend the Kings Head Inn restaurant which is a short drive away.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We're pleased that you enjoyed your visit to this special part of the Cotswolds and that Lavender Cottage met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex W
1 review
“Idillic property with everything you could need”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fabulous cottage that was so quintecentially beautiful we couldnt believe our luck! Hilary really goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome and at home, even with a bottle of wine for our arrival and roses to take home. We felt very comfortable in the cottage, with CD collection, books and games to keep us busy which was so lovely. Perfect location, literally right off the main street with shops and cafes, so for myself, with my elderly father it was ideal to minimise the long walks! We would definitely love to go back here and plan to in the future, thank you again for a lovely stay!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased you found that the location suited your needs. It really is ideal for people who don't want to, or can't, walk very far. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing