We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dial House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey Uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

stayed there for one night and had there 8 course taster menu - booked through travelzoo. Very good food, lovely room and friendly staff - the weather was appaling. But that wasn't there fault.

Room Tip: Stayed in a superior room, which was above the restaurant, at the front - no trouble with any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    137
    66
    38
    18
See reviews for
46
347
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Beautiful old building in a central village location. Free wifi and great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed at the Halford House as the Dial House was already fully booked. However, we decided to have a drink and nibbles at the bar at Dial House the first evening of our two night stay. When we arrived and asked for a table at the bar we were advised that they were already fully booked. When we then mentioned that we stay at Halford House we were shown a table but it was obvious that they didnt care.

We ordered a bottle of Pino Noir, which btw was fantastic, and wanted to order a cheese platter along with it. Not only sighed the staff when we placed the order, she also made it clear that she would need to check with the chef as they were having a busy evening. We were obviously very surprised about that response, since the cheese platter was on the menu. When she returned we were told that according to her anticipation the chef advised her that he would have no time to deal with our order. Seriously??? The chef is to busy to deal with an order???? Hello? We ordered a cheese platter - not a challenging 5 course menu!!!!
If we would have been advised that perhaps they are not serving food in the bar area, then it would have been different. Not only has the staff an attitude but on top of it being told that the chef is too busy to prepare a cheese platter - that was definitely a first!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy01Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the Dial House nine years ago and it was fantastic. Unfortunately, it feels like it hasn't been invested in since. Whilst the staff and service are good, the Hotel is really tatty. The carpets are threadbare on the stairs and the general feel is tired. The Hotel has been poorly maintained and in our room the light switch fell apart when touched. The bathroom had cracks in the walls and there was no shower, just a bath. Bulbs were not working in certain light fittings and the mattress on the bed was way past its lifespan providing an uncomfortable night. The restaurant is advertised as "Fine Dining" and the food at dinner was good although the eggs at breakfast were stone cold. This could be a great “Boutique” hotel but really needs money spending on it desperately to justify the prices. Poor value compared to the standard of many equivalent Hotels these days.

Room Tip: The Four Poster beds are small and the matresses uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Booked using the Travel Zoo offer with an overnight stay, 8 course taster dinner and breakfast.
Hotel was ideally located amongst the main stretch by the river, slightly set back a little. It is cosy and intimate and has bags of character with its wobbly steps and low ceilings. Decor was beautiful and the whole place is spotless. Our room was so lovely. Everything in the room was good quality- solid wood tables, expensives lamps etc. Some lovely homemade shortbread was amongst the tea and coffee facilities. My only criticism was the shower was a mixer tap from the bath taps and was quite difficult to get right.
Dinner was delicious as was breakfast and the staff who served it were lovely. Definitely going back!

Room Tip: A front facing room meant we had a gorgeous view of the main stretch of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.2 km away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.8 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
3.3 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
4.2 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.6 km away
The Lansdowne
The Lansdowne
#2 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dial House Hotel

Property: Dial House Hotel
Address: High Street | 3 High St, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,282 - ₹ 15,709
Hotel Class:5 star — Dial House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and beautiful boutique hotel right in the heart of Bourton on the Water offering individually decorated bedrooms, friendly service and excellent food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dial Hotel
Dial House Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water, Cotswolds, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing