We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blackthorn, a perfect relaxing getaway, can't...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
geraldthi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Blackthorn, a perfect relaxing getaway, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My partner and I stayed at Blackthorn for two nights during October. Set in beautiful grounds, the comfortable apartment comes with exclusive use of a indoor heated swimming pool and outdoor hot tub, perfect for those chilly nights. Peter and Karen were perfect hosts, and provided a lot of useful information on the local and surrounding area, and things to do. Unfortunately we could only book 2 days for this visit, but we're definitely hoping to return in the summer. We also accidentally left an item behind, fortunately Peter contacted us and sent the item back. Big thank you and we'll see you guys again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private heated swimming pool and hot tub
Liked least: Only booking 2 days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
It's really great that despite only staying at Blackthorn for a very brief stay you have left such a lovely review. Thank you!
Please do try and return in the summer but be aware that even dates for next June, for example, are going fast? There is so much to see and do especially in high season that I know you'll have a memorable holiday, and it would be great to see you both again, and point you in the direction of some special places. Glad to know the parcel arrived safely too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footsie67
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing visit, 3rd stay ”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

3rd visit and enjoyed as much as previous visits. Peter and Karen are brilliant hosts, very friendly and helpful. Lots of information in the cottage.

Cottage is well laid out with all facilities needed for a great stay. It has dishwasher, fridge and microwave along with hair dryer and iron. Also have the use of washing machine, at a cost.

Fresh eggs given and have left wine on special occasions

Large bed and well decorated as with lounge area. There is Sky TV with cd and DVD player.

Great views of countryside and peaceful. Hot tub and pool are a great asset and the reason we've been before and booked again for next year.

Short drive from main road and walking distance to Robin Hood pub, great atmosphere and food. 10 minutes to Rye with loads of restaurants and shops and close to camber sands for beach.

A great stay and from reviews in visitor book many people have revisited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Thanks for the lovely review, and many thanks for the 2 x bookings for 2016! The Robin Hood pub, now run by the daughters and one son-in-law, has an expansive, mouth-watering menu and a genuine, friendly service.
Also, thanks for the information about Sky TV and the washing facilities, but just for the record and to prospective guests, we no longer make a charge for using the washing machine but Karen will load it on our guest's behalf and carry out any washing that is required when she has time that day. On the subject of the TV: the Sky box in Blackthorn is a basic package - adequate for most guests' needs we hope, but not an all-singing, all-dancing Sky package.
Incidentally, our own website is due for an upgrade and revamp soon, and so some of the details such as 'charging for use of our washing facilities' will be amended then.
Anyway, many thanks again for the lovely review, and we look forward to seeing you again - next, for a certain person's birthday weekend!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaRich...
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find !”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Welcomed by the owners along with a lovely display of fresh picked garden flowers, fresh duck & chicken eggs & a bottle of delicious cava in the fridge.
Beautiful location & quiet just what we needed to relax & unwind. Lovely cottage very nicely decorated and beautifully kept grounds, a huge super-king size bed, possibly the best shower I've seen and used, wonderful swimming pool with added fun items to use like water vollie ball then off to relax in the hot tub, perfect weather to enjoy sitting on our private balcony watching the dragon-fly's, rabbits and goats in the field across the lane.
There were leaflets and well put together information books which were full of useful guides on the area, places to eat, local shops, and much more.
We will differently stay again
Thank you so much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet
Liked least: The lane was very narrow with not many passing places but there wasn't much traffic.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Firstly, thank you for leaving such a glowing review. We're really glad you were able to make the most of your short stay - not all of our guests use the hot tub or the indoor pool during their breaks, but it is on 24/7 for their pleasure if they wish to. And now that the nights are drawing in, the hot tub is a magical place to be when it starts getting dark. Being so near the coast and away from light pollution the night sky can be stunning, and with the addition of some complimentary bubbly, the underwater coloured-lights (and a couple of melamine glasses) it's very easy to drift into another world...
We hope to welcome you both back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midmum201...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Blackthorn and won't be our last.
The cottage is beautiful - everything you could possibly need with a fantastic decking and patio area that overlooks the lovely garden with country views. You can't beat having breakfast whilst watching rabbits and woodpeckers scamper about on the lawn.
This was a chillax break although there is so much to do in the area. From history to fine food and ales. Local pub the Robin Hood up the lane within walking distance great meals and a huge range of local ales and ciders. The cottage even provides a torch to help you find your way back down the lane after indulging in the local brew.
Swimming pool is beautifully clean with volleyball for those with a competitive edge and then just plop into the fantastic hot tub outside your back door for extra relaxation with a sneaky pimms.
Peter and Karen are wonderful hosts going out of their way with fresh eggs and ideas of how to make the most of your holiday. Rye is well worth a visit and we bought fresh fish at the Quayside which was amazing. NT properties and English Heritage galore to choose from when we could drag ourselves away from the facilities.
recommend the Red Lion in Brede for Sunday Lunch and the Beauty Room in Westfield for amazing spa treatments.
We are reluctantly heading home tomorrow a week is not enough - want to give credit to Blackthorn for an amazing holiday experience and want to share this gem of a place with others - albeit not too many so we are guaranteed a week here next year!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful facilities and the warmest of welcomes
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review - I couldn't have written it better myself! As you will know, The Robin Hood pub has a intimate bar crammed full of nick knacks on the walls and shelves, and friendly, helpful staff behind the bar, but take away Fish and Chips from Sue in the kitchen is an extra treat! It's a special feeling walking home along a quiet country lane with a warm package under your arm of F & C, having enjoyed a pint at the bar while waiting for your fishy order.
I must look into the Red Lion at Brede as I've never been there. The pretty village of Brede is home to the Giants of Brede: a stunning Victorian pumping station down the lane opposite the Red Lion, staffed by enthusiastic volunteers and open on the first weekend of every month. A unique and impressive experience.
Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you both again next year!
Bye for now.
Peter, Karen, Ollie, and Ringo the German Pointer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky P
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself and my boyfriend found this gem a few months ago and decided it would be a great place to celebrate our birthdays and it didn't disappoint ! While we were at the cottage we decided to price up coming back this year and we are booking it today! it really is a great place to just relax and forget all your worries. Peter and Karen are lovely and couldn't do enough for us ! I would highly recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and pool
Liked least: The blind on the ceiling in the bedroom let through a lot of light so was woken up a few times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed your joint birthday weekend at Blackthorn, and thanks for taking time to write the review! It's a great area to help celebrate a special occasion having the two pubs in the village and a good variety of quality restaurants in nearby Rye.
We love it too when guest make full use of the facilities as you did: playing volleyball in the indoor pool, drinking chilled bubbly in the tub, AND playing badminton on the newly mown grass down at the summer house! We look forward to seeing you again soon...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing