We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Midmum201...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Blackthorn and won't be our last.
The cottage is beautiful - everything you could possibly need with a fantastic decking and patio area that overlooks the lovely garden with country views. You can't beat having breakfast whilst watching rabbits and woodpeckers scamper about on the lawn.
This was a chillax break although there is so much to do in the area. From history to fine food and ales. Local pub the Robin Hood up the lane within walking distance great meals and a huge range of local ales and ciders. The cottage even provides a torch to help you find your way back down the lane after indulging in the local brew.
Swimming pool is beautifully clean with volleyball for those with a competitive edge and then just plop into the fantastic hot tub outside your back door for extra relaxation with a sneaky pimms.
Peter and Karen are wonderful hosts going out of their way with fresh eggs and ideas of how to make the most of your holiday. Rye is well worth a visit and we bought fresh fish at the Quayside which was amazing. NT properties and English Heritage galore to choose from when we could drag ourselves away from the facilities.
recommend the Red Lion in Brede for Sunday Lunch and the Beauty Room in Westfield for amazing spa treatments.
We are reluctantly heading home tomorrow a week is not enough - want to give credit to Blackthorn for an amazing holiday experience and want to share this gem of a place with others - albeit not too many so we are guaranteed a week here next year!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful facilities and the warmest of welcomes
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review - I couldn't have written it better myself! As you will know, The Robin Hood pub has a intimate bar crammed full of nick knacks on the walls and shelves, and friendly, helpful staff behind the bar, but take away Fish and Chips from Sue in the kitchen is an extra treat! It's a special feeling walking home along a quiet country lane with a warm package under your arm of F & C, having enjoyed a pint at the bar while waiting for your fishy order.
I must look into the Red Lion at Brede as I've never been there. The pretty village of Brede is home to the Giants of Brede: a stunning Victorian pumping station down the lane opposite the Red Lion, staffed by enthusiastic volunteers and open on the first weekend of every month. A unique and impressive experience.
Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you both again next year!
Bye for now.
Peter, Karen, Ollie, and Ringo the German Pointer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky P
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself and my boyfriend found this gem a few months ago and decided it would be a great place to celebrate our birthdays and it didn't disappoint ! While we were at the cottage we decided to price up coming back this year and we are booking it today! it really is a great place to just relax and forget all your worries. Peter and Karen are lovely and couldn't do enough for us ! I would highly recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and pool
Liked least: The blind on the ceiling in the bedroom let through a lot of light so was woken up a few times
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed your joint birthday weekend at Blackthorn, and thanks for taking time to write the review! It's a great area to help celebrate a special occasion having the two pubs in the village and a good variety of quality restaurants in nearby Rye.
We love it too when guest make full use of the facilities as you did: playing volleyball in the indoor pool, drinking chilled bubbly in the tub, AND playing badminton on the newly mown grass down at the summer house! We look forward to seeing you again soon...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBIN H
TIPTON
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Blackthorn cottage was perfect in every way.
Its just off the beaten track so no noise from any roads ect, a perfect view from the decked patio over fields toward the sea.
We were given a very warm welcome by Peter who explained how to use the hot tub and pool, yes thats right, hot tub and pool for your private use, and they were brilliant, the pool room is warm and the water was too, the hot tub was just right, hot but not uncomfortable.
The lounge come kitchen area was comfy with a log fire on a cold night, or just central heating if needed. The en'suite was clean and roomy, as was the bedroom with comfy bed.
You have everything you need for a romantic holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Karen and I are so glad your stay was such a success. Who would have thought though that you'd need to use the little wood burner in May, but the weather did turn warm and sunny for much of the week allowing you to visit the local places of interest, and get the most out of your holiday! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Blackthorn. It is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shari w
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect little trip”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

myself and my partner went for a quiet long weekend break and it was amazing.
from start to finish there we had the best time. Pete the owner was very polite and could not of been more helpful.
We were amazed at the price we paid for what we got. The pool and hot tube were for our use only and very simple to use.
Set in a lovely area quiet peaceful and great views, it was lovely to eat breakfast out on the veranda.
in the local towns I would most highly recommend to eat simply Italy and the queens head great value for money and fantastic food.
we are happy t say I am definitely looking forward to planning my next mini beak to blackthorn cottage
:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: privacy and peacefulness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Many thanks for taking time to write a review - it's much appreciated.
We're really glad that Blackthorn ticked all the boxes, and that you were able to visit Rye.
The beautiful old town of Rye has some great places to eat out at, and Simply Italian is one of our favourites. We're also fortunate to have two pubs that do good food in the village, and the Queens Head rarely disappoints: massive home-cooked portions of food, with a number of guest ales, all set in a cosy traditional country pub complete with log fires for the winter and a large beer garden for the summer... It doesn't get much better than that!
We hope you'll get a chance to return and sample some more of this fabulous area soon.
Peter & Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judithlor...
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Even better than anticipated!”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Hugely enjoyed our long anticipated easter break at blackthorn. after reading so many glowing reviews of this lovely place we were prepared for at least some small disappointments...but NO...everything met or exceeded our high expectations. blackthorn ticks all those boxes for a couples escape. beautiful location, great facilites, privacy, lovely and spacious grounds, cosy accommodation, well equipped and immaculately presented and maintained. delicious eggs..thankyou ladies...and wildlife at your door are the icing on the cake. we spent most of our break sightseeing (so much to see and do in the area for virtually all tastes) so we simply have to come back to enjoy a few days wallowing in the pool and hot tub! we´ll be looking fwd to those return trips (notice plural) even more than our first visit. a BIG thankyou to our hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and grounds
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. Yes, next time you must indulge in the hot tub and indoor pool! Perhaps after a day-out taking the little boat to Bodiam Castle and catching the steam train back, or exploring the unique churches on Romney Marsh? Whatever your choices happens to be, it will be great to welcome you both back to Blackthorn!
Best wishes until there.
Peter & Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing