We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marmite79
Hampshire
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Blackthorn. Peter and Karen were very helpful before and during our visit. They sent us some excellent directions, and information on the local area.

We loved the cottage. There was everything we needed and more! The very comfortable bed , the hot tub and the lovely log burner were very much appreciated. The setting is gorgeous - you can see the sea from garden. It was lovely to see all the wildlife in the garden.

We will definitely come back to stay next time we can persuade the grandparents to have our boys. There is certainly plenty to do in the area, which we are keen to investigate. I would definitely recommend this holiday cottage but 2 nights was not long enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner and hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry H
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, lovely, homely, idyllic and picturesque cottage!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

What a wonderful week!! Thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and private hot tub! Very relaxing! Would definitely come and stay again. Will certainly be recommending to friends and family. So much to see and do for historic visitors or/and thrill seekers. Plenty of beautiful beaches, scenery and country walks. A truly fantastic place to visit!

Peter and Karen were so helpful and friendly! They even helped arrange some beautiful red roses and wine for our arrival. They have plenty of ideas of places to visit! We will definitely be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous views and hot tub
Liked least: narrow lanes... very dark at night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy10re...
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Soooooooooooooooo Relaxing”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was our second visit to Blackthorn and will definately not be our last.
So wonderfully quiet, total relaxation. You can do as much or as litte as you wish. There are lots of local places to visit within 20mins. but you can just sit in the hot tub and contemplate life if you prefer. Peter had even arranged the good weather for us on this visit!!
There was a fan in the bedroom which was much appreciated due to the heatwave, as was the swimming pool.

Don't hesitate, it really is worth a visit and so very affordable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to choose but probably the hot tub
Liked least: Honestly there was absolutely nothing to gripe about,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: The roof light let in the sun light early in the morning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SurreyLin...
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“2nd stay and just as good as 1st!”
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was my 2nd stay at Blackthorn Cottage - my first visit was with my friend and my second was with my husband. Both times we have been extremely comfortable and impressed with the facilities. The cottage is cosy, warm and relaxing with the most gorgeous views out over the countryside. I never tired of watching the variety of birds coming to feed at the birdfeeder right outside our patio door, or of the dozens of cute bunnies hopping round the on the grass right outside our decking area. The pool and the hot tub are a huge bonus and kept at good temperatures to be able to enjoy them thoroughly.
The modern bathroom is clean and lovely towels are provided. The bed(s) - can be double or two singles - are very comfortable with very cosy duvets and nicely laundered linen. I suggested a blind for the bedroom velux window after my stay back in 2010 which Peter has installed but I'm in agreement with the previous reviewer - a white one does not really cut much of the light out.
Peter is a very welcoming host (have yet to meet Karen & Ollie) who goes out of his way to make sure that everything is satisfactory. He's very knowledgeable about the area, offering ideas & tips on where to go. We took his advice on getting the steam train to Bodiam Castle (NT property) and the boat trip back which we enjoyed enormously. We were even given a box of duck/chicken eggs which were completely delicious.
The beautiful town of Rye is just a short drive away full of history with its cobbled streets, castle and antique/knick-knack shops. In addition there are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops & tea rooms to enjoy.
Of an evening, it's nice to have the living area of the cottage to relax in, cook a meal or heat up a take-away unlike the restrictions of a B&B. There's a TV with plenty of channels and an inbuilt DVD player.
All in all, I would highly recommend this property - in fact one of my work colleagues booked within a week of my return!
Looking forward to my next trip there - just deciding who to take next time!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the pool, the hot tub, the view, the wildlife!
Liked least: white blind in bedroom - needs to be black!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;