We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, but bed was not comfy at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hope Anchor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hope Anchor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, but bed was not comfy at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at the Hope Anchor for 2 nights in April. The hotel is in a good location, with scenic views from the room and it's fairly quiet at night (Rye is very small anyway, so you would hope this is the case).

The positive things: the food (we had breakfast and dinner here) and the service (all the staff were really nice and helpful). But the negative was the bed, it was really really uncomfortable and so neither my husband nor I slept well either night. I gave it 4 stars anyway, because everyone who worked there was so lovely and I think the beds could be sorted and this would be a 5/5 hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    217
    57
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
624
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a 2 night stay in Apartment A, which is just across the lovely cobbled Watchbell Street, but wish it had been for alot longer !!
Very spacious and comfortable room with an equally spacious en-suite bathroom.
We were lucky with the weather so was able to relax with a drink outside on the patio which is for your own private use.
The meals in the restaurant were 1st Class and I would recommend the 'Fillet Steak' !!
All the staff we met were helpful, polite and happy.
We would definitely recommend the Hope Anchor Hotel.

Pam & George Williamson

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel, purely on the basis of the other positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't disappointed. Our room was lovely, with quirky details, including a telescope to look over the marshy surrounding nature reserve. I am normally quite dubious of hotels that attempt a "boutique" style, but here it felt like a perfect match for the old building. Room facilities were also great: lots of toiletries, lovely towels and hot drinks.
I ate both nights at the hotel using their half-board deal, which I'd also recommend. Portions are generous! We were so full, all we could do was stagger upstairs to our room. There was also an excellent choice for breakfast.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a good location. I'd happily stay there again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. Probably worth sussing out which is best for you, using the hotel webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

It took a long while to find this place even with a GPS. It seemed that we were driving through footpaths but I guess being an old English town, the roads can be very deceiving that way. We had to ask quite a few people before we actually found it. Our room and the venue definitely had character and the views were pretty from the room. The room itself was nice although the bathroom had mould around the edges, it was probably the least clean place we have stayed in. The staff though were very welcoming and friendly. We had a good quality night's sleep and after the hours and drama in trying to find this hotel, we needed that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank optionalextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
419 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We've just stayed at The Hope Anchor, Rye. The hotel is extremely well situated close to the heart of the town with lovely views out over the marshes and estuary (see the uploaded photos).

The room (Apartment B) was lovely, a suite with good quality furnishings, comfy beds and lovely views. The staff are really helpful and friendly, and created an informal and friendly atmosphere. We didn't eat in the restaurant for dinner but breakfast was very good with a good selection of buffet items and a very good full English cooked breakfast with freshly cooked local produce, including perfectly turned out fried bread and eggs.

All in all, highly recommended :)

There are only two slight negative factors that I've mention but they're worth putting up worth and may well be true of other hotels in Rye. First the amount of light coming into the room - I prefer a dark room but this was impossible with the curtains making a morning lie-in difficult - but that just meant I was woken up earlier than I preferred. Second was the parking. The hotel is at the end of a very tight cobbled street with a really tight turning area outside the hotel. The hotel staff are very helpful in finding a suitable space and the hotel supply residents parking permits, but nevertheless if you're unsure about your parking capabilities then you might find it tricky.

BTW googe maps has the hotel marked in the wrong place so if you use streetview make sure you follow Watchbell Street to the end.

Room Tip: The apartments would be great for a family. Ours (Apartment B) could easily accommodate 4 (2 sofa b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 km away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 9 in Rye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.2 km away
The George in Rye
0.4 km away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 km away
River Haven Hotel
3.7 km away
The Lodge at Winchelsea
The Lodge at Winchelsea
#1 of 1 in Winchelsea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope Anchor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope Anchor Hotel

Property: The Hope Anchor Hotel
Address: Watchbell Street, Rye TN31 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,487 - ₹ 11,915
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope Anchor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although famous for its past, the Hope Anchor is known locally for its stunning views across the Quayside, Romney Marshes, Camber Castle and beyond to the sea. Most of our rooms enjoy these panoramic views and to be honest they need to be seen to be believed. Although beautiful all year round the sunsets in summer bring locals young and old to enjoy alfresco dining accompanied of course with a glass or two of wine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Hope Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Anchor Rye
Hope Anchor Hotel
The Hope Anchor Hotel Rye, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing