We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless... best meal I've had for some time!”
Review of Bincho Yakitori

Bincho Yakitori
Ranked #23 of 1,321 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 63
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Simple but beautifully prepared and authentic Japanese food made with quality ingredients. The dark and intimate interior is pertect for me.... Brings back memories of many of my favourite eateries in Asia. Shame I don't live closer.. or I'd be here a lot!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hidingtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018

Be prepared to part with significant cash if you want to get the full experience. But it's really worth it. Try the specialist beer, any of the fish, the pork belly and the superb pickles. Two of us went through ten different small dishes and each was excellent.
Our visit was a Wednesday night, all the tables were practically full by 8pm.
My dining partner is a regular visitor to Tokyo and confirmed this is as near to authentic as you can get outside of Japan.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DominicABrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

They were fully booked when I arrived but a couple near to me heard my dismay and said they would be leaving soon, Bincho happily slotted me in. And boy am I grateful. My partner and I shared various small plates - Kimchi, belly pork skewers, fried chicken (all under £5) and a couple larger plates - Lamb, Sea bream (£7) with a couple of accompanying dishes - kimchi rice etc. All of which were stunning, and surprisingly sized. The accompanying sauces, pickles and garnishes were so perfectly paired that we just pulled faces and made noises instead of talking. The care and attention paid to each and every dish is second to none. You will order more and more as the night goes on, this place is right up there in my favourite restaurants. Highly, highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richimaru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

The food is delicious, exotic and good value.

While it has a relaxed, casual atmosphere, there is a sense of excitement and occasion going there, with a definite cyberpunk/blade runner vibe going on!

If not a hot date, you could go with an old friend and just have a few beers and the fried chicken. Not really the place for a big group, due to intimate size and loud-ish music (only thing not really to my taste). Not ideal for kids either.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ital_v_ital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The food at Bincho is superb... we got to sit at the counter and watch the chefs work their magic. Special mentions for the kara age, kimchi rice, miso aubgerine and pickles. Could sit there all evening drinking plum wine and sampling everything on the menu. Only slight issue was it was difficult to get the waiters attention for water/extra orders/second drinks.. but the chefs were very adept at noticing if we were wanting for something! Also love how busy it is on a weekday evening (we ate on a tuesday) as we prefer not to dine on the weekends so nice that we didn't have to give up on the buzzy atmosphere. We will be back soon!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 420chloeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bincho Yakitori also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Bincho Yakitori? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing