We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donatello Italian Restaurant”
Review of Donatello

Donatello
Ranked #165 of 1,223 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 22
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We have been here before, great experiences. Very popular place. However this time it was busy, so we had to wait 40 minutes for our main course. The waiters were very pleasant and food was exceptionally delicious. Would recommend.

Thank Plamen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 2,534 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Donatello is situated in the heart of the lanes. With a buzzing atmosphere, and great service, I would recommend this restaurant to most people.

The restaurant itself is very large and can seat a few hundred people at a time. Although the loudness of parties and celebrations may not be in everyones best interests, My girlfriend and I found it very enjoyable.

The staff were very welcoming, and were helpful with my girlfriends Peanut allergy. Donatello have an allergy menu which lists out all the key allergy ingredients found within each dish.

The food itself was pretty nice. You are getting great value for money, and the menu has a huge variety to choose from.

My only issue with the place was that some of the tables were poorly located, with my chair being knocked a fair few time by other customers walking by. There are perhaps a few too many tables packed into the restaurant.

Overall we were very happy with our meal at Donatello. The drinks were great, they had loads of food to choose from, and everyone else helped create a lively and enjoyable atmosphere.

This place is great for families and large groups.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your thorough review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience overall and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Very average food unimpressive service a bit pushy. Calzone turned up covered in a nasty tomato sauce, tasted like cheap tomato soup.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank yo180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review; we are sorry you didn’t find your experience with us enjoyable but we will take your comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Visited on Easter Saturday and was very busy, but fitted us in although we had not booked. The food was very good, great service and very friendly and entertaining staff

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We are regulars at Donatello's and usually visit for lunch. The service is always really quick and the menu is vast with so much to choose from. The lunch time menu is great value and I can recommend the garlic mushrooms as a starter and the spaghetti marinara for main course. A great place for a spot of lunch and reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank viennastormdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donatello-brighton, Public Relations Manager at Donatello, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review; we are glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donatello also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Donatello? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing