We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Brighton”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #17 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Brighton”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The White House in Brighton was a true lucky find for us about 4 years ago when we were visiting our sons who lived in Brighton at the time. This owner-run B&B is a stone's throw from Marine Parade and is one of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed at in the UK. In fact, we have been so spoilt by the breakfast cooked by Sean, the owner, that we have not found another place in England that has such an amazing breakfast menu. And all the produce is of the freshest and is sourced locally. The bedrooms are all different and very comfortable, with en-suite shower rooms. The tea tray is replenished with chocolates daily, which is a nice touch and you arrive to find bottled water next to the bed. I cannot count how many times we have stayed at The White House over the last few years, but it would still be the only place we would stay if we found ourselves in Brighton again.The White House is truly the best B&B in Brighton!

Room Tip: We ask for the suite (room 3) if it is available as it is a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmj306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    42
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
167
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

the single room with a shower and a sea view was perfect for me, very comfy bed, lovely hot shower, ipod dock, a selection of tea and a huge towel and big bath robe. the service was fantastic, and i woke up to the lovely surprise of breakfast being included, both the continental and cooked!! the room was very clean, cute and quite spacious for a single room, fresh air with windows open and silence with them closed. the room is also lovely and light filled but the curtain is very good at blocking the light so i wasn't woken up early form the light coming through the window. the entrance is secure so i felt comfortable leaving my valuables locked in my room, and there was also an outdoor table and chairs with an ashtray for smoking. (on the ground floor.) there was no toilet in the room but it was no problem to go down the hall to use it.
i would recommend staying here for couples or solo travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed one night. Location is good. Welcome was warm and friendly.
Room was very well appointed and spotlessly clean (free snickers bars - result!) and a nice balcony. Decent bathroom - nice towels, shower gel etc.

We didn't wake up in time for breakfast (was served until 9.30, which is a bit early for us... - maybe it should be longer) so we didn't get chance to eat there, but overall we had a great stay and were made to feel very welcome.

Note it's a bit of a yomp to/from the train station (about 25min walk) so get a cab (about a fiver) if you don't fancy lugging your bag.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evanscm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

Had a great one night stay at the White House. The owner was accommodating and cheerful, despite my request for an early breakfast! (which was served with a smile). Nice to have a B&B experience that is more modern and homely rather than the lace and doily fest that seem to still dominate the B&B world. Will definitely return with my wife.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkAndAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here for a weekend in May, on my own. My room (room 6) was small but big enough, great bed, great shower and lovely view of the sea. I only met Sean (co- owner) and he was very friendly and helpful- my room was ready by 10:30am and his suggestions for areas to visit and places to eat were spot- on. Room was serviced every day.
Location was perfect for me as it was away from the super tourist/ noise centre but within 5-10mins walk of same. Located in Kemptown, there are loads of places to eat and purchase food nearby and the neighborhood is funky, arty, and fun. 2minutes to the sea, 25mins walking to the train station, 10mins to numerous buses.
Price was reasonable for Brighton and I would definitely stay here again. Next time, will bring my partner and stay in room 1 or 3, which although do not have quite the view as from the 2nd and 3rd floors, have their own balcony with seating overlooking the sweet courtyard.
My only complaint was that the sound carried between rooms quite well and the family beside me included two children who were not discouraged from howling demands at 7am! But that's more about bad parenting than the accommodation.
Really felt at home here and will return whenever I get back to Brighton.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAlagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.5 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 43 in Brighton
7,539 reviews
0.2 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,186 reviews
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
817 reviews
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.1 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 43 in Brighton
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 Bedford Street, Brighton BN2 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,611 - ₹ 16,279
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a small elegant Regency residence 100 metres from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax. Just a short walk from the centre of Brighton, The White House is perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests. All rooms have been uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing