We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Nights Stay”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Ranked #17 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb Nights Stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

With a stags, last minute decision to come to Brighton and the prospect of "finding a space on his mates floor!" I decided to try and find a "cheap" nights B&B instead. The £35 - £45 pppn market doesnt really exist at weekends in Brighton so I called the White House to see if they would relax their 2 night minimum policy. Sean was happy to oblige and was a pleasure on the phone, and I booked the £60 single with sea view.
I decided to get the train down instead of driving as i am aware of the notorious parking, but did notice that there where some spaces on the nearby streets as i walked by. I had the absolute joy to be met by Charlie when I arrived who just left me with a smile on my face as to how pleasant she was.
The single room with a sea view (6) was small, but its a B&B, and as long as I can sleep and shower then I am happy and both of those things was well catered for. The bed was perfect in terms of comfort and the shower, although small, does exactly as described well. Beautiful clean decor and bed linen with fluffy towels, as well as decent selection of teas, and complimentary mineral water and Mars Bar just finish it all off. The only downside was the sharing a toilet on the landing but a minor point.
I noticed some reviews complaining about breakfast being a bit late, but actually,(the morning after stag night), the last call of 10.30 for breakfast was perfect I thought. (the only problem was so did everyone else so Sean had a bit of a handful with 7 tables all at once). However the food is worth the wait, although my only regret was not asking if I could have had scrambled eggs instead of fried with my "english" as they looked amazing.
I don't normally do reviews, but felt genuinely pleased to have chosen the White House and would certainly use them again in any future trips to Brighton.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    42
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
166
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed at the White House for 3 nights-What a great find! The White House is very well thought out, you can feel the love & thought that has been put in-A Home from Home. Lovely room (No.7) spotless & a very comfortable bed. In a quiet area away from the main drag & only five mins walk from the heart of the action. Communication with Sean before and during my stay was great, all the staff there are welcoming and friendly- and my goodness, he cooks a great breakfast! I would certainly go back in a heartbeat-I adored Brighton-A super friendly place, with something for everyone. Well Done The White House-You've got it spot on!

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated-Check the Website to choose your favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeva69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was heading to Brighton for a 40th Birthday Party but forgot to book a room. This was very last minute and I sorted it on the day of arrival. Shaun (Sean), the host, was really friendly and helpful.

The White House is one of those new breed of 'up market' B&Bs; spotless, comfortable and well equipped. Seconds from the sea and only a short walk to the centre-I would highly recommend a stay here. Apart from anything, I was lucky enough to experience one of the best pubs in the UK, just round the corner. (a pint there was suggested by the host)

PS The breakfast was superb!

Room Tip: Call the owner direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craicup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Had a mid-week stay in room 1 which was beautifully furnished, had a charming little balcony and was extremely comfortable. I had a very good night's sleep and was surprised how quiet the location was considering Bedford Street is almost in the middle of town. A well-appointed bathroom with a welcome and obedient shower!
A surprisingly good choice for breakfast served by charming staff. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Had a great stay in Brighton last weekend, this is the second time have stayed at the white house since moving from Brighton - its a great place to stay as its like staying at a friends house, you get your keys and come and go as you like without worrying about what the receptionist will say when you roll back after a late night enjoying the bars and clubs in Brighton. We checked in late on Friday, busy day at work, and as agreed when we rang the doorbell we were buzzed in and the room keys were left on a shelf for us, perfect for what we needed as didn't have to worry about arriving by 8pm. Saw Sean on saturday morning and he had a new recommendation for us to try, The Coal Shed, which was brilliant. Will be back again later in the year to catch up with Brighton friends and will book this b&b again without hesitation

Room Tip: top floor rooms are up a few flights of stairs but very quiet so worth it for a longer lay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2guyzvisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.5 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,525 reviews
0.2 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,183 reviews
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
816 reviews
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.1 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 6 Bedford Street, Brighton BN2 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,614 - ₹ 16,205
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House is a small elegant Regency residence 100 metres from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax. Just a short walk from the centre of Brighton, The White House is perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests. All rooms have been uniquely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing