We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Brighton Toy and Model Museum
Ranked #25 of 112 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 18 August 2018

We took the children here & they found it fun looking for things around the museum that were on the paperwork they were given there.

Thank musiclady2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddy B, Front Office Manager at Brighton Toy and Model Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thank you for your review - we are glad to hear your children enjoyed their visit! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"teddy bears"
in 6 reviews
"dolls houses"
in 4 reviews
"huge collection"
in 4 reviews
"train set"
in 2 reviews
"interactive bits"
in 2 reviews
"childhood memories"
in 3 reviews
"interesting place to visit"
in 3 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 2 reviews
"my other half"
in 2 reviews
"arcade machines"
in 2 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"treasure trove"
in 2 reviews
"rainy day"
in 3 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
"puppets"
in 14 reviews
"cars"
in 15 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2018

We had a great time when we visited Brighton Toy and Model Museum. There is so much to see. Highlights for us were the model cars, the old teddy bears, and interactive exhibits, the model railway was fabulous too. My son loved playing the old penny games. Staff were so friendly and welcoming .Highly Recommended and look forward to visiting again.

Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddy B, Front Office Manager at Brighton Toy and Model Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Lesley - thank you for your fabulous review! We are so glad to hear you had such a good time in the museum - keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for all our special events. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

My wife and I had planned on stopping by before catching the train to Gatwick to check out the museum, but mainly in search of a few things to bring home for our son and daughter. Well, we were heading home on a Monday which proved to be a fatal flaw in our plan because the shop and museum are closed on Mondays. Now you know.

Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddy B, Front Office Manager at Brighton Toy and Model Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hello Brian,

We are sorry to hear you didn't get the opportunity to have a look around the museum when you were in Brighton on a Monday. Our opening times are on our website and google search and, like a number of other museums, including Brighton Museum and Art Gallery, we do close to the public on a Monday (and Sunday) to enable us to do essential repairs and collection maintenance. We do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Small but well worth a visit. I spent a very enjoyable hour here. Kids would love it but mainly it's a fabulous store of memories. Excellent model railway exhibition. The staff are friendly and helpful. Recommended.

Thank DK9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddy B, Front Office Manager at Brighton Toy and Model Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Thank you for your great review - it's lovely to hear you had such a good time in the museum! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

plenty of models of trains and not much else more at the hove museum and thats for free feel a bit over priced at £6.50 takes 10 mins to go round twice !

Thank cafedart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrightonToyMuseum, Front Office Manager at Brighton Toy and Model Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback giving us the opportunity to let people know that, unlike other museums which are free, we don't receive any financial support from the local council, government or other public funding. We are a registered charity and are entirely dependent on our admissions and sponsors along with our volunteer staff - so we are very grateful to all our visitors for helping to keep the museum open.

There are over 10,000 items on display in the museum - alongside the trains there are soft toys by Steiff, large display cabinets for Meccano, a collection of period dolls and dolls houses, Victorian pretend play toys, a Pelham Puppet area, model ships and boats, an extensive collection of diecast vehicles by Dinky, Spot-On and Corgi, Britains lead figures throughout the museum in every conceivable character - circuses, zoos, farms etc, building sets, two working train layouts, several penny arcade machines, and many working scale models of planes and helicopters hanging from the ceiling.

There are also quizzes and trails for children of all ages to do as they go round the museum and a couple of more challenging ones for adults.

Our visitors often comment there is something here for the whole family - we are sorry to hear you seemed to miss so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brighton Toy and Model Museum also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brighton Toy and Model Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing