We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid room 102”
Review of The Brighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brighton Hotel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 1 April 2012

If we'd paid £40 like other reviewers, then probably been quite happy, but after walking up & down 4 flights of narrow stairs we ended up in the basement. Very small room, tiny bathroom with nowhere to put your wash bag . 2 drinks cost £10 in bar. No control over heating and we were cold during the night. Breakfast was adequate. Good location. Park up the road £4 all day and if you put too much money in for that day, it gives you a ticket that gives you the time in the next day which saved having to get out early. Try dinner at The Little Bay - perfect Brighton experience

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eve-boots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,088 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for the Billy Connolly night. At first we were shown a side room, when asked if we could upgrade to a sea view, the receptionist showed us a really lovely room overlooking the front and good view of the Band stand. This was going to cost us an extra £30.00 a night which was very reasonable. All staff very friendly and hepful. We stayed an extra night we enjoyed it so much. I can't comment on the breakfast as we booked for room only.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

So after a few minutes of up and down stairs we finality got to our room where the radiator was broken so the room stone cold, then to add to the drama of our stay here the fire alarm was set off at 0130 there was no Staff member taking lead or directing us or other guests to safety, nor did the non-English speaking staff member come out from behind the desk and reassure us or inform us of what was going on, Just left everyone stood outside , The delay in the evacuation had this been a life and death situation would have clearly lead to the loss of life.
Then on to Breakfast after finally getting back to our rooms and back in bed, the Breakfast was the nastiest, cheapest , meat they could possibly get frankly they should be ashamed for serving such poor quality sausages, again the side of the dining room we were sat on the radiators were broken,

Room Tip: Ask for one with a working Radiator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I think with the title of my review it would be only fair to start that I found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. That is the only redeeming feature this hotel has to offer, very basic and extremely tired looking decor in the room, nice use of electrical box trunking as a shower door stop with jagged edges just to make your pink mould shower experience just that bit more life threatening. But worst having stayed on one of the coldest snowy nights my partner and were totaly dismayed that the bay windows didn't shut properly, and spent a night fully clothed akin to sleeping in a fridge. best western will never see my custom again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

stayed here for a weekend away with friends . i have to say it was really good value for money clean, friendly and everything we needed. there are always faults if you look hard enough but you cant fault this hotel for value for money. the breakfast was lovely just what we needed for a full day of shopping and fun. the receptionist was welcoming and professional. i will definately be returning to this little gem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolightynolikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,672 reviews
1.1 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
852 reviews
0.9 km away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
598 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brighton Hotel

Address: 143-145 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Brighton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 3,944 - ₹ 14,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brighton Hotel - The Grade II listed Brighton Hotel is one of the most charming hotels in Brighton where you are guaranteed a warm and personal welcome. It is located on the seafront directly opposite the famous Brighton Bandstand and very close to the West Pier and to the site of the proposed i360 attraction. We are just a short walk to Brighton's main shopping areas, the famous Lanes with its cobbled passage ways and its myriad of little shops and boutiques, many of which are unique to Brighton. The Brighton Conference Centre is a five minute stroll away and we are literally a stone's throw from the beach. The Brighton Hotel is a privately owned independent hotel that is large enough to have all the faculties you would expect but small enough to make you feel important to us and special. The hotel's elegant lounge, bar and restaurant have enviable sea views, a great place to relax and watch the world go by. The hotel has 55 well-appointed rooms, and while the hotel is right on the famous Brighton seafront it is just far enough out of the main centre's noisy bars and clubs to be significantly quieter than many other seafront Brighton hotels. High speed wireless internet access is available free of charge in all our rooms and public areas. As a 3 Star accredited hotel we offer dinner in The Salisbury Restaurant available 7 days a week from 6.30pm till 9.30pm and our Lite Bite Bar Menu is available 7 days a week 24 hrs a day. Arrival and Departure Time: Our check in time starts from 3 pm and our check out time is at 11 am. For an early check in or late check-out we charge £10 an hour. For peace of mind, our reception is manned 24 hrs. Cocktail Menu: Available Wednesday to Sunday from 5pm till 10pm. Room Service: Room Service is now available for Breakfast continental & Full English and we also offer a breakfast to go from 4am. We have limited parking in front of the hotel based on a first come, first serve policy. The guests can only book these spaces on arrival at reception. These spaces are sold for £18 per night. Therefore, if we run out of spaces, our guests can park in Regency Square Car Park which is just 3 minutes walking distance from us. Day rate for conference delegates is £9.00 And must be vacated by 17:00. Please note that Vans are not allowed to park in our car park due to size restrictions. Luxury Car Service For a little taste of luxury we can organise a private hire executive car to bring you to the hotel from your port of entry. The driver will meet you in arrivals of the appropriate terminal and deliver you straight to the hotel entrance. Prices start from around £140 from Heathrow Airport, £80 from Gatwick Airport and around £170 from St Pancras. To enquire about this service please contact the hotel directly with your arrival details (airport and terminal, arrival time and flight number or for Eurostar arrival time and your departure city along with your train number). Please note that transfers are not guaranteed until we confirm back to you and payment will be made direct to your driver and not to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing