We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hudsons Guest House
Ranked #55 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband & I struggled to find a Brighton B&B where we could stay for just one night, but luckily one place I phoned recommended Hudsons, which proved to be perfect for our purposes. We found it easily & were able to park just at the bottom of the road. We were given a friendly welcome & shown our room (4), which was one of the compact doubles indicated on the website. It was indeed compact but well thought out & decorated, immaculate, & absolutely fine for a short stay, though maybe I wouldn't want to spend a whole week staying in it! It wasn't the least bit noisy overnight which was a relief, the bed was comfy & breakfast was pretty good ( I had boiled eggs & soldiers- nice touch!)

So Hudsons was ideal for us, excellent value for money, & we'd definitely stay there again & recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booksoph35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Hudsons Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at Hudsons for one night in March 2012. We have stayed here before and will do so again. The breakfast is very nice and the rooms are clean. I note that one reviewer said the rooms were small - this is a converted house and the rooms vary in size. The website indicates that a couple of rooms are "compact", so if you picked one of these rooms youwill not have a great deal of space - but I chose to pay extra for a larger room!

If you really want space, there is a very large room on the lower ground floor with a lounge area which I have stayed in before which is great if you are staying for a few nights. This time we stayed in a room with a King Size bed on the first floor overlooking the street. This had more than enough space and a curtained off storage area.

I did find the seagulls noisy at night - but this is the seaside so the reviewers that complained about that really had to expect this.

Overall the hotel is exceptional value for money - and the greeting we have received every time we stayed has been excellent.

Well recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. If you want a lot of space, choose "Hudson's Suite"
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed for the weekend with a friend, and we were so pleasantly surprised.
It was very reasonably priced, it’s in a great location, the owners are very welcoming, the room was lovely, recently renovated with lots of nice little touches.
We paid £6.50 for on street parking which is a bargain in Brighton!!! Unfortunately we didn’t get to sample breakfast, our own fault we were slightly worse for wear and didn’t get up in time.
I would defiantly stay again, I just hope they don’t put their prices up!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 and it was lovely
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coleyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Hudsons was a great choice for me and my husband. We stayed there for 3 nights and only had very good experiences.
After having a horrible travel from Stansted airport to London and missing our train to Brighton, we phoned to the owners informing them we would be comming late. They were very kind, gave us instructions about taxi and when we arrived, they were waiting for us and realy most kindly welcomed us wich was such a pleasure after having nightmare behind us.

The room was very clean (stayed in room no.6), everything inside- lots of towels, mini bar, TV, good information book.

Location is perfect- easy to find, near to everything- pier, centre, shopping area, restaurants and bars.

All the place looks very cute and home like with very warm and kind atmosphere. For breakfast you can choose among vegeterian, english breakfast and panacakes or eggs. But spreads and toast, coffee, tee and juices you can take as much as you like. Enough choices and good beakfast.

Guests have all the time access to the cupboard in breakfast room and can take to the room milk, coffee and tea bags anytime.

Wi fi is free and working high speed also in the rooms.

One of the owners was so kind to prepare for us light breakfast, even if we departed earlier than he would normaly come to the guesthouse.

In general- you must not expect a hotel and big rooms. Rooms are just like everywhere in London and near by. This is not a hotel. But if you look for a warm and kind atmosphere, great location, clean refurbished rooms with mini bar and all neccessary things, free wi-fi and nice breakfast- this is the place you will enjoy a lot. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed 6 nights in July. We were received by partner of the owner in a very uninterested way bordering on unfriendly. The room was very cramped, you had to keep your suitcase closed to move around. A small ventilator couldn't keep the room cool on those warm July nights.
Opening the window meant it was noisy. Either drunks at night and seagulls early morning with their harsh wailing when scavenging the garbage. The particular room we stayed in we could hear guests on the stairs and in the room above. Friendly were the girls serving the breakfast, either students or girls from East Europe. Room cleaning was done very marginally.
Never again, I overheard the owner say he was in need of a holiday, we noticed.
Mary Angelino

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelinofication
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 km away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#63 of 94 in Brighton
84 reviews
0.1 km away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#45 of 94 in Brighton
152 reviews
0.3 km away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#56 of 94 in Brighton
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Court Craven Guest House
Court Craven Guest House
#44 of 94 in Brighton
72 reviews
0.2 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 94 in Brighton
379 reviews
1.2 km away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#43 of 94 in Brighton
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudsons Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudsons Guest House

Address: 22 Devonshire Place, Brighton BN2 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 3,677 - ₹ 13,868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hudsons Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and friendly guest house in the heart of Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hudsons Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudsons Guest House Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing