We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gullivers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gullivers Hotel
Ranked #74 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for several days to get my bearings when starting a temporary move to the UK. Excellent place to stay. Helpful staff, great breakfast. I was on the top floor and enjoyed it quite a bit. The rooms are a little small, but I like cozy. Though the mattresses leave a bit to be desired. At the price I paid I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_01001010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. The only negative you noted was about the mattresses and I am sorry if it was not suitable for yourself. The fixtures and fittings are regularly inspected as we do have a renewel procedure if itesm come below standard so I can assure you this would have been a one off occurance.

I do hope you choose to stay with us on your next stay in Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    86
    48
    36
    30
See reviews for
42
112
39
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UCKFIELD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I booked for 2 nights as a Birthday treat for my husband and we were not disappointed. Being habitual smokers,we realize that it is taboo to ask for a smoking room in England but we were delighted to note that Gullivers offers this amenity. Our room was small but spotless and more than adequate for our needs. The price included a good English breakfast. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we will definitely be recommending this hotel to our friends.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank yo so much for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - we pride ourselves on the service and product we provide and it is always good to see us hit our targets.

We hope you will return to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel as the similar priced hotel I normally stay in was fully booked. The staff where nice and friendly but cheap is not only the price but that people who stay there. 04.30 my first morning I was woken by what sounded like a heard of elephants running up the stairs and guess where they went? Yeah the room next to mine, I then had to listen to drunken chit chat for the rest of the night... Yes, I'm still a smoker so I went outside around 05.00 as it's illegal to smoke in the hotel room, not only could I still here these people but to add insult to injury there were throwing their cigarette butts out the window. I'm sure the hotel management will come back and say they cannot be held responsible for the action of their guests but by 10.00 when the housekeeping staff were working outside my room and the said people were literally bouncing off the walls causing my room to shake. Nothing was done about it as it did not stop till 12.00.

The advertised bathrobe would have been fine if I'd brought my nieces Barbie doll but to a normal sized man it would have done as a hand towel. Also I had to clean the advertised private WC as it was in a state that I would certainly not leave my own WC. I could not use 4od with the advertised internet access as the service was too slow and I've never had to boil a kettle in a wardrobe especially in an advertised 4 star accommodation.

Why did I not report this you may ask yourself, well I'll tell you why not. All the lights went out on my first evening and I called the hotels reception staff only to be told that my laptop had caused the problem... I'm still studying quantum physics tying to finger out how my laptop plugged into the electrical supply can blow the light fuse and leave the electrical supply still working. I'm sure the hotel management can come up with the answer but that's my answer as to why I did not report other problems to the hotel staff.

I've given the hotel a 2 out of 5 as the situation of the hotel is brilliant, close to restaurants, bars, shops and supermarkets also the staff, at the end of the day, are friendly but maybe not too well trained. I did not have the breakfast but when I looked down at the restaurant around 17.00 and there was still dirty breakfast dishes by the window I was quite glad I did not.

The reason I stay in Brighton is because it's a lot easier for me to get to Gatwick airport for early morning flights for work situations (I have been in travel and tourism for over 20 years which includes health and safety auditing but I'm not going to start on the fire extinguisher in the middle of one of the corridors) and I take the weekend before travelling to relax, have a drink (or 20) in my room and do a bit of shopping and catch up on UK TV. For the price the room size was expected but don't advertise extras like bathrobes and tea/coffee making facilities if they can't really be used or explain that there is wifi but only for browsing. You really can hear every word spoken by the people in the next room (so therefore don't advertise your hotel as tranquil) and believe me I have lived in 2 and 3 star hotels... This is not a 4 but then you can't expect a 4 star hotel for the price.... So cheap and cheerful it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackjohnjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Apologies for the delay in this management response but we wanted to look at your comments closely and address them with our team, as we take all complaints seriously and am surprised by the number of issues you had during your stay, as I am sure you can see by other reviews, we usually score high for standards and service.

Firstly, may I thank you for your comment with regards the staff, who you described as ‘nice and friendly’ and I do wish that you had addressed your issues fully with said staff during your stay as we could have done something about it then and there – we do operate a 24 hour team who are always more than happy to assist should a problem occur. If you had alerted us to the noise issues in the early hours, our night manager would have come straight away to speak with them – as it was, our morning team did note their noise and spoke to them multiple times in the morning – unfortunately we did have an issue with this room and as such we asked them to leave that day as it was causing problems for other guests as well – I can only apologise for the disturbance these guests caused you – we are not simply falling back onto a standard hotel line, as you point out, as we take these matters very seriously and do wish we had been alerted sooner to the issue. I must also make note that, though smoking in public areas is illegal, smoking in designated smoking bedrooms (as they are listed as privately rented spaces) does not fall under the law, and we do offer this option in some of our Hotel rooms.

I would love to know as to whom you spoke with, with regards your electricity fault in your room, as I would like to address it with the person directly – I have spoken to all staff that were on that evening, none of whom recall this conversation, but if this is what you were told I am very sorry. All sockets and appliances are checked daily by our Housekeepers, and if a fault lay in one of the sockets, I am sorry it was not flagged up prior to your arrival. I would point out that all rooms, including the single you were in, have ample plugs located by the desk space, and so I am not sure as to the reason why you felt you had to boil your kettle in the wardrobe, but sorry if this was not shown to you on arrival. As for the free wi-fi, we do have, at times, a slow down on the system when it is in heavy use, but we are in communication with our phone provider to try and increase the efficiency of the system so as to avoid any future issues with this matter.

I am glad that you found the Hotel well located and the staff friendly – you commented on the staff training and, as I am sure you would be happy with, we will be using your comments as an example in our next training sessions so that our team can see exactly what customers interpretations and perceptions of our service and product are – a common practice with ourselves.

I do wish that you had spoken with us before your departure and we would be happy to have you return to us so that we can show you the level of service that has earned us such good reviews up to now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Machynlleth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The attention to detail is noticeable in this hotel-lots of pillows,duck feather quilt etc.The room was small but very well laid out.The location is quiet and convenient.My room overlooked gardens.
Beautifully refurbed and clean,Very good breakfast.Staff well trained,friendly,helpful.
Cosy and comfortable.I'll be back,alone and with my sister

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naominomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We pride ourselves on the product and service we provided and it is great to be recognised for our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and, although I've only booked a small, single room, I have received fantastic service from all the staff there. They really can't do enough for their guests.
They have escorted me to my room - carrying my luggage. The room is clean and fresh with lovely toiletries and thick towels. A complimentary bottle of water and chocolate chip cookies are provided and any problems are addressed immediately with a simple telephone call (I had trouble working out the radiator settings the first time!).
The breakfast is fantastic with continental and cooked, organic food. Definitely service with a smile and a real diligence from all the staff towards their guests.
Honestly - I don't work there so have nothing to gain for leaving such a wonderful review - I just think credit should be given where it's due. They cannot do enough for you.
I'm so glad I've booked and will be staying there each month while I attend a course I'm on close by.
The sea is within very short walking distance and there are some great shops nearby in St James Street. Lots of different kinds of eating places too.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - you never know what you're going to get when you book somewhere but I struck lucky this time. It's really competitively priced too.
Don't know what else to say except give it a try and I'm sure you'll be treated with respect, smiles and a fantastic willingness to help in any way the staff can.

Room Tip: I chose a single as I got a fantastic rate but am looking forward to visiting with my husband when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tansy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your last stay, and indeed all your stays with us. I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon and I do hope that you become one of our regulars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 km away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#45 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.0 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 km away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#40 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Marine View Hotel Brighton
Marine View Hotel Brighton
#59 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#22 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 km away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#13 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gullivers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Property: Gullivers Hotel
Address: 12A New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,990 - ₹ 9,228
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gulliver's Hotel and B&B, Brighton is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse, offering cheap accommodation in central Brighton. Recently refurbished, Gulliver's Hotel Bed and Breakfast offers cheap accommodation comparable to most B&Bs bed and breaksfasts, but still It also offers a mix of baroque and contemporary design and the most personal and friendly of service.From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gulliver's Hotel Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing