We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Really Relaxing Stay in a quieter part of Brighton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Brighton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malmaison Brighton
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Biggin Hill, Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Really Relaxing Stay in a quieter part of Brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We normally stay in one of the larger hotels on the main Brighton sea front. We decided we wanted a change and thought we would give the marina a try. We weren't dissappointed. The Seattle is a modern boutique hotel overlooking the marina. Rooms very airey and bright, staff all really helpful. The food was superb and the best cooked breakfast we have ever had - really fresh and a good selection. The marina village is really nice too, cinema and restaurants and the Cafe Rouge very close to the hotel is superb. So nice not to have all the traffic noise of the main Brighton sea front. If you like to walk its a lovely walk up to the pier but if you don't like walking you can get the mini train. Free parking in the multistorey close by. We were running late on check out day and told not to worry and were given an extra hour.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayDay42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    454
    213
    95
    49
See reviews for
174
629
29
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The bed was uncomfortable, the room was cramped with no wardrobe or storage space. There was hair on the bathroom floor. Had to make a request for a portable Air conditioner which meant the window had to be left open for the hose. Very nice breakfast though.

Room Tip: Request a room with a permanent air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lubbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handytel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Meeting some friends at the marina and decided to stay at the Seattle very good decision. Staff were very friendly and well appointed rooms. Ours overlooked the marina just a shame the weather was so bad. Very good breakfast. A good place to stay to visit Brighton with free parking something that's not possible in the city.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handytel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Lovely setting at the marina and only a short taxi ride (£7.50 on 21st April 2012) stay/medium walk to town centre. Free parking in the car park adjoining the marina/hotel. Beautifully presented, clean and pleasant room. We had a king sea view and with full breakfast and 3 course fixed menu meal included (or you could choose frorm the a la carte with a £20 credit against your food from this menu) our weekend proved excellent value for money. We booked by phone direct with the hotel and they offered a spring saver deal which included the meal and was still £10 cheaper than the internet rate of b and b.

Unfortunately rooms are not too sound proof, we were aware of the seagulls callilng on the first morning, and we were disturbed by the people in the next room returning at 4.30 am on our second night, but overall we were pleased with everything - staff, food, accommodation - if not our neighbouring guests!

Staff in all departments were very anxious to please and had a pleasant friendly manner about them.

Room Tip: king sea view room was lovely and well worth the slight extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel (April 2012).

Hotel is in the Brighton Marina complex, about 2 miles from the town centre.

Hotel is styled in a very contemporary style and has rooms/bars facing across the marina (so you can play spot the drug boat!)

Rooms are warm and comfortable with a couple of nice touches:

- Each room has a quality ipod/iphone doc (my room had a BW Zeppelin)
- NIce BIG mugs for coffee and tea
- Free Internet access

Bar is a nice area with good views and an external area over looking the Marina, (seeing as it was UK monsoon season I didnt get to use this), no draught beer only bottled, but a good selection.

Restaurant also nicely presented evening food had a limited choice but of good quality, breakfast was excellent with lost of choice.

Continental part is self serve, hot breakfast is served at table with choices that include Eggs Benedict and Florentine.

Only downside is that there is no hotel parking, it is in the multi story a couple of 100 yards away (not great when you are in the aforementioned monsoon season) but it is free!

RUNNING

There are no fitness facilities in the hotel, but from a running point of view there are the obvious runs along the shore (right or left out of the hotel).

Obviously very flat, and a little open to the elements, but the run back into the town is nice.

Distances from hotel to first pier is 1.8 miles (so says Garmin watch!) second (burnt out) pier 2.4 miles.

In Summary nice hotel with a nice easy run,

Room Tip: Ask for a Marina view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_is_homer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
3.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
3.3 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,109 reviews
2.0 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
2.9 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
2.2 km away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Brighton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Brighton

Property: Malmaison Brighton
Address: Waterfront, Brighton BN2 5WA, England (Formerly Hotel Seattle)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Brighton
#10 Business Hotel in Brighton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,384 - ₹ 17,536
Hotel Class:3 star — Malmaison Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Malmaison Brighton, a contemporary hotel with a big personality on Brighton Marina waterfront. Uniquely located to offer the best views of Brighton Marina. Close enough to make the best of Brighton's vibrant life but also somewhere where you can enjoy a more relaxed environment with great hospitality, fresh & local produce menus & something a little more unique. Seattle is a hotel to explore, sit back and enjoy the day in the lounge, as the boats come and go, or perhaps it will be the retro pop art that will attract you or relax on our terrace and enjoy the buzz of our restaurant during the evening. Our team are a big part of what makes the Seattle experience so unique. You'll find them friendly, welcoming and never shy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Malmaison Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seattle Hotel Brighton
Brighton Hotel Seattle
Alias Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing