We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Du Vin.....”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Du Vin.....”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I was a bit dubious after reading some reviews but I need not have worried.
Checked in at around 12am but the room wasn't ready, reception staff were very pleasant and professional. They took my mobile and called around an hour later to say that the room was ready.
The room was on the 3rd floor, no lift, so if you are not able to climb stairs I would suggest a low floor. The room was lovely, really bright & airy with a very "New England" feel. There was a flat screen TV, DVD player and Ipod player. The bathroom was very modern with an oversized bath (I am not that tall and I could have swam lengths in it :o) )
The lounge/bar area is really cosy even on a warm summers evening.
My only complaint about the room is that we had a twin room and the beds, although comfy were not very wide and the pillows were awful. They seemed to have lost any padding that they once had. If I were staying more than the 1 night I would have asked for different ones.
Breakfast - Excellent service, cooked to order....delicious and kept me full all day.
The location of the hotel is excellent, at the bottom on Ship St just a 2 minute walk to the seafront and 2 minutes the other way to the Lanes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoffy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    372
    191
    94
    45
See reviews for
148
718
32
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A treat for one night paid for us by our friends. And the best service for a long while. Indeed the only hotel on our honeymoon who have given us anything - ie a bottle of Champagne and two glasses of Champagne with breakfast too.

We held our wedding party (meal) there too - as the food is excellant at HdV and the food is good value too!

The junior sute which was booked for us was large and even had a bath in the main room, as well as as separate shower area.

HdV also helped sort out a local make-up artist for the bride and helped us with all of our needs. Excellant service!

Located in the Lanes and near the beach - what more could you ask for !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTGULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I have stayed here several times over the past 10 years. It has lost a bit of its specialness - rooms/service getting a bit tired and sometimes lazy. We usually stay in the twin tub room which is fun but I imagine an ordinary room there would make the overall experience nothing special. The staff were very nice and we had a pleasant stay but they were not as friendly and professional as other places in the same price bracket we've stayed in. We had (as always) such an amazing few days so tend to look at it all through rose tinted glasses but having taken a look at the reviews on here I can see why some people feel a bit negative about it. However, the Sunday roast lunch we had could not be faulted. The beef was served perfectly pink, and despite the very generous portions we still managed to polish it all off as it was just so very delicious! I really don't think they need to do too much to give it back its original sparkle that once saw it win best boutique hotel of the year (according to the Guardian) - I hope they do!

Room Tip: Go for the room with the twin tubs and telescope that looks out over the sea front (set back but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisher12070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts. UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed in a superior room for one night on a room and dinner 'deal'. Room was good size, well equipped well and comfortable.
But, on closer inspection the hotel needs a deep clean or freshen up. All doors have kick marks and windows are dirty (inside).

The quirky hide of the second set of towels was strange , and the prompt response from receiption to where they were hidden means this is a common question ( tip; if only one set of towels try looking in the wardrobe drawer!)
Location is great fro the seafront and centre, but its sidestreet location is dirty, the hotel should make the effort to clean the pavement around the hotel, especially after a Friday and saturday night ;-)

The thing that really bugged us was the way the corridors where full with laundry and cleaning bits and peices when we arrived and when we got up in the morning - seemed they wanted us out the rooms as soon as possible so they can make the turnaround and was not discrete at all.

Restaurant was good, cocktails and wine very good, but don't bother with the peppercorn sauce which is seriously missing the peppercorn!

The 8am firealarm was a good wakeup, and the 11am queue for checkout were other areas not making this a relaxing stay.

Overall, rooms look good and service is OK, but IMO not worth the money and will not be returning

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herts66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have been going to the Bistro Restaurant at this Hotel since it opened,and am very reluctantly sharing the wonderful experience with you all. The food in the Bistro is excellent, the staff are friendly and very professional, the decor is very French and adds to the ambiance. The Bar area is always buzzing with people enjoying their drinks before dinner or just meeting friends, and family.I am disabled and cannot manage stairs,and the disabled toilet on the ground floor,is always clean and well maintained. The Hotel has no lift but there are Courtyard Rooms on the Ground floor,their Sunday three course lunch is excellent value at £24.95p, the wines start reasonably priced,and you can try the more expensive and excellent wines for that special occasion or treat. We have not stayed at the Hotel as we live locally,but we have stayed at their Hotel in Bristol, which was great,but my favourite is still the One in Brighton. I am sure like us you will enjoy your visit, and will keep coming back.There is also now a Pub Du Vin next door,which is also fun and does Pub meals, and you will find the staff equally as welcoming.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,178 reviews
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 km away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
979 reviews
0.0 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: Ship Street, Brighton BN1 1AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Brighton
#5 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,074 - ₹ 28,291
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Brighton is situated in the Lanes conservation area, a pebbles' throw from the seafront. Its 49 bedrooms are housed in a collection of eccentric Gothic revival and mock Tudor buildings erected, appropriately by a wine merchant on the site of an old inn. Among many interesting features are a heavily carved staircase and bizarre gargoyles, while the original double-height hall now houses the wine bar and Laroche tasting room. The perfect venue for a picturesque wedding or party is the impressively large and airy Dome room. For the best tankered of local ale, Pub du Vin is one of Brighton city center's treasures with its classic pub dining. Out with the Brighton hotel is the wonder and inspiring town itself, with quaint streets dotted with fabulous shops, and of course the famous pier and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Brighton
Du Vin Hotel
Hotel Du Vin Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing