We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar
Ranked #23 of 1,309 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Well it is that time again, we are off on our holidays. We close on the 14th.October 2018 until late February 2019. We are often asked why we close all winter. Well apart from its very cold & also very miserable down on Brighton beach. We cannot guarantee the seafood is going to be fresh. Sometimes in this period we only see 2/3 customers all day long. The other reason is we need a rest from a long busy season , so we will be fresh to start again next year…
Reviewed 14 September 2018

At first I was a little sceptical as I've never had oysters anywhere other than a restaurant. However, the TripAdvisor accreditation flag was enough to lure in my partner and I trusted him!

It was honestly up there with the best oysters I've had! The lady was super lovely and knowledgeable (i think she was italian). She talked us through our options.. we chose all of them in the end.

I'd definitely recommend to pop by if you're in Brighton!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

If we try something different every day , it makes our life so much more rewarding. You have made me happy , our Italian girl very happy Just to top it off , its given you a day & an experience to remember & drawn your pen to paper with this review
Thank you regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

This was my first experience of lobster and it definitely lived up to expectations. The prawns were lovely too and great - lovely kind workers.

Thank ennietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

What a lovely compliment. We pride ourselves on quality at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster bar & the reviews speak for themselves.
Thank you for taking the time
Regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Stopped off while walking along seafront, lovely portion of cockles, good amount and really tasty...would recommend !!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Our cockles are big & juicy & they come from Leigh on Sea. I have used the same cockle men for 12 years now & it pays dividends with the compliments we get about them.
Thank you for taking the time to review us
Regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We order the mixed seafood and the prawn rolls and prawn crab roll .It was very tasty and the service was very friendly and welcoming. They have a few table that you have use for a quick snack.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank asha a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

A great review , thank you for taking the time. We love great reviews and your certainly hit the spot
Regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped off here and got a little table on the pebbles and we treat ourself to some cockles, prawns and 6 oysters. They were absolutely delicious and we ended up finishing the lot and going up again twice more! The people that running this little seafood hut are lovely. Well worth a stop off if you’re feeling peckish.

Thank rebeccacarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffbrighton, Owner at The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

You certainly did love our seafood and it was a joy to see it. The oysters are lovely and fresh eac( day. If you are down agin soon , come and try our new addition. This is a first for Native oysters direct from Scotland, but it’s a short season, so don’t leave it too late
Regards Cliff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Brighton Shellfish & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing