We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, excellent breakfast, very nice folks”
Review of Red Brighton Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Brighton Blue
Ranked #2 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Pleasant stay, excellent breakfast, very nice folks”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed in this location for a few days with my two teens while we were visiting several locations in Britain. Our room was lovely (small, but lovely) and breakfast was excellent. The folks who own/work here were lovely and I felt as though we were staying with friends. The location was good (close walking distance to everywhere we needed to go). I would stay again (though my only bit of constructive criticism: it was a bit pricey for the size of the room and amenities).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannePlus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenPhill, Owner at Red Brighton Blue, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We understand that coming from Canada our Regency Townhouse rooms must seem on the small size to you. However the Family Suite of rooms you booked take up more than half the top floor and are nearly 30 square metres (300 sq ft) in area, so not that small. Perhaps if you'd chosen to spread yourselves over this and another room at a small extra cost instead of all bundling into the Family Suite then you would have been more comfortable with the space?

I am very sorry that you thought we were 'pricey' for the size and amenities. It's over 6 months since your stay so perhaps it has escaped your memory that your two 'teens' were only charged at the under 12's rate of £25 per night? The total for four of you averaged £38 per person per night which, given Brighton 4 star B&B rates in mid Summer, was actually a bit of a bargain! Again I'm not sure what more amenities can be expected from a B&B - this suite of two rooms is ensuite, has 2 flat screen digital TV's with DVD players, 2 mini fridges, complimentary water, soft drinks and chocolate bars, direct dial phone with free local calls, hospitality tray with tea, coffee, herbal teas, hot chocolate and biscuits plus a lovely oblique sea view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,411
    62
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
187
754
160
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Brighton Pavilions provides exceptionally stylish accommodation. An extremely comfortable bed. Quiet, yet extremely convenient location (just a short walk from both the town centre and the sea front). The hosts were warm and welcoming. Because I was having to leave early on a Sunday morning, they provided me with an excellent continental breakfast, left in the mini-fridge in the room. Also, guests have free access to the hosts' DVD library + there is a flat screen TV, with DVD player in the bedroom, which helped while away the evening.
Can't think of anything to fault - so ten out of ten and would recommend Brighton Pavilions without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the moment we arrived at Brighton Pavillions we felt very welcome. All of the staff we met were just so helpful and friendly. We were welcomed to the property by Mark - who was very welcoming. We were shown to our room by one of the owners, Ken, who explained everything we needed to know about our stay. We were provided with a map of the area and were given recommendations of things to do during our stay. The owners have a DVD library for guests to borrow and watch. The trip was part of my birthday celebrations and I was delighted to find a birthday card and box of chocolates from Ken and Phill- a truly lovely touch. The room (Titanic- room 9) was absolutely fabulous- luxurious and spotlessly clean. There were complimentary robes and the fridge contained , water, cans of cola and chocolate bars as well as fruit juice, milk and yoghurts. A really indulgent touch was the room service breakfast- delivered freshly cooked straight to your room- wonderful! The owners recomended several restaurants - we would HIGHLY recommend the Thai Restaurant -( name forgotten but 1st on the list) brilliant food and fantastic service. You can arange residents parking permits for £5.50 per night - MUCH cheaper than local car parks. All in all we have to say this was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed (and we are well travelled!). Great hosts, gorgeous room, fabulous attention to detail and so welcoming. Even though we only stayed 2 nights it felt like we had been away for longer! We just need to find a reason to re visit...

Room Tip: The Titanic room was just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Spent last night in the "Pompeii" room, themed roman style!

Found the room and hotel to be exceptionally clean and the hosts were warm & welcoming. The fridge contained complimentary water, soft drink & chocolates.... Plus we could leave our luggage safety at the hotel for the day after checking out.

Comfy bed, great full breaky and a private courtyard in case you feel the need to kick back with a cigar at the end of your evening.....

Everything you need at a B&B!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A wonderful location and an amazing room. We chose the Royal Pavilion and were not disappointed. It was fantastic! Our hosts were extremely accommodating with lots of complementary additions. The breakfast served in our room was superb. We cannot recommend this highly enough!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,164 reviews
1.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,326 reviews
0.4 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
0.3 km away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
A Room With A View
A Room With A View
#6 of 93 in Brighton
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Brighton Blue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Brighton Blue

Property: Red Brighton Blue
Address: 7 Charlotte Street, Brighton BN2 1AG, England (Formerly Brighton Pavilions)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,446 - ₹ 15,729
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Brighton Blue 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Brighton Blue is a newly refurbished 11 bedroom boutique guest house, just off the sea front in Brighton. The historic property has been a guest house for over 50 years and the new owners Peter Howey and Steve Courtney, who took over in August 2014, have undergone a thorough renovation to create an ideal choice of place to stay for visitors to Brighton. • IDEAL LOCATION - set on a quiet side street leading onto the sea front in the bohemian Kemptown area of central Brighton - guests can get sea views and a peaceful night's sleep whilst are just 2 minutes walk away from bars & restaurants nightlight and less than 10 minutes walk to the Pier, Royal Pavilion and city centre. • HISTORIC, CHARACTERFUL GEORGIAN TOWNHOUSE BUILDING - set over 5 floors, with well proportioned rooms, large windows and many original features such as covings, skirtings & fireplaces, plus a large entrance hallway and elegant staircase giving more of a grand hotel feel • 11 LUXURY BEDROOMS ALL WITH ENSUITES INCLUDING KINGS, DOUBLES AND SINGLES - now all newly refurbished and maintained to the highest standards, all with luxury modern ensuite showerrooms, the latest entertainment technology including internet connected smart TVs with catchup, with screen mirroring for your own content, free access to our DVD movie library and fibre-optic broadband wifi in all rooms. Every room is tastefully decorated and luxuriously furnished throughout. • COURTYARD GARDEN - guests have 24 hour access to our small but beautiful courtyard garden, a relaxing oasis of lush green planting, flowers, cool calming water features and plenty of space to sit, chat & enjoy with friends. It's even gently illuminated at night. • BEST BED AND BEST BREAKFAST - we believe in doing the basics really well, so in addition to our luxurious beds, pillows & duvets, we aim to offer one of the best breakfasts in Brighton too. Everything is freshly cooked to order, using the very best ingredients, locally sourced where possible, imaginatively combined into a wide range of delicious breakfast dishes, and designed to complement our breakfast buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, granola, yoghurt & freshly baked pastries, all served in our elegant dining room. • A MODERN HOTEL WITH A TRULY FRIENDLY, PERSONAL SERVICE - we aim to offer everything you expect from a good, modern, professional hotel, plus the added benefit of genuinely friendly owner managers, Peter and Steve, on hand to offer any assistance, advice or personal service that may enhance your stay in Brighton. From help with parking, restaurant recommendations & reservations, ideas for things to see & do, to just having a coffee and a chat. We love living in Brighton and having guests to our home, and want guests to love being here, have a memorable stay, recommend us to their friends and to come back time & time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Brighton Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Pavilions Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing