We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed”
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My husband brought me to the hotel for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. How I wish I'd known where we were going and had a chance to read reviews written about it.
We stayed in room 203 - a suite. The bathroom was disgusting, the lock on the door plastic and filthy and towels threadbare. It was a cold weekend and the rooms were freezing. The bed was hard, and the noise of traffic / revellors put an end to any plans for a good rest. In my view, this was a complete waste of money. I wish we'd stayed at home.

Room Tip: No getting away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattikapatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    793
    516
    252
    190
See reviews for
425
919
61
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The hotel is ideal for shopping, going out in the evening, the staff are good and helpful although it is a bit of a struggle with heavy luggage to your room.
On first sight of your room it's nice, airy and sea rooms are perfect but you then notice tatty furniture, carpet stains, I had rather unsavoury looking stains up the curtains!
The bathroom needs updating with lots of stained or rusty metal bathroom furniture.
The buffet breakfast is a bit of a crush and very busy, you do feel packed in. The scrambled egg is like nothing I have ever had....not in a good way.
On the whole if you can ignore the stains and the need of updating it is fine, I rang down to the bar three times for ice and they appeared like magic, room service was good also. Food offered good portions, although veggie options are much needed. I ended up ordering the kids cheese and tomato pasta, the waitress said the chef will make it for an adult portion....well I have never seen a portion so big, could hardly lift the plate...tasted nice mind.
I would stay again. Friday and Saturday evening are very loud, bars and night clubs quite close.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms furthest away from the pier. Very loud music, bars etc otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterflytart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

me and my partner stayed here for a night as it was my birthday you cant booked in until 1500 ok its on the seafront its the only thing going for it the bed was a small double bed your legs would hang out the bed and we aint tall breakfast was ok not as nice as royal albion hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneybee1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We booked the Queens because of its location, although we knew it was a mixed bag based on the reviews we had read. Our room was a very large Kingsize sea view; clean and tidy. Everything worked and it had lots of wardrobe space with plenty of hangers!! Breakfast was fine, but did not change at all for the three mornings we were there. Not a big choice either ( the hot stuff was always scrambled eggs, fried bread,sausage, bacon tinned tomatoes and baked beans). Came back one day at around 1pm went into the bar for a pint and a sandwich--no food available until after 2pm--really strange we thought, and it probably explained why the bar was nearly always devoid of customers. Thought £175 for Saturday night was a bit pricy for what it was. On the plus side the staff we all very friendly and helpful and well informed. We had a pleasant stay and the hotel is very conveniently situated for all the main amenities. Will we return to this hotel--probably not.

Room Tip: Ask when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Booked with lastminute.com.Very easy and hotel rang to confirm our booking and room type. On arrival very welcoming receptionist who explained everything. Room much bigger than expected and very clean. Usual tea/coffee and toiletries. Ran out of milk and bar staff very obliging. All the staff we came into contact with were very efficient and friendly. Bar area sofas need replacing - I wouldn't sit on them! Apart from that the rest of the hotel very clean although the leisure club ie pool area had a damp odour.Great location right opposite beach and next to Lanes. Breakfast fine and waiting staff couldn't do enough for you. More choice for us veggies?
Overall a good stay and would return

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izonions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.6 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,034 reviews
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.7 km away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.2 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Property: Queens Hotel
Address: 1-3 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,812 - ₹ 21,604
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Queens Hotel in Brighton, you will receive a warm welcome from our friendly and professional team, one which will ensure your stay with us will be a truly memorable experience. The Queens Hotel Brighton overlooks Brighton Beach, the famous Brighton Pier, and promenade. The area comes alive at night with various restaurants, pubs and clubs situated around the area. The hotel has a large leisure club with Pool, & Sauna as well as 20 cardiovascular & 10 resistance machine as well as a well stocked free weights area & Olympic bench. We also have an in-house spa offering a wide range of beauty treatments & the No1 Bar and Bistro for Breakfast, Afternoon Teas and Evening meals & snacks with our Bar open till 1am Sunday - Thursday, & Late on Friday and Saturdays. We also have 14 fully serviced apartments that are an ideal option for your Brighton getaway ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing