We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regency Hotel Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I went there on Saturday to spend the week end in Brighton with my boyfriend, the only room availble was the one with seaview for 105 per night.
We arrived earlier than the check in time and the really nice owner gave us the room straight away.
The hotel has a lot of carachter , the theme is burlesuqe.
The room was at the top floor, it was reallly small and the seaview consisted in a small tiny window.
The carpet was a bit dirty and old, but the worst thing was the shower.

in oirder to have a "decent" shower you have to let the tap water in the bathrrom running fo 5/10 minutes. In this way you have hot water in the shower, but the pressure is so ridicolous that it is impossible to have a proper/normal shower.
The rooms are so close to each other that you can ehar every single noise.
The tap started leaking during the night.
Having booked on a webisite, we didn't have the breakfast inculded.
Honestly, for 105 per night I would expect a much superior standard.
The owners are really nice and friendly, the location is ideal, but I would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wlb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    44
    22
    13
    17
See reviews for
33
82
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel was quite nicely decorated, different from some hotels I have stayed in. The only downfall was the smell of paint, as it had just been painted. Having the window open, in the bedroom, on a winters New Years Eve was not my cup of tea. Other then that " thumbs up".
P.S - Wi Fi would help as well!!

Room Tip: Room 12 is at the top of the building and the room is slopping, but lovely view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHEEKYLONDON64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a very georgeous and unique hotel in the centre of Brighton. You cannot ask for more!. The room was phenomenal in a very glamorous decor , especially I recommend room 3 the regency suite . The staff were very welcoming, polite and friendly. Also it was an excellent idea to make the reservation via internet as we got breakfast included and a welcoming pack. I would absolutely book again.

Room Tip: "Regency suite" is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macarena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Lovely place, lovely people. Not a five star hotel, nor pretending to be. Fun decor, good atmosphere. Had to fight the shower but won in the end.
This was the second time we (family of 5) have stayed there and doubt we will look for anywhere else in future. Good location, nice view (if you are at the front), great value, 2 minutes from Preston street (lots of restaurants).
Breakfast is good BUT skip it and go down the seafront to buy a hot kipper roll from the smokehouse instead - I did both and it was a bridge too far :)

Room Tip: Don't book through an agency ring direct, get the same (or better) deal but it will include brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frontrunneruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a very good hotel ... made really special by the owner James who cannot do enough for you. He makes you feel like a really valued guest in his home which is delightful experience.

Very friendly and accommodating staff coupled with the very central location make this hotel a perfect place to stay and explore Brighton.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob722851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,178 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.7 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,079 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel Brighton

Property: Regency Hotel Brighton
Address: 28 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,061 - ₹ 18,555
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Regency Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing