We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oriental
Nearby Hotels
US$ 171
US$ 161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 130
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 230
US$ 214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 187
US$ 151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 171
US$ 160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 204
US$ 198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Strawberry Fields(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
My Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
US$ 128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kipps Backpackers Hostel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
US$ 83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveller rating
469
187
25
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
187
25
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsl'occitane toiletriesspa bathregency secure parkingboutique hotelcomfy bedfull englishtwin roombreakfast was deliciouson arrivaltop floorlovely touchsea frontfresh fruitlovely roomlittle touchesmin walkperfect stay
Filter
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 693 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The b n b was quirky n fresh.the location was amazing as was the recommended parking however the in room
Massage was uncomfortable in every sense of the word. It was a deep tissue massage but was painful to be honest and very disorganised late n the music didn't work beds didn't fit in the space (despite them telling us they usually fit fine) plus my other half went to have a shower n was told that she couldn't cos the hot water wasn't on during the day n that it'd take half an hour to heat up xxx

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trayerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoctorOriental, Owner at The Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

We are glad you liked the Oriental and its location, plus our parking recommendation. However we are disappointed to note that you did not enjoy your massage. We will pass this onto the masseur but incidentally in March we moved over to a new massage company, details of which will be on our website this week, who we feel offer a better service and value to our customers so we'll be monitoring their progress. With regard to the lack of hot water, this was a temporary problem with the time clock that we've fixed so their should be water throughout the day now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed at The Oriental in April 2012. Bed and room was nice. Tv did not work properly. Water in shower was a light drizzle and not the full on shower. Breakfast very good. Recommended but must be freezing in the winter with gaping single glazing windows.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We staying at the oriental in March and it was lovely. The rooms are beautiful, the staff were very attentive and the cocktail bar was great. In my opinion its the best hotel in Brighton

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Oriental mid-week just before Easter. Andrew was very welcoming and delightfully sneaky in helping me to arrange champagne on arrival.
Our room (superior with balcony) was lovely and relaxing. Plenty big enough though I suspect the others were smaller. That's what you get in a converted house like this though.
Road was really quiet and hotel perfectly located for a few days roaming around.
I would have loved to know more about the history of the building...
Breakfast was lovely, but be warned, it is a boutique hotel so if it's full there will be a wait. This was no problem for us but I'd suggest getting there at the start of the breakfast hour!
We loved our stay, couldn't have found anywhere better.
Thanks to everyone at the Oriental!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoctorOriental, Owner at The Oriental, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thanks for the lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we could help with your special champagne requirements.
Since you ask, I can advise that the Oriental is located in a Grade II* listed terrace designed by Amon Henry Wilds, who designed several key streets in Brighton and whose signature ammonite capitals and shells can be found in the blank window arches. Work commenced in 1825 and was to combine with an Oriental garden and Athenaeum (conservatory) to be built of iron and glass situated at the top of the street but which was later abandoned due to lack of funds on this site.. You can read more about the street and Brighton's architecture in Pevsner Architectural Guide to Brighton and Hove which includes walking tours. Hope that helps?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The people at The Oriental are really lovely and helpful. The room was clean and quiet, the only thing I didn't like was the mattress, which was too hard for me, but this is just me.
The breakfast was great and Andrew such a nice person!
If they had rooms with softer mattresses I would definiteyl come back :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieliebekati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews