We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice quaint boutique hotel”
Review of The Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oriental
Ranked #12 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice quaint boutique hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Although the weather was bad, the Oriental made up for it. The staff were attentive and the breakfast was great. Great location to explore Brighton. Felt totally at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    181
    25
    10
    1
See reviews for
61
347
54
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The b n b was quirky n fresh.the location was amazing as was the recommended parking however the in room
Massage was uncomfortable in every sense of the word. It was a deep tissue massage but was painful to be honest and very disorganised late n the music didn't work beds didn't fit in the space (despite them telling us they usually fit fine) plus my other half went to have a shower n was told that she couldn't cos the hot water wasn't on during the day n that it'd take half an hour to heat up xxx

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trayerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoctorOriental, Owner at The Oriental, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We are glad you liked the Oriental and its location, plus our parking recommendation. However we are disappointed to note that you did not enjoy your massage. We will pass this onto the masseur but incidentally in March we moved over to a new massage company, details of which will be on our website this week, who we feel offer a better service and value to our customers so we'll be monitoring their progress. With regard to the lack of hot water, this was a temporary problem with the time clock that we've fixed so their should be water throughout the day now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed at The Oriental in April 2012. Bed and room was nice. Tv did not work properly. Water in shower was a light drizzle and not the full on shower. Breakfast very good. Recommended but must be freezing in the winter with gaping single glazing windows.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We staying at the oriental in March and it was lovely. The rooms are beautiful, the staff were very attentive and the cocktail bar was great. In my opinion its the best hotel in Brighton

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Oriental mid-week just before Easter. Andrew was very welcoming and delightfully sneaky in helping me to arrange champagne on arrival.
Our room (superior with balcony) was lovely and relaxing. Plenty big enough though I suspect the others were smaller. That's what you get in a converted house like this though.
Road was really quiet and hotel perfectly located for a few days roaming around.
I would have loved to know more about the history of the building...
Breakfast was lovely, but be warned, it is a boutique hotel so if it's full there will be a wait. This was no problem for us but I'd suggest getting there at the start of the breakfast hour!
We loved our stay, couldn't have found anywhere better.
Thanks to everyone at the Oriental!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoctorOriental, Owner at The Oriental, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thanks for the lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we could help with your special champagne requirements.
Since you ask, I can advise that the Oriental is located in a Grade II* listed terrace designed by Amon Henry Wilds, who designed several key streets in Brighton and whose signature ammonite capitals and shells can be found in the blank window arches. Work commenced in 1825 and was to combine with an Oriental garden and Athenaeum (conservatory) to be built of iron and glass situated at the top of the street but which was later abandoned due to lack of funds on this site.. You can read more about the street and Brighton's architecture in Pevsner Architectural Guide to Brighton and Hove which includes walking tours. Hope that helps?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,036 reviews
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.2 km away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental

Property: The Oriental
Address: 9 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,954 - ₹ 13,992
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental is one of the original Brighton Boutique hotels, understated yet bursting with character. This 4* Highly Commended Grade II Listed Regency guesthouse has a refreshing view on design and service. Recommended by Time Out, Lonely Planet & The Guardian and the Sunday Times Travel Magazine put The Oriental in the World's 100 Best City Hotels for £100 or less. Thoughtfully unpretentious and resonantly Brighton, the Oriental is like visiting the home of one of your friends; relaxed and unfussy, with the trimmings of a lifestyle hotel plus the friendly charm of a bed and breakfast. With parking on the next square, the beach within 50 yards and both the city centre and Brighton Centre less than 10 minutes walk away, what else would you want from the city which boasts a cosmopolitan crowd, award winning restaurants, Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, festivals, and much more? Whether you want a weekend break, midweek holiday, or a retreat from or venue for your business meeting; we have the ambiance, 'know-how' and personable team to make your stay a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing