We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oriental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Oriental
Ranked #11 of 98 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Oriental mid-week just before Easter. Andrew was very welcoming and delightfully sneaky in helping me to arrange champagne on arrival.
Our room (superior with balcony) was lovely and relaxing. Plenty big enough though I suspect the others were smaller. That's what you get in a converted house like this though.
Road was really quiet and hotel perfectly located for a few days roaming around.
I would have loved to know more about the history of the building...
Breakfast was lovely, but be warned, it is a boutique hotel so if it's full there will be a wait. This was no problem for us but I'd suggest getting there at the start of the breakfast hour!
We loved our stay, couldn't have found anywhere better.
Thanks to everyone at the Oriental!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoctorOriental, Owner at The Oriental, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thanks for the lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we could help with your special champagne requirements.
Since you ask, I can advise that the Oriental is located in a Grade II* listed terrace designed by Amon Henry Wilds, who designed several key streets in Brighton and whose signature ammonite capitals and shells can be found in the blank window arches. Work commenced in 1825 and was to combine with an Oriental garden and Athenaeum (conservatory) to be built of iron and glass situated at the top of the street but which was later abandoned due to lack of funds on this site.. You can read more about the street and Brighton's architecture in Pevsner Architectural Guide to Brighton and Hove which includes walking tours. Hope that helps?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    178
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
58
342
52
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The people at The Oriental are really lovely and helpful. The room was clean and quiet, the only thing I didn't like was the mattress, which was too hard for me, but this is just me.
The breakfast was great and Andrew such a nice person!
If they had rooms with softer mattresses I would definiteyl come back :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dieliebekati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

A wonderful guest house. Extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Fab breakfasts as well (the locally sourced sausages are particularly tasty.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Have just come back from a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff are very friendly - Andrew rang us about 10 minutes after I booked on line- that has never happened to me before. The room was a good size and a lovely spacious bathroom. Lovely L'Occitane shower products too. The road is very quiet so got 2 good nights sleep. Bed very comfortable. All very clean. The breakfasts were fantastic- the fruit and yoghurt starter was fantastic as well as the cooked breakfast and detox breakfast. The hotel is close to sea front and about 10 minutes walk from The Lanes and town centre. We wil definitely book here again. A great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suth55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

A fantastic find.......spent one night here, bed comfortable, twin room perfect for my Mother and I. The breakfast certainly lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilbloom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.7 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 km away
Artist Residence Brighton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oriental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental

Property: The Oriental
Address: 9 oriental Place, Brighton BN1 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,735 - ₹ 10,473
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental is one of the original Brighton Boutique hotels, understated yet bursting with character. This 4* Highly Commended Grade II Listed Regency guesthouse has a refreshing view on design and service. Recommended by Time Out, Lonely Planet & The Guardian and the Sunday Times Travel Magazine put The Oriental in the World's 100 Best City Hotels for £100 or less. Thoughtfully unpretentious and resonantly Brighton, the Oriental is like visiting the home of one of your friends; relaxed and unfussy, with the trimmings of a lifestyle hotel plus the friendly charm of a bed and breakfast. With parking on the next square, the beach within 50 yards and both the city centre and Brighton Centre less than 10 minutes walk away, what else would you want from the city which boasts a cosmopolitan crowd, award winning restaurants, Royal Pavilion, Brighton Pier, festivals, and much more? Whether you want a weekend break, midweek holiday, or a retreat from or venue for your business meeting; we have the ambiance, 'know-how' and personable team to make your stay a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oriental Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing