We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough, but bad value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drakes Hotel Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but bad value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our room was right at the top of 4 flights (no lift as its a converted townhouse), with a rolled top bath in the bedroom. Nice feature, though in reality that's because the room is so tiny as the bathroom can only over be a small wet room. It was all very clean and comfortable even though so small. The service was friendly enough too. So a decent experience. But at the price (we paid the quoted website price) frankly its a rip-off. Especially as we had to pay for breakfast on top. And an overnight parking charge of £12.50 though to be fair they have just 4 spaces out front. So one nights stay cost £250. And it just isn't the sort of hotel that should be charging that.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have a small balcony overlooking the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamcd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    249
    96
    32
    23
See reviews for
50
646
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Had always thought about staying at this hotel when visiting Brighton, and finally it happened when we booked an overnight stay last week. The location is perfect, just along from the Pier and facing the seafront. This makes it easy to walk to either the shops in Brighton and many restaurants, or alternatively in the other direction, Kemptown and some really lovely small and quirky shops and restaurants. We booked the Ying Yang sea view room and you need to have the stamina of a mountain goat to make it up the three levels of stairs (no lift). We were OK, but if you are not very good with stairs then do ask for the location of your room. The room did look bigger on the website, but it was immaculately clean and had a stunning view of the seafront. It had a teeny tiny wet room and a bath in the main bedroom by the window. Everything is a squeeze in the room, so good that we were only staying the one night. The other thing to mention is the road noise (do emergency services need to use sirens in the middle of the night?). This is only to be expected as the room faces the road, but if you are looking for a restful night then perhaps ask for a room at the back of the hotel. However, it had everything we needed, a comfy bed with lovely bedding, and tea/coffee making facilities. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Balance the sea view rooms against a restful nights sleep...although how can you go to Brighton and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Countryadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and the hotel is nice. I just feel that for the money it should really be on a par with the likes of the Hotel du Vin. Unfortunately the finish is not quite there and seems tatty in parts - missing catches on shutters, chipped paint, cracked wooden window frames. I stayed in their 2nd best room and it did not really meet expectations. For over £200 I expected more. The room is very noisy from the traffic on the main road which the hotel is on.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ianster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have eaten at Drakes several times. At first it was absolutely terrific. When we had our civil partnership, they even brought out complimentary champagne and a sharable sweet with 'congratulations' written in chocolate around the plate. Since then, it's not been quite as good. We took conference people there and the service was not good. To be fair it has been a while. It's a small restaurant and rather intimate. It's definitely a place to visit - prices are a little high and three out of five meals have been great, the others a little disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePete9332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, Dorset
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed here for one night 27/3, as a birthday gift from my family so I could see a show.

Receptionist very friendly, gave us a complimentry upgrade from the ground floor city facing double to the attic sea facing double in room 401. She also gave us a map as it was our first time in Brighton & mark the hotel & circled places of interest. Took us to room by a few flights of stairs with our suitcase in their very small lift. She advised us they provide a newpaper, the 'I' in the morning but we can choose another if we prreferred. Breakfast could be in restaurant or in our room and we had until 4am to order. A continental was already paid for and booked by my mum, but we could change if we wanted.

Room was very compact, warm and bright. Had everything you needed, including posh coffee in cafetier, teas (fruit teas as well) with teapot, water etc... even shortbread biscuits. The bed had a bathrobe each, slippers & a toiletry set including shampoo, condition, hand/body lotion, bath/shower gel, a meding set (needle & cotton), vanity (cotton wool pads/buds) & shower cap!! TV, DVD player, ipod docking station & hairdryer was provided. All was cleans.

Not the best night's sleep due to road at the front, but bed was comfy & pillows/duvet very good quality.

Breakfast was amazing! Too much! We had croissant, pain au chocolat, muffin, banana bread, toast (under a cloche), jam, honey, milk, cereal, yoghurt, latte (you could choose your drink), fresh orange juice in a glass, fruit & butter.

We would not have chosen this place ourselves due to the price and feel it was slightly overpriced, but it was a very luxurious place to be. Felt room was a little small for the price, but overall really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: If you can't manage stairs, don't take a floor above ground If you are a light sleeper th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emirates-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.1 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,659 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Artist Residence Brighton
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drakes Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakes Hotel Brighton

Property: Drakes Hotel Brighton
Address: 44 Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1PE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#11 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,672 - ₹ 16,036
Hotel Class:4 star — Drakes Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drakes is a design-led 20 bedroom "hand-made" hotel on Brighton's seafront. Everything about Drakes is exceptional, from the impeccable service, to the stylish design and highly acclaimed fine dining Restaurant at Drakes. Now in their 13th year, 4 star Drakes continues to set the standard of quality and luxury in the city winning several accolades and praise year on year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Drakes Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brighton Drakes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing