We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No more than ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Granville Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No more than ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were quite excited about staying here but were a little disappointed when we walked on to the Noel Coward room. It looked very sparse and rather dated. Our biggest disappointment, however, came when we sat on the bed. It was as if the mattress hadn't been changed since the hotel first opened. It was possibly the least comfy, sagging bed I have encountered.

I know Brighton has some of the most overpriced hotels in the uk, and I am happy to pay this when the quality matches the claims, but at over £150 I certainly will not be going back to, or recommending, the Grandville to any friends.

Also, and this goes for anywhere on the sea front, if you want a good nights sleep make sure you have decent double glazing. The Grandville certainly does not. Three windows, one with secondary glazing, one with secondary glazing that doesn't close and one that is just single glazed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyLorelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    225
    64
    38
    23
See reviews for
55
323
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west mids
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hi just on the train home after a two night fun stay at the Granville. I agree with many of the reviews that the decor is in places 'tired' but the quirkiness more than makes up for it. The Black Rock does have overtones of a bordello but the huge bath is amazing!! Breakfast is very subtancial and better quality than expected. I had Eggs Bendict with smoked salmon this moring! Staff very friendly and hotel welcoming with sea views that are amazing. Ten minutes walk from the pier and the lanes. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you opt for a seaview as amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyinglifeWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Our second stay at the Granville once again didn't disappoint. Ed and the team pulled out all the stops to make this an ace night away for us. The "Brighton Rock" room was amazing and well worth the money, awesome view, and a fantastic jacuzzi!
Dinner and drinks in the "Fishermans Rest" was lovely, the food was awesome, with more than generous servings.
On the whole, a happy, friendly hotel, where the staff are there to help and will go the extra to do so. We will deffinatly go back the next time we are in uk. Don't miss out on this little gem guys, fab doesn't cover it.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the "Noel Coward" and "Brighton Rock" rooms, both are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squaddiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here unexpectedly last December with my family. We had the lovely Brunswick Suite. We had made a mistake with a previous booking, Made a booking for March instead of December and needed a room for five on a Saturday afternoon to attend a family wedding. The Granville had just had a cancellation. They were as pleased to see us as we were to find they had room for us. It was all a very pleasant surprise, from the the great room, value for money and in particular the brilliant breakfast. Everyone was pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. I can only suggest you try this little gem, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: for a family of five The Brunswick Suite was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chineham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Having had a bad experience at the Queen's Hotel in Brighton recently, we opted to stay at the Granville last week (29 March 2012), having spotted it on our previous visit; we were not disappointed! I have always preferred smaller, boutique hotels, as they provide customer service which large establishments simply struggle to deliver. On arrival (the hotel is on the sea front) we were upgraded to the balcony room on the first floor, which indeed had a small balcony and two chairs and a little table overlooking the sea. We had a big four poster bed and the bathroom was FAB, with a huge showerhead above the Jacuzzi bath.

The breakfast room was also delightful, and we had the best eggs and ham Benedict since our last cruise on the Queen Victoria! The staff were all very cheery and helpful. Parking is a problem in Brighton, but the hotel is just 50 yards from a large (and reasonably priced, £15 for 24 hours) car park located under a square.

If you are overnighting in Brighton, I wholeheartedly recommend the Granville. Whenever we head to Brighton, that's where we will be staying from now on (a tip, call the hotel direct for the best deal, rather than going through a late booking website).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickgthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
1.4 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.6 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Property: The Granville Hotel
Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,437 - ₹ 14,442
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing