We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Granville Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 189
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 279
US$ 271
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 160
US$ 149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 194
US$ 141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
My Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 177
US$ 148
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$ 237
US$ 213
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 151
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Lanes Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
252
255
69
40
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
255
69
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest pierjacuzzi bathbalcony roomblack rocknoel cowardbrighton rockprince regent roomsea viewfour poster bedrestaurant downstairssea frontold westquirky hotelthemed roomsmy partnerbrighton seafrontcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hi just on the train home after a two night fun stay at the Granville. I agree with many of the reviews that the decor is in places 'tired' but the quirkiness more than makes up for it. The Black Rock does have overtones of a bordello but the huge bath is amazing!! Breakfast is very subtancial and better quality than expected. I had Eggs Bendict with smoked salmon this moring! Staff very friendly and hotel welcoming with sea views that are amazing. Ten minutes walk from the pier and the lanes. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you opt for a seaview as amazing.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyinglifeWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Our second stay at the Granville once again didn't disappoint. Ed and the team pulled out all the stops to make this an ace night away for us. The "Brighton Rock" room was amazing and well worth the money, awesome view, and a fantastic jacuzzi!
Dinner and drinks in the "Fishermans Rest" was lovely, the food was awesome, with more than generous servings.
On the whole, a happy, friendly hotel, where the staff are there to help and will go the extra to do so. We will deffinatly go back the next time we are in uk. Don't miss out on this little gem guys, fab doesn't cover it.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the "Noel Coward" and "Brighton Rock" rooms, both are fab
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squaddiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here unexpectedly last December with my family. We had the lovely Brunswick Suite. We had made a mistake with a previous booking, Made a booking for March instead of December and needed a room for five on a Saturday afternoon to attend a family wedding. The Granville had just had a cancellation. They were as pleased to see us as we were to find they had room for us. It was all a very pleasant surprise, from the the great room, value for money and in particular the brilliant breakfast. Everyone was pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. I can only suggest you try this little gem, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: for a family of five The Brunswick Suite was great!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Having had a bad experience at the Queen's Hotel in Brighton recently, we opted to stay at the Granville last week (29 March 2012), having spotted it on our previous visit; we were not disappointed! I have always preferred smaller, boutique hotels, as they provide customer service which large establishments simply struggle to deliver. On arrival (the hotel is on the sea front) we were upgraded to the balcony room on the first floor, which indeed had a small balcony and two chairs and a little table overlooking the sea. We had a big four poster bed and the bathroom was FAB, with a huge showerhead above the Jacuzzi bath.

The breakfast room was also delightful, and we had the best eggs and ham Benedict since our last cruise on the Queen Victoria! The staff were all very cheery and helpful. Parking is a problem in Brighton, but the hotel is just 50 yards from a large (and reasonably priced, £15 for 24 hours) car park located under a square.

If you are overnighting in Brighton, I wholeheartedly recommend the Granville. Whenever we head to Brighton, that's where we will be staying from now on (a tip, call the hotel direct for the best deal, rather than going through a late booking website).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickgthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We have just returned from a very nice two night stay at the Granville Hotel (Japanese Room) The room was very clean, provided tea and coffee facilities, and had a beautiful jacuzzi in the bathroom. Staff were very polite and attentive and did their best to please. The hotel is perfectly positioned near to all the amenities on offer.

The rooms are a little tired and could do with a fresh coat of paint, however this is hidden by the cleanliness and features in the room.

Had breakfast in the restaurant on both mornings and it was cooked to perfection. Staff were very attentive and our coffee and tea cups never were empty.

I would highly recommend this hote..

Room Tip: WE stayed in the Japanese room. Facing the street so slightly noisy although to be expected, and with sea views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews