We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently imaginative veggie food at a great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iydea

Iydea
Ranked #25 of 1,092 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: Iydea is a small and very busy express vegetarian canteen right in the heart of Brighton's North Laine area. All the food is freshly made and is on display so you can choose only what you want to go on your plate or to take away. There is an extensive breakfast menu from 9:30 every morning which changes to the lunch menu at 11:30 (12:00 Sundays). Iydea does get very busy and cramped so best to avoid peak times if you want a little more space and comfort.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently imaginative veggie food at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I always try to pop in when I am in town.

Always friendly, always different meals to choose from and always a good price. Can be busy but that's the price of serving great veggie food I guess!

The only negative thing I would say is that they don't accept Vegetarian Society discounts, which considering the VegSoc gave them a big award recently seems a little strange to me....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beninbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    137
    23
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really liked it and I'm not a veggie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Read some positive reviews and thought we would pop in for a quick lunch. Lucky to get a table as the restaurant was realy buzzing. Great choice of dishes we both choose a delicious lasagna and this included two side dishes and a choice of dressing. Also had a couple of glasses of wine total bill £20! Very friendly efficient staff - would certainly come here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonEgghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Veggie food in Brighton!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

For me this is the best veggie food in Brighton. Perfect for a healthy lunch. The staff are always very friendly and look as if they actually enjoy working there.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank BrightonRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian at best price - perfect for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

When I want something a bit more healthy to eat at lunchtime, and am on a budget, this is where I always head. Not usually any space to sit down, but if your intention is to grab a healthy vegetarian take away that is healthy and extremely tasty for a bargain price you can't do any better.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GladysAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent - even for the meat eaters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We - 4 adults and 2 kids - visited Iydea for the first time on Easter Sunday. It definitely won't be the last time.

The choice, the quality, the staff and the price were all excellent - even the avowed meat eaters were impressed. Well worth a visit.

Only one suggestion - bigger plates please.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudgwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iydea also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Iydea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing