We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 161
US$ 137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 260
US$ 252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Una(Brighton)
US$ 455
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Granville Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
US$ 141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 287
US$ 258
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 189
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 167
US$ 140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$ 237
US$ 219
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blanch House(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$ 217
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,956)
Filter reviews
1,957 results
Traveller rating
257
530
592
329
249
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
530
592
329
249
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea frontbrighton seafrontboth morningsvery pleasant staypublic areascomfy beda sea view roomweekend breakcooked breakfastfull englishpierstaircase
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,757 - 1,762 of 1,957 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Upon reading various differing reviews I felt a little doubtful whether or not to stay here. I liked that the manager responded to good and less positive reviews and had the impression that the hotel staff cared what people thought. So I thought, why not? The hotel is located close to the ruins of the old pier overlooking the sea and is within easy walking distance (appr. 5 minutes) to the main shopping areas. There is parking at the front and back of the hotel, at 15 GBP per stay which I thought was fine for convenient on-site parking if you don't want to carry your luggage around. There is a children's playground almost opposite of the hotel next to the pebble beach, about a 2-minute walk.
The entrance of the hotel, its chandeliers and the old staircase are impressive and the reception is located immediately to the right. Check-in was swift and friendly, our room was not quite ready but we were told it would only be 10 minutes so we waited in the bar area. We were offered an upgrade to a seaview room for 65 GBP, but decided against it since we wouldn't be spending that much time inside the room anyway. The bar is not huge but looks great. There are tables with a seaview.
We had booked a family room via the Mercure site. The rate included breakfast and came to just under 100 GBP. The bright corner room in the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor was sizable, clean and modern, the bed very comfortable. The children's bed is a pulldown couch and we were given extra towels and own-brand amenities. The bathroom had a strong power shower and was also modern. The double glazing kept the street noise to a minimum.
Breakfast was in the old ballroom, a large room with mirrors (albeit no windows). Full English breakfast, croissants, pains du chocolate, fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals were included as well as grapefruit and apple juice.
We decided to go for a walk by the beach and it was no problem to leave the car a little while longer at the hotel.
So, all in all, I'm very happy I gave this hotel a try, it was well worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedevilNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear shedevilNetherlands

Thank you for taking the time to post a valued review following your stay with us.

It is always pleasing to read a balanced review which has taken into consideration feedback from other travellers!

I was delighted that you decided to stay with us and were satisfied with both the facilities and the service experience.

We do genuinely aim to ensure that everybody has a good time when staying at the Hotel and I hope that now you have ‘tried’ us we’ll see you sometime soon!

Kindest regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Looks a grand building but once insider this hotel looks quite tired, and that is just reception. The lifts are slow, the interior decoration dated and the room I had was a classic 1980s design. It was clean and the staff were friendly, its just crying out for refurbishment. Its quite a distance from town as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisSussex72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear ChrisSussex72
Thank you for your valued review following your stay with us at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.
It was disappointing to read that the Hotel did not fully meet your expectations. Many of the areas of the hotel have been refurbished in the last few years, although as you will appreciate with a historic building there’s always more do be done.
In addition our rooms do vary in size and décor and I’m also sorry that we were not able to offer you any alternatives that may have suited your needs better.
I was pleased to note that you found the hotel clean and the service received was friendly.
We hope that if you are planning to come back to Brighton, you’ll return to the hotel to see the ongoing improvements that we are making.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Mecure Brighton was a pleasant experience
The staff were very nice and effiicient
Rooms were clean and comfortable
The breakfasts were excellent and the restaurant dinners were good but a little lacking in choice
My only criticism was the cost of parking £15 per night (which was not transparent at the time of booking)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear jimmycasey
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.
I was pleased to read that your stay was a pleasant experience and that you received our usual high level of service from the team here.
I acknowledge your comment about parking and am sorry if this was not clear to you at the time of booking. Parking is at a premium throughout the City and we do try to be as transparent as possible with all our pricing.
Thank you once again for your valued feedback and we hope to see you sometime soon back in Brighton.
Kind regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Mercure was obviously very grand, back in its heydey, and it's a shame that many of its original features have been lost or hidden due to modernisation, although the staircase and ballrom are beautiful. The room overlooking the sea was large, comfortable and very clean, and the reception and restaurant staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good but the standard dinner menu was pretty basis fare.

Room Tip: Overlooking the seafront.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spratwaffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear Spratwaffler

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you found your upgraded Executive Seaview room comfortable and clean and that you received our usual standard of helpful and friendly service from the team.

Like many old buildings ‘modernised’ in the 60’s and 70’s some of the features were bypassed without care and consideration. This said we are proud of the elements remaining including the wrought iron staircase which still bears the ‘NH’ relating to the Norfolk Hotel and the Doric Columns, and Lion Heads at the front of the Hotel.

I was please that you enjoyed breakfast and we are just about to change our Brasserie menu which I hope you might find more to your preference if you come back to see us!

Thank you once again.

Regards

Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Never stayed at this hotel before but was very impressed. The staff were extremely helpful, in particular Paul or Peter Davies who seems to work the entire day. Sorry can't remember the first name but always had a smile and has exceptional customer service. The rooms were clean and spacious and had a sea view room on 4th floor. The only problem was the temperature of the room. Even with the window open and heating turned down, the room was extremely hot. There was a fan in the room but it would be better to have air conditioning. Don't understand why the main staircase has been ruined by the partition walls on each floor as would look really spectacular. Must be some building regulations. Book the breakfast the day before at reception as it is cheaper than on the day. We had the breakfast the first morning and it was so good, we had to have it every day. Really good hotel, good staff, in a very relaxing atmosphere. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear TwoDavids
A belated thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us in April 2012.
In particular I thank you for your kind works regarding the service received from Paul.
You are right that Fire Safety over the years has meant that the staircase had to be enclosed but at least this does mean it’s safer in the case of an emergency.
It was great to read you had a great stay and thought the Hotel was ‘really good’
I hope that we might be able to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews