We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    476
    522
    261
    190
See reviews for
242
847
64
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Upon reading various differing reviews I felt a little doubtful whether or not to stay here. I liked that the manager responded to good and less positive reviews and had the impression that the hotel staff cared what people thought. So I thought, why not? The hotel is located close to the ruins of the old pier overlooking the sea and is within easy walking distance (appr. 5 minutes) to the main shopping areas. There is parking at the front and back of the hotel, at 15 GBP per stay which I thought was fine for convenient on-site parking if you don't want to carry your luggage around. There is a children's playground almost opposite of the hotel next to the pebble beach, about a 2-minute walk.
The entrance of the hotel, its chandeliers and the old staircase are impressive and the reception is located immediately to the right. Check-in was swift and friendly, our room was not quite ready but we were told it would only be 10 minutes so we waited in the bar area. We were offered an upgrade to a seaview room for 65 GBP, but decided against it since we wouldn't be spending that much time inside the room anyway. The bar is not huge but looks great. There are tables with a seaview.
We had booked a family room via the Mercure site. The rate included breakfast and came to just under 100 GBP. The bright corner room in the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor was sizable, clean and modern, the bed very comfortable. The children's bed is a pulldown couch and we were given extra towels and own-brand amenities. The bathroom had a strong power shower and was also modern. The double glazing kept the street noise to a minimum.
Breakfast was in the old ballroom, a large room with mirrors (albeit no windows). Full English breakfast, croissants, pains du chocolate, fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals were included as well as grapefruit and apple juice.
We decided to go for a walk by the beach and it was no problem to leave the car a little while longer at the hotel.
So, all in all, I'm very happy I gave this hotel a try, it was well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shedevilNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear shedevilNetherlands

Thank you for taking the time to post a valued review following your stay with us.

It is always pleasing to read a balanced review which has taken into consideration feedback from other travellers!

I was delighted that you decided to stay with us and were satisfied with both the facilities and the service experience.

We do genuinely aim to ensure that everybody has a good time when staying at the Hotel and I hope that now you have ‘tried’ us we’ll see you sometime soon!

Kindest regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Looks a grand building but once insider this hotel looks quite tired, and that is just reception. The lifts are slow, the interior decoration dated and the room I had was a classic 1980s design. It was clean and the staff were friendly, its just crying out for refurbishment. Its quite a distance from town as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisSussex72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear ChrisSussex72
Thank you for your valued review following your stay with us at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.
It was disappointing to read that the Hotel did not fully meet your expectations. Many of the areas of the hotel have been refurbished in the last few years, although as you will appreciate with a historic building there’s always more do be done.
In addition our rooms do vary in size and décor and I’m also sorry that we were not able to offer you any alternatives that may have suited your needs better.
I was pleased to note that you found the hotel clean and the service received was friendly.
We hope that if you are planning to come back to Brighton, you’ll return to the hotel to see the ongoing improvements that we are making.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Mecure Brighton was a pleasant experience
The staff were very nice and effiicient
Rooms were clean and comfortable
The breakfasts were excellent and the restaurant dinners were good but a little lacking in choice
My only criticism was the cost of parking £15 per night (which was not transparent at the time of booking)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear jimmycasey
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.
I was pleased to read that your stay was a pleasant experience and that you received our usual high level of service from the team here.
I acknowledge your comment about parking and am sorry if this was not clear to you at the time of booking. Parking is at a premium throughout the City and we do try to be as transparent as possible with all our pricing.
Thank you once again for your valued feedback and we hope to see you sometime soon back in Brighton.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Mercure was obviously very grand, back in its heydey, and it's a shame that many of its original features have been lost or hidden due to modernisation, although the staircase and ballrom are beautiful. The room overlooking the sea was large, comfortable and very clean, and the reception and restaurant staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good but the standard dinner menu was pretty basis fare.

Room Tip: Overlooking the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spratwaffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Spratwaffler

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you found your upgraded Executive Seaview room comfortable and clean and that you received our usual standard of helpful and friendly service from the team.

Like many old buildings ‘modernised’ in the 60’s and 70’s some of the features were bypassed without care and consideration. This said we are proud of the elements remaining including the wrought iron staircase which still bears the ‘NH’ relating to the Norfolk Hotel and the Doric Columns, and Lion Heads at the front of the Hotel.

I was please that you enjoyed breakfast and we are just about to change our Brasserie menu which I hope you might find more to your preference if you come back to see us!

Thank you once again.

Regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.5 km away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.8 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,697 - ₹ 19,773
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing