We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in a perfect location”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Kings Hotel is staffed by friendly, helpful people who really want you to enjoy your stay. The bedroom was small and cosy with everything we needed including free tea and coffee sachets and the bathroom was sparklingly clean with fresh towels every day. We hadn't booked breakfasts but were given the option when we arrived and they were excellent- you have a choice of fruits with yoghurt or granola as well as the traditional english. We loved the french pancakes with yoghurt and berries. The hotel is right on the seafront with a good selection of cafe-restaurants within walking distance for your evening meal. There is a cinema on the corner for bad weather options and regular buses from the nearby Churchill Square will get you a variety of walks on the South Downs. We hope to come back to this area again in the summer and would definately book this hotel again.

Room Tip: We paid for a standard room so it was small and just had a tiny window in the corner (but it had a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,326 - 1,330 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Arrived at 6pm to be told there was no parking and to park on the street, which on a saturday night in central Brighton was hopeless, had to pay an extra £20 for overnight parking in alternative location. Bedroom was very cold, very thin duvet on bed which made it worse, shower only dribbled with water. Very Disappointing for money spent. Not worth it at all.

Room Tip: Breakfast was the only good thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightoncatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We booked this hotel very last minute and what a gem it turned out to be, the service and friendliness of the staff was secnd to none from the minute we checked in to the moment we left. The location is perfect being right on the sea front with parking available at the hotel as well as a very short walk to a pay and display car park. The superior room we took was a ground floor courtyard view, the room was very clean as indeed was the whole hotel,very tastefuly decoracted with a comfortable bed and ensuite shower room, the residents bar features nice leather chairs and cosy tables with a good selection of wines and beers at very reasonable prices (cheaper than many bars and pubs) grab a bowl of pistachio nuts from the bar with your glass of wine or cold beer, you will never see a bigger bowl ! ...... breakfast was very nice, we went for the full english on both days however there is also the offer of scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, kippers and smoked haddock, if you fancy breakfast in bed there is the option of a continental breakfast, we arrived late for breakfast (our fault for not reading the times) and the staff were not fazed a bit, they just laid a table and happily asked the chef to cook breakfast and poured orange juice and coffee without rushing us, really cant express too much how good the customer service is from all members of staff. We have stayed in quite a few hotels in Brighton but this is the hotel to book for a guaranteed enjoyable stay, you wont regret it at all. A short walk to the lanes and bars and restruants yet far enough that you hear no noise at all, and of course you simply cross the road to the beach and Alfrescos for the perfect lunch

Room Tip: Ground floor superior rooms are away from the main road so nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Found this hotel on the internet last minute and turned up at midday without booking well they couldn't have been more friendly or helpfull great priced room and available immediately found room to be clean and very nicely decorated as was the rest of the hotel, Situated on the seafront and a sort walk from the centre just perfect for what we wanted.
After a great night out i needed a good nights sleep and wow the bed was one of the most comfortable i have ever slept in Breakfast was fantastic and nice and fresh and great value and the view of the seafront is perfect over breakfast
Question will i be going back .Answer Without doubt this will be my first call when i come back to Brighton which will be very soon Thanks for making my first trip to Brighton such a memorable one

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I spend 145 pound for a double "superior" room which was in the basement, the view from my windows was actually on a wall. Tha carpet was stained, the bathroom covered in mould and the forniture very poor. The breakfast was poor and horrible and I had to wait 15 minutes to get seat in the breakfast area due the lack of seat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiarabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 km away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brighton
1,330 reviews
1.5 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
1 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,379 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 3,350 - ₹ 15,955 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing