We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Curate's Egg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed here last week on a National Holidays break and like many hotels of this type had good and bad sides. Very impressively situated directly opposite the Pier and 5 minutes from the Royal Pavillion with superb sea views, this large hotel showed some signs of faded glory. Staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were decent if a bit old-fashioned. Downsides were the queue for the single lift, the very cold main bar lounge (could someone fix the window which wouldn't shut!) The self-service meals were adequate, but hardly exciting - personally we prefer to be waited upon!. The hotel had the misfortune to be without hot water for one night due to a broken boiler, but can't really blame them for that and it was quickly remedied. All in all it doeas what it says on the tin without blazing any trails.

Room Tip: Ask for a lift on a low floor to avoid lift queues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffhtfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,219 - 2,223 of 3,044 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed for 5 days on a National Holiday break in March 2012. The hotel is rather dated but the excellent always hot food and the excellent service compensates for this. The hotel is ideally situated as it is opposite the pier, near the park, the Pavilion and the museum and shops and of course the promenade. I did have to request another room as the original was a claustrophobic single . My room was adequate and clean with daily changes of towels and toiletries. For the price I paid it was good value.

Room Tip: Corner rooms with two windows are best. Avoid basement rooms. Be assertive and ask to change
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

i could not even agree to any negative reviews here. for me it was one of the best hotel stays i ever had in england. maybe i was just so darn lucky. first of all got the room for a bargain, expected the worst but was really surprise to see the rooms are classic! my room number was 220 so just get that room maybe its the only decent one. breakfast is nice too

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridhwanamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were disappointed to find when we turned up that we could not have a double room as we booked but had to have an alternative room with twin beds which we were told was an 'upgrade to a superior room with a jacuzzi'. The room in question was run down and looked dirty with peeling wall paper and curtains that would not close. The Jacuzzi had mould around it and the view was disgusting over rubbish and an old chair.
In addition to this when we returned after our night out we found there was a major leak from the upstairs room. There was literally water flooding through to our room like rain and had soaked the bathroom and the carpet in the hall in our room. We reported this immediately to reception that came and gave us extra towels and investigated the leak. They said they went upstairs and knocked on the door of the room above us but there was no answer so nothing could be done about the leak and there was no free rooms to move us too so we were stuck for the night. The leak continued all night (athough it did slow down eventually) and left us with a noisy and smelly bathroom. This was barely usable for the remainder of our stay and was truly appalling.
We were told by the duty manager Mark that we would receive compensation the next day but then when we spoke to Golliver (apologies for poor spelling of this name) he explained that as we had booked through hotels.com we could not receive any compensation. This was unacceptable and did not make us ever want to stay in the hotel again which is a shame as we are regular visitors to Brighton.
I also found the £10 charge for late check out was very cheeky!

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the ground level as awful views of rubbish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The building is impressive and conveniently located next to the seafront. If you're looking for a good value basic room then it's quite good. I stayed twice - the first was a tiny little room under some stairs which I actually liked quite a bit as it had no windows, was very quiet and had a bit of character. The second was a large 4 bedroom room (not sure why I got 4 beds when it was just me!) but the curtains wouldn't close so people could see in. The furniture and bathroom are a bit grotty but like I say fine if you're just looking for a place to sleep. You do get tea making facilities though which is always a positive (especially as the tea in the breakfast area was bad)!
The only let down is the breakfast (buffet style cereal and cooked breakfast) which wasn't very tasty despite the good range of choice. But on the balance of things I could cope with that.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,380 reviews
0.3 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,695 reviews
0.2 km away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#28 of 43 in Brighton
466 reviews
2.1 km away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 2,828 - ₹ 12,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing