We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty B&B in good location”
Review of Cavalaire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavalaire Hotel
Ranked #5 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I research hotels compulsively before booking and rely on Trip Advisor for help making my decision. This is one time where I felt was lead astray by all the "excellent" ratings. This B&B is quite a bit more expensive than others in the area, and in fact was the priciest place we stayed during out 10 days in Britain, so I was expecting something spectacular. The good: 1) location - very nice, close to pier, the Laines and in a funky neighborhood full of interesting little restaurants, bars and stores. 2) the breakfast was very good served in a lovely dining room, lots of attention to detail including classical music playing, little jars of jam, lots of variety etc. The bad: 1) The room (#8) is small by North American standards which was fine and expected (and done up in a pleasant although nothing special way) but I did not expect a bathroom that was so tiny that we could notclose the door if we were standing at the sink (and I am under 5 ft tall ... if my husband had been travelling with me, he would not have even been able to get into the room). It measured about 10 square feet and reminded me of an airline bathroom except smaller. I happened to look into another room (#3) while it was being made up and it was lovely with a regular sized bathroom. I understand that we probably paid less for our little room than one of the more delux ones but I don't think it was good value for the money spent. 2) Brighton was unseasonably warm during the last week of May and the room was very hot. The owners said they would bring a fan to the room but forgot the first night and I had to ask again for one which arrived second night. I can't imagine how hot the room gets in July or August! 3) Be aware that the owners are very strict about check in time, to the extent of phoning me ahead of time to confirm what time we would arrive. Again, perhaps I am used to Canada/US hotels where you can arrive any time night or day, but to say that arriving after 2:00 is considered to be a no-show? It meant that we had to leave the city we were in the previous day earlier than we had wanted to just to make sure we would meet the deadline.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8 if you are taller than about 4 ft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 678 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

My friend and I had a wonderful time at the Cavalaire. The hoteliers, Derek and Gary were friendly and very welcoming. The room was clean, well equipped, and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was amazing! They had a full menu for you to choose from! We had the full English breakfast each morning (highly recommended). I would suggest this B&B to anyone! Fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We chose this Hotel for our honeymoon, we decided at last minute to go away and discover brighton at a closer glance. Upon arriving and spekaing with the Cavalaire I found them to be very friendly, welcoming and they seemed happy to do anything to enhance your stay, including booking tables at a local restauarant. The breakfast was out of this world, the choices and the level of service was second to none. The location was excellent just a ten minute walk to town and beach, they went the extra mile to accomocate our car right next to the Hotel in a private space at a discounted rate. The room was clean and tidy and we would not hesiatate to go back when we next take our family to brighton. I would highly recommend 'the cavalaire' to anyone that will listen, not only was this a nice little business, the guys that run this establishment are very nice people and make you feel at home!.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a friendly little place close to the heart of Kemp Town, Brighton's trendier and more fashionable area. The hotelier couldn't have been more welcoming, nor more honest when I booked about the size of the only room available (so I knew in advance the room would be small, but that was not a problem in these circumstances). The room was fresh, tastefully decorated and very clean. Kettle and tea/coffee/hot chocolate were provided, as well as a very large and comfortable bed, ironing board and iron, toiletries...basically, they try to think of everything. So all in all, a good stay, pity I didn't have time to stay for breakfast - the dining room looked very promising!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Brilliant stay at the Cavalaire. Great location near to loads of restaurants and the seafront. Hosts were lovely and were able to give loads of relevant Brighton advice. Room was lovely, quiet and had everything you needed! 100% recommended and will be back...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardevans80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
0.3 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
863 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#2 of 95 in Brighton
1,746 reviews
0.2 km away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0 km away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavalaire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavalaire Hotel

Address: 34 Upper Rock Gardens | Kemp Town, Brighton BN2 1QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: ₹ 8,615 - ₹ 17,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavalaire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Four Star Guest Accommodation. Deluxe, stylish Bed and Breakfast Boutique Guest House in a central location. Built in 1888 this Victorian House refurbished to a very high standard. Gold Award from Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 8 years. Breakfast award from Visit Britain / Enjoy England for the past 6 years. Individually styled rooms with contemporary furnishings and fabrics. Each room has an en suite shower room with basin and wc. All our rooms also offer the following facilities: Luxury toiletries • luxury hand towels and bath sheets • extra large duvets to lose yourself in • Mini-Fridge • 32 inch flat panel television with freeview and radio (22 inch in Standard room) • DAB Digital/FM Radio with iPod Docking Station radio alarm clock in some rooms • professional hairdryer • Luxury Beverage tray • iron and ironing board • free wireless internet access • non-smoking • breakfast optional • discount for single occupancy on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cavalaire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing