We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel needs a tweak here and there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good hotel needs a tweak here and there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and i stayed at The Grand for our Anniversary for one night.
The hotel is well kept and has some wonderful features.
We asked for a re-furbished room which was a good size plus a good size bathroom the room had a lovely huge bed and feather pillows and duvets, the only fault with the room was the fact that the paintwork on some of the walls was rather dirty in my opinion this could be easily cleaned off, also some of the paintwork on the wardrobes and chest of drawers was chipped.
there was tea and coffee making facilities in the room (which was just as well as a cup of tea in the lounge was £4 each!)
We had cocktails in the lounge/bar at cocktail hour and they were very good at £5 each you were also given nuts/crisps & olives to go with your drink.
The bed was comfortable but sleeping was a bit difficult as there was a loud noise outside the window a lot of the night I'm not sure if was the air conditioning but it woke me up several times.
Our room did not have a view just an opposite window. next time I may pay more for a sea view room.
We had breakfast included in the price of the room and it was very nice indeed, we chose the night before what we would like to eat and had it in our room a good choice and delicious food! good coffee too.
We would stay at this hotel again we paid £89 for the room then £25 for a car park.

Room Tip: if you are having a non sea view room ask for the ones that have been re-furbished otherwisw if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sloopy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you for comments on Trip Advisor

I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay for your anniversary. I am sure other readers on TA will benefit from your comments. To clarify one small point a pot of tea (with additional hot water to make it really last), served with complimentary shortbread and often “backed” by a live pianist at our Grand piano is £3.75 in our lounge (which is very much in line with other hotels locally). I would hate for other people to be put off by your quote as it is a wonderful way of whiling away an hour.

However conversely you are quite right in pointing out that we offer some special cocktails at just £5 each day and, yes, they are served with a lovely a range of nuts, olives and crisps – fantastic value and well worth the treat.

Finally I hope you won’t wait until your next anniversary to stay again but when you do you will treat yourself to one of our sea view rooms which are fabulous.

Thank you again for writing

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,122
    1,898
    1,001
    457
    222
See reviews for
1,148
3,534
179
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

A bit scruffy if you look up close, but the rooms were spacious and well presented. The recently refurbished rooms were very impressive. The breakfast was excellent. The choice and the quality of the food was the best I have seen in a buffet style chain hotel. The dinner was beautifully cooked - the service was very friendly, but hap hazard and there was no excuse as there were only 12 eating that evening.

Room Tip: If there is a large group of you ask for interconnecting rooms to spill into (eg230 and 229). If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdonia_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you for your complimentary comments on Trip Advisor particularly about the quality and range of breakfast, the dinner food and the rooms. However I will pick up your comment about the service with Erwan Mauro, our restaurant manager, as there is no question it should have been anything other than seamless when so few diners were in the restaurant. I am sorry if this left a bad impression.

Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We booked this 2 night trip 5 months ago and we were really looking forward to our stay. Two days before we went we had a call to say a customer changed dates and we could not stay for the second night at the Grand. To say we were upset was un understatement. After a good 1/2 hour discussion we had got an upgraded room with sea view (which was lovely) a bottle of wine in our room (which I got changed to champagnee) and our luggage moved to the Hilton Metrolpole next door. The stay was spoiled by this. We had to ask for a late check out, 12 oclock as the hotel was closing at 12 oclock for the client who had taken over the whole hotel (it was William Hill !!!!)We had to pack and change for Brighton races and hurry as housekeeping kept knocking on the door at 11.oclock!. The staff were very good but we were disgusted that they could be so dismissive of us for a betting company!!! Obviously their money is more important than ours. We will not stay here again and will be complaing to them and the De Vere group. The review for the Hilton Metrolpole will reflect how bad that hotel was!!! very upset

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judithterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
I am extremely sorry to hear your comments. We are aware of your situation and my Deputy General Manager, Andi Hirons, who was on duty at the time, will be in contact with you to discuss your feedback in further detail and to ensure your faith in us is reinstated

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Cornard, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

what a great place. from walking through the door u can tell this place is a bit special. the decor is fantastic and the bed was huge. breakfast was to a high standad. totally enjoyed the whole thing. only 1 thing annnoyed me was when turning up at 3:30pm was still not able to check into my room

Room Tip: make the effort to go down stairs for breakfast as the room service breakfast left me still hungry
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your short review on TA.

I am really pleased to hear you received such a warm welcome and following this, had an enjoyable stay with us. I do apologise that you had to wait slightly longer than promised for your room. When the hotel is at full capacity and guests are perhaps leaving their rooms later then permitted, this problem can occur. Our reception and housekeeping teams do work hard to avoid this, but on the odd occasion this can unfortunately be out of their control.

We hope you decide to visit The Grand in the future.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We booked this hotel because we were using our open top car for a wedding and it had underground secure parking. (additional cost) We had a fantastic time. The room (630) was a good size and although a little tired and in need of a refurb it was nice. It was advertised as non sea view but we could see the sea and the old pier. The bed was two singles put together with an extra quilted cover over the top which made it soooo comfy. Breakfast was amazing! Such a vast range of food on the buffett. The only complaints were it was impossible to try all the good looking things without bursting and the coffee was not the best. The service was great. The boys who take car of the parking and garage were a fantastic help. The live piano music in the bar was lovely and the bar service was excellent, and the coffee here was great. The brandy glassess were preheated and placed over hot water. All in all a great stay for us.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor so reduced noise from the street room 630
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for writing following your stay at The Grand.

I am pleased you had such a fantastic time with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the great views of the seafront from the 6th floor.

You are certainly not the first to comment on our breakfast and you really can be spoilt for choice, which is never a bad thing.

I am glad that the concierge team were able to assist you with your car parking and you enjoyed the fantastic ambience in the bar, especially when the pianist is performing. I will personally ensure that your kind comments are reported back to the staff.

Thanks again for taking the time to comment.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.3 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
1.1 km away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,882 - ₹ 25,795
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing