We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - spoilt by being bumped to another hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good hotel - spoilt by being bumped to another hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We booked this 2 night trip 5 months ago and we were really looking forward to our stay. Two days before we went we had a call to say a customer changed dates and we could not stay for the second night at the Grand. To say we were upset was un understatement. After a good 1/2 hour discussion we had got an upgraded room with sea view (which was lovely) a bottle of wine in our room (which I got changed to champagnee) and our luggage moved to the Hilton Metrolpole next door. The stay was spoiled by this. We had to ask for a late check out, 12 oclock as the hotel was closing at 12 oclock for the client who had taken over the whole hotel (it was William Hill !!!!)We had to pack and change for Brighton races and hurry as housekeeping kept knocking on the door at 11.oclock!. The staff were very good but we were disgusted that they could be so dismissive of us for a betting company!!! Obviously their money is more important than ours. We will not stay here again and will be complaing to them and the De Vere group. The review for the Hilton Metrolpole will reflect how bad that hotel was!!! very upset

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judithterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
I am extremely sorry to hear your comments. We are aware of your situation and my Deputy General Manager, Andi Hirons, who was on duty at the time, will be in contact with you to discuss your feedback in further detail and to ensure your faith in us is reinstated

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,100
    1,888
    996
    457
    221
See reviews for
1,143
3,510
177
691
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Cornard, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

what a great place. from walking through the door u can tell this place is a bit special. the decor is fantastic and the bed was huge. breakfast was to a high standad. totally enjoyed the whole thing. only 1 thing annnoyed me was when turning up at 3:30pm was still not able to check into my room

Room Tip: make the effort to go down stairs for breakfast as the room service breakfast left me still hungry
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your short review on TA.

I am really pleased to hear you received such a warm welcome and following this, had an enjoyable stay with us. I do apologise that you had to wait slightly longer than promised for your room. When the hotel is at full capacity and guests are perhaps leaving their rooms later then permitted, this problem can occur. Our reception and housekeeping teams do work hard to avoid this, but on the odd occasion this can unfortunately be out of their control.

We hope you decide to visit The Grand in the future.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We booked this hotel because we were using our open top car for a wedding and it had underground secure parking. (additional cost) We had a fantastic time. The room (630) was a good size and although a little tired and in need of a refurb it was nice. It was advertised as non sea view but we could see the sea and the old pier. The bed was two singles put together with an extra quilted cover over the top which made it soooo comfy. Breakfast was amazing! Such a vast range of food on the buffett. The only complaints were it was impossible to try all the good looking things without bursting and the coffee was not the best. The service was great. The boys who take car of the parking and garage were a fantastic help. The live piano music in the bar was lovely and the bar service was excellent, and the coffee here was great. The brandy glassess were preheated and placed over hot water. All in all a great stay for us.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor so reduced noise from the street room 630
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for writing following your stay at The Grand.

I am pleased you had such a fantastic time with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the great views of the seafront from the 6th floor.

You are certainly not the first to comment on our breakfast and you really can be spoilt for choice, which is never a bad thing.

I am glad that the concierge team were able to assist you with your car parking and you enjoyed the fantastic ambience in the bar, especially when the pianist is performing. I will personally ensure that your kind comments are reported back to the staff.

Thanks again for taking the time to comment.

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at the Grand about 18 months ago and although the suite was great, we found the service throughout the hotel to be lacking. This time however, it was a different story! The room was still great, very spacious, as was the bathroom. Facilities in the room as you would expect. The main change for us was the staff. Everyone was so happy and accomodating. It was a real pleasure to stay here. Just one negative, which I guess the hotel could not do much about, was that on the Friday night, a group of girls (possibly a hen party) was very discuptive in the bar. This caused us to retire early and we did notice that we were not the only ones! On the Saturday night it was back to how we expected it to be.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaJaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your recent review.

Our service is something that I feel sets us apart from our competitors, so I am pleased that you gave us the opportunity to demonstrate just how great our service is. Our teams do work tirelessly to achieve this, so I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on.

It is unfortunate that the behaviour of other guest in the bar disrupted your evening. Unlike many of our competitors, we do not obviously fall into the category of being a hen/stag party hotel, so it is very rare that we attract these sorts of groups. It would be the responsibility of our manager on duty to ensure that this kind of behaviour is controlled, so I will feed this back to the bar team and make sure that they are fully aware of this.

Thank you again for your comments and again I am pleased you opted to stay at The Grand for a 2nd time.

Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

No complaints, but the hotel is not worth the high prices charged. Would stay elsewhere in future.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bonnybluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your short review and I’m sorry to hear that you felt the prices were too high.

We take a great deal of time and care in ensuring our pricing levels represent value for money and are consistent with other hotels against whom we compete. We also set out to provide a quality experience by adding as much value to a guests stay as possible. Whilst I feel our pricing levels are an appropriate reflection of this we will, of course, take on board your feedback

Thank you again for writing

Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.3 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
1.1 km away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 km away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,730 - ₹ 25,940
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing