We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must seen in Brighton”
Review of Art of Treason

Art of Treason
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled upon this small gallery whilst visiting Brighton. We were very lucky as we got to see some really incredible large scale original drawings by Kelly Blevins, which were being photographed at the time, and are not normally all on show but some prints are available. Mark, the owner, knows his art inside out and is really helpful and friendly.
The pieces showcased in this gallery are groundbreaking, unusual and extremely tempting. This is definitely one of the best places to see in Brighton!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Owner at Art of Treason, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. I'm glad you like Kelly's art too! She's an incredibly talented artist and I'm hoping to bring her over from Pittsburgh again soon, for another show. Come back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This gallery is full of fabulous affordable original art and prints. It's very different from anything you see elsewhere. Absolutely beautiful. And the owner is the friendliest chap too. Well worth a visit if you are in Brighton.

Thank mdurand48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a brilliant gallery with a good selection of art . The curator / owner is also very welcoming , knowledgable and helpful . We would definitely recommend a visit !

Thank Loumai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Owner at Art of Treason, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

By far the best art gallery in Sussex with a fantastic collection of dark, unusual and strikingly beautiful artwork.

Any art lover fed up of looking at the same tired images over and over, should stop by and see this genuinely original gallery which showcases emerging and established artists.

Curated by ex record label boss (Jeepster) Mark Jones, the selection of fine art is outstanding and unlike anything you’ve seen before. He’s also a very friendly chap and nothing was too much trouble in advising me, to start building my collection.

I bought prints by Kelly Blevins and originals by Jim Sanders and Ian Hodgson, will never regret the investment.

Art of Treason is just 5 minutes from the Station and should definitely not be missed if you are in Brighton.

Thank dacello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Manager at Art of Treason, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you for your review. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

Art of Treason is one of a number of small private galleries in Gloucester Street between Brighton station and the Laines. Both its black pained exterior and some of the artworks within have a faintly Gothic quality. It specialises in local art of the edgy and provocative sort. Some impressive paintings and prints by Kellie Blevins. Think crouching female nudes with elephant and black panther heads. Ana Palares’ paintings look as though created by a Corneille on speed. Emma Hopkins’s foetal nude in a sphere holding a sphere. Good to find this gallery has found a home for local street artist REQ whose former gallery down the hill recently closed.

Thank futtock21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J, Owner at Art of Treason, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Thank you for your review Futtock. We remain committed to discovering and promoting art that is dark and beautiful which provokes a strong emotional response. Always on the lookout for local emerging artists that we can provide a platform for, to launch to a wider audience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Art of Treason also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Art of Treason? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing