We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Taunton Cottage in Swanage BayNew Year's Eve 2015”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - front entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - front entrance
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - back entrance Lounge/Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - front entrance
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - back entrance
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/Dining Room
Kitchen
Ground floor leading to outside lobby and boot area
First floor Double Bedroom
First floor Bunk Room
First floor Family Bathroom
First floor landing
Top floor Shower Room
Top floor bedroom
Entrance and outside Seating Area
Swanage main beach, sandy with shallow waters
Swanage beach
The famous Swanage Punch & Judy
Old Harry Rocks
Swanage Railway - Swanage to Corfe Castle
Beyond the Old Stone Quay towards the Lifeboat Station
Surrounding countryside a Hikers Paradise
Pumpkin Festival at the Square & Compass
The Blue Pool
Swanage - Victorian Seaside
View to Ballard Down
Fossil hunting at nearby Kimmeridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew W
2 reviews
“Taunton Cottage in Swanage BayNew Year's Eve 2015”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a lovely stay at Taunton Cottage in Swanage Bay. Mum and Dad, 2 kids and the grand parents. We all really loved the house and it's well equipped with everything we needed. Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms. Downstairs is a really great space to hang out in and cook and eat. It simply did everything we needed it to do and made New Year's Eve 2015 a memorable one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
557cathy
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cottage was central to the amenities in Swanage”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a good stay in the cottage, its very central to the amenities in Swanage. The cottage is clean and well presented. We did have a problem with hot water on the first night, whether that was because two of my party decided to take a bath and a shower at the same time - I don't know - we didn't repeat the situation tending to use only the shower and after the 4th shower hot water was running low. The lay out of the cottage is good but there are lots of stairs to the bedrooms so travel light! Also not much storage space, would benefit from waste paper bins and mirrors placed near to power points. The cottage sleeps 6 at a push but 3 is a more comfortable number. Not sure whether this was a temporary thing, but we were woken up early on Monday and Tuesday (08:00am) by the workshop that appears to be attached to the cottage or is part of the B&B

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Dear Cathy, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. We have tried to make it a home from home but will always try to improve anything we can. We are staying at the cottage ourselves this weekend and will check the water as it has never been a problem in the past. You mentioned noise from the bed and breakfast next door, but just wanted to say that there is no workshop there. The new owners have been refurbishing the house which is due to be completed this month. Regarding storage space each bedroom has been equipped to allow for two adults per room, with wardrobe space in each room and sets of drawers or shelves (the drawers are under the bed in master bedroom which you may not have seen). I don't really understand your comment that the cottage sleeps six at a push but that three is more comfortable. There are king size beds in two of the bedrooms and the room with the built in bunks has a large single to the top bunk and a small double on the bottom and previous guests have commented on the generous amount of space. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back again sometime. Kind regards Debbie and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thegracio...
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in a central location”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage is a two minute stroll from the sea, and also within easy walking distance of the shops, pubs and restaurants of Swanage. The parking space was a real boon as parking in the town is limited. That said, some days we didn't need to use the car as there were walks we could do direct from the cottage e.g. to Durlston Country Park.
The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed for our week's stay. As others have mentioned, a dishwasher would have been nice but washing up was not a problem although the kitchen tap is pretty fierce. The water pressure is a little high and if you are not careful you can take a shower inadvertently in the kitchen!
As well as being on three floors, there are also several steps between rooms on the same floor. This is part of the charm of the place but may not be ideal for people with mobility issues.
We would definitely use this cottage again if we come back to this lovely part of Dorset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great location, lovely cottage
Liked least: no bins upstairs, kitchen tap too fierce
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjd36
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was really nice ,spotlessly clean ,very well equipped and very close to everything in Swanage. I was very impressed with the 2 smart televisions which meant I could access Netflix. The cottage is spread over 3 floors with fairly steep stairs so is not ideal for anyone who has difficulty with stairs

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: smart tvs...convenience to shops/cafes etc
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincolnFr...
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great stay here, cottage is very nice, bigger than it looks on photos.and nicely decorated, key safe was a good idea, and communication from owner was very good.
looked clean overall, but some areas could have been better.
Please put some bins in upstairs, and also a full length mirror, there are two big mirrors but not full length, unless standing on a chair. there was a DVD player but no DVD'S and no guest book which is very unusual, but a nice selection of books and games.
Only thing that caused a problem was all the cushions on settee are feather,partner is allergic to feathers, and the feathers kept coming out, so had to move them, as was constantly sneezing within minutes of coming downstairs, but this would not stop us from staying again, as the location was brilliant , and so close to the chippy for a first night bag of chips on sea wall (Green Chippy is best ) and own parking space was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: own parking, & location
Liked least: feathers in cushions, and no towels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
So glad you liked the cottage and thank you for your review. I will make sure our housekeeper sees your comment as she prides herself on her cleaning and previously we have had only good comments. Thank you for your suggestions - it is always good when guests give us feedback as to what we can improve on so we can make changes if needed. Many thanks Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing