We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - front entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - front entrance
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - back entrance Lounge/Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - front entrance
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - back entrance
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/Dining Room
Kitchen
Ground floor leading to outside lobby and boot area
First floor Double Bedroom
First floor Bunk Room
First floor Family Bathroom
First floor landing
Top floor Shower Room
Top floor bedroom
Entrance and outside Seating Area
Swanage main beach, sandy with shallow waters
Swanage beach
The famous Swanage Punch & Judy
Old Harry Rocks
Swanage Railway - Swanage to Corfe Castle
Beyond the Old Stone Quay towards the Lifeboat Station
Surrounding countryside a Hikers Paradise
Pumpkin Festival at the Square & Compass
The Blue Pool
Swanage - Victorian Seaside
View to Ballard Down
Fossil hunting at nearby Kimmeridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LincolnFr...
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great stay here, cottage is very nice, bigger than it looks on photos.and nicely decorated, key safe was a good idea, and communication from owner was very good.
looked clean overall, but some areas could have been better.
Please put some bins in upstairs, and also a full length mirror, there are two big mirrors but not full length, unless standing on a chair. there was a DVD player but no DVD'S and no guest book which is very unusual, but a nice selection of books and games.
Only thing that caused a problem was all the cushions on settee are feather,partner is allergic to feathers, and the feathers kept coming out, so had to move them, as was constantly sneezing within minutes of coming downstairs, but this would not stop us from staying again, as the location was brilliant , and so close to the chippy for a first night bag of chips on sea wall (Green Chippy is best ) and own parking space was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: own parking, & location
Liked least: feathers in cushions, and no towels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
So glad you liked the cottage and thank you for your review. I will make sure our housekeeper sees your comment as she prides herself on her cleaning and previously we have had only good comments. Thank you for your suggestions - it is always good when guests give us feedback as to what we can improve on so we can make changes if needed. Many thanks Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We only stayed for 3 nights but, coupled with the unseasonal good weather, we had probably the best UK family break ever!
Our little boy loved going on the beaches collecting shells, the steam railway to Corfe Castle, the chain link ferry to Sandbanks, visiting Old Harry Rocks, the Brownsea Island boat trip, having ice-cream every day, and of course Swanage.
There are some really nice, but busy, cafes and the fish and chip shop is very good.
There is lots to do and the cottage is in a great spot. It is over three floors, but we only needed to use two. The beds were excellent and we even made a note of where they were from for our own house!
I agree with a previous review, the only down side to the stay was that there was no dishwasher because washing up was quite messy.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Hi James, so glad you had a great time and the weather was so good for you. I really hope we can a dishwasher sorted before next summer - it is more of a problem of layout than anything else. Many thanks and we hope to see you again. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y599DBjan...
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage near to beach and shops”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage was great for our family, five adults and 1 toddler. The facilities were good especially as it had two bathrooms, necessary with six people. the cottage was clean and tidy, it looked as though it had been recently decorated and new carpets. The only thing it lacked was dishwasher. Our grandson enjoyed playing with the buckets and spades.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is close to the beach and shops which was good for my husband as he is recovering from a recent illness
Liked least: There wasn't anything to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen D
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location, great for the family”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great time at Taunton cottage. The location is perfect for the beach and town. The cottage is spacious, excellently equipped and the new bunk /cabin bed is brilliant. The children were very happy and this then made us happy ! Would definitely recommend .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in great central location”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed staying at this cottage which looked newly decorated and carpeted. It was very comfortable. There was no dishwasher but we ate out a fair bit. Fish and chips was only 50m away and the beach slightly further. Great location within walking distance of everything in Swanage so we left the car at the house saving on parking charges.
A minor point was that there were no waste bins upstairs so we had to use plastic bags in the bathroom. Nice shower on the top floor.
There were building works going on in the adjoining B&B - scaffolding everywhere - but didn't disrupt us much. And the keys wouldn't open the front door without quite a bit of fiddling about. Maybe they haven't been cut exactly correctly. The key in the key box was fine though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Hi Ian, so glad you had a lovely holiday and thank you for your comments. We will always try to rectify any negatives if at all possible as soon as we can. We immediately had new keys cut when we realised they were sticking and they are fine now - so sorry you had a problem with them. The scaffolding is now down and we are pleased to hear it didn't disrupt you too much, it was beyond our control as our neighbours have been renovating their house. We do have plans to get a dish washer but finding a space has been a problem until we change the layout of our kitchen. Re bins I'm just funny about having lots of bins around the house, I'm the same at home! Glad you loved the location and the cottage and hope you will visit us again one day. Kind regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing