We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious cottage in an excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Baytree Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

da_edward...
Ledbury, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spacious cottage in an excellent location”
Reviewed 22 October 2019 for a stay in October 2019

We absolutely loved the cottage, it was really spacious both downstairs and the bedrooms and the views from the top floor bedroom are fantastic. Great location, only a five minute walk to the beach and to the train station. Can recommend the train to Corfe Castle, Putlake adventure farm and well worth taking a trip down to Shell Bay.

Date of stay: October 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2020
Hi David, I just wanted to say huge thanks for your wonderful review of our cottage - many thanks for coming and hope to see you again soon
Ellie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pt9500
Linton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great sunny week at Baytree”
Reviewed 2 September 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Beautiful weather greeted us for a wonderful stay at Baytree. We loved the feel of the house which was a perfect base for a family holiday. Highlights were the aga, the kids games and toys, the decking - great place to relax in the evening. Conveniently located close to the excellent Arkrights store, which sells all you need. Recommend stone carving at Burngate Stone carving centre, Langton Matravers - great fun for the kids and adults! Beach at Swanage never fails to disappoint, and Shell Bay we love its vistas - it’s our 5 th year in Swanage and this one of our favourite houses. Many thanks Ellie!

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2020
Hi long overdue but I just wanted to say huge thanks for your wonderful review of our cottage - many thanks for coming and hope to see you again soon
Ellie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Feels like home”
Reviewed 23 July 2019 for a stay in July 2019

We love this house!
This was our second year and it felt just like walking back into home.
It is so welcoming and cosy. Every need is catered for and the location is perfect.

Date of stay: July 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2019
Delighted you had such a good stay with us again. Ellie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excursion...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect family holiday let”
Reviewed 6 January 2019 for a stay in July 2018

Our stay at Baytree cottage was our fifth year in Swanage. We absolutely love everything about it for a UK family holiday.
After years of trying different places Baytree finally ticked all the boxes!!
Warm, welcoming, cosy, everything that you could want from a holiday home for a family.
The cottage was stocked full of all the amenities that we could need. The location was perfect, right in the older part of Swanage and the shop across the road was so handy!
It is even more beautiful than the photos show as there is so much character in the property. The little touch of a bottle of wine and some local chutney was the perfect welcome after a long drive!
Will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2019
Thank you so much for your really kind review. We try hard to make it a home from home so we were very pleased to see your comments. Thanks again.
Ellie and Tim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture77...
1 review
“Great location and accommodation for a family Christmas”
Reviewed 1 January 2019 for a stay in December 2018

All 3 generations enjoyed the cottage and location for a family Christmas getaway. The kitchen and living room were warm and spacious with the Aga and wood burner. The place is extremely well equipped with everything we needed, including kitchen scales and pastry brush for our first experience of aga-cooking. We gradually improved over the week as we got used to the ovens and hobs! We enjoyed coastal walks to Studland, Durleston and Dancing Ledge. The weather was mild and we even enjoyed a very quick swim in the sea.We would definitely come back again.

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2019
Thank you so much for your lovely review - so glad that you had everything you needed for Christmas cooking. You should be applauded for getting in the sea! We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Thanks again Tim and Ellie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.