We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy, bijou property, real flame fires...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of COTTAGE IN SWANAGE

cosy lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
cosy lounge
AL FRESCO DINING! GARDEN GETS SUN ALL DAY
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
cosy lounge
AL FRESCO DINING! GARDEN GETS SUN ALL DAY
House is 5 mins walk from town/beach and steam train !
KITCHEN WITH WASHING MACHINE/DRYER, DISHWASHER,COFFEE MACHINE
TWIN BEDROOM
BUNK ROOM
KIDS LOVE THEIR LOUNGE IN ROOF WITH SEA VEIW and another wc
HOUSE AREA MILL POND
SUNNY COURTYARD GARDEN
NATIONAL TRUST STUDLAND BAY -NICE CAFE
SWANAGE RAILWAY TRIPS TO CORFE CASTLE 5 MINS WALK FROM HOUSE
FISHING OFF THE PIER, KAYAKING FOR THE DAY
STUDLAND BEACH SAND DUNES AND WALKS
WALK TO DURLSTON  CASTLE FROM HOUSE ALONG THE COASTPATH PAST THE LIGHTHOUSE
OLD HARRY ROCKS FROM SWANAGE
SWANAGE PIER
SWANAGE BLUE FLAG BEACH
SWANAGE BAY
NATURE RESERVE 300M FROM HOUSE
SWANAGE BEACH BY BULL & BOAT RESTUARANT
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ShadowWSo...
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfy, bijou property, real flame fires & boutique hotel decor”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Expect a bit of a tardis when you rent this house, lovely victorian cottage, bijou & boutique hotel restful decor, though still room for 6 with ease. Attic room is a boon for teenagers or a man cave! 10 minutes stroll to the seafront, 'corner' shop 2 minutes away and restaurants and pubs a plenty, you can forget the car and walk for all of your stay unless you want to go out of Swanage. We found the location very quiet and peaceful, we especially enjoyed the gas fires on the chilly October evenings (not that the heating wasn't totally adequate - just a fire is so cosy!) Owner Alison has thought of everything, a lovely weeks rest in a beautiful seaside town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, open fires, attic room, plenty of rooms to spread out.
Liked least: amount of references to the chopping WC's
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage
Liked least: Parking a little difficult, takes a little patience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
victoria...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You couldn't find a better Swanage holiday cottage to stay in”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was clear to me when organising my trip to Swanage that the owner Alison was helpful and cheerful to deal with. But it was only when I stayed in the cottage that I realised how clever she was too. Alison has thought of everything you could possibly need even if you haven't thought about it yourself. She absolutely knows what makes a good holiday - from the takeaway menus, the DVD's and games to the welcome giftbag, easy to follow instructions around the house and great finishing touches. As a very recent first time mum who had never been away to a holiday cottage before I can say that the cottage has everything to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. Alison goes above and beyond. Everything works and you don't need to think when you are there as she has done that for you. The cottage is beautifully decorated and yet very comfortable and cosy. I am known for being extremely hard to please but the cottage surpassed all my expectations. If you want a break from real life then Swanage and this cottage are perfect and the owner is a worthy winner of the tripadvisor award. I don't think you could find a better place to stay in Swanage. Now please don't all book it up the week I want to come back next year...

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon N
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal cottage for a young family, close to everything and really clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a delightful stay here. The cottage is in an ideal location, close enough to walk to everything you need to in Swanage, but far enough away to avoid any bustle at the busiest times. The photos are totally accurate, the cottage is clean, well thought out and spacious for a family (6 would still be very comfortable) and they have thought of everything to make the stay as easy as possible, such as equipment for the beach, toys and books for children, and a fantastic hidden away 'snug'.
Alison was helpful and prompt to deal with, and I really felt like I could contact her at anytime. The helpful books and walks meant that I could plan my runs, and I found helpful shortcuts up onto the Purbecks which are stunning.
Swanage is a perfect size for a young family, safe beaches, lovely green spaces to run free, steam train, fair and plenty to do around if it rains. We had a wonderful wonderful time and will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and the facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin S
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Gem”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely property in a great location. Perfect for town and the beach but still quiet. Garden is a nice little sun trap. Lots of nice personal little touches. We all had a lovely time and will be recommending to family and friends.
Sometimes, you luckily find a gem, this is one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing