We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic little retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Summers day at The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summers day at The Stables
The Stables with view of the tennis court and the Hay Barn The Stables and winter log store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Summers day at The Stables
The Stables with view of the tennis court and the Hay Barn
The Stables and winter log store
Sumptuous kings size bed with deep 1400 pocket sprung mattress and soft 400 count pure cotton linen.
Cosy living area and breakfast room
Log burner and ample supply of logs for cold winter nights! Stables doors open to a sunny patio.
Well Equipped Kitchen.
Modern Bathroom With Large Shower.
Nothing better than a Summer complimentary Cream tea if your ETA is between 2.30 and 5.00pm
Our home and The Stables
View of the paddock
Some of the animals who share our paddock
More Of Clare Cottage
Orphan Lambs
The Beautiful Valley We Call Home
If You Are Up Early Our Sunrise Can Be Breath Taking Too.
The Stunning Sunests At The Village Of Stowell.
What Ever The Weather Is Doing There Is Always A Warm Welcome At The Stables At Clare Cottage.
For A Special Occasion Why Not Take A Balloon Ride
The Arresting  Beauty Of The Jurassic Coast.  Taken From Above The Village Of Abbotsbury.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kiwichik
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic little retreat”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Stables were fantastic. Sarah was very friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and very comfortable. Excellent location and within walking distance to an excellent pub (King's Arms). The breakfast hamper was amazing!! I would recommend getting it.
Definitely will return as such a lovely and welcoming place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Breakfast Hamper & George
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2012
Thank you for your glowing review, we really did enjoy having you as guests and will look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcham, Surrey
Reviewed 13 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and accomodation
Liked least: no negatives for us
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2012
Thank you for your kind review . We are pleased the accommodation and location were to you liking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It All
Liked least: my only critism was not having a TV or Radio
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2012
Thank you for your review, we were pleased to share this quiet and peaceful corner of Dorset with you. Glad to have been of help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The breakfast hamper
Liked least: Rainy weather!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2012
We are happy to hear your stay was all you hoped for and the breakfast was an experience worth having. Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tennyson1...
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place we will revisit.........”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Myself and my husband thoroughly enjoyed our stay at "The Stables". We especially liked the experience of seeing the newly born orphaned lambs and the dedication of Sarah and her family in ensuring that they would be well looked after and strong enough to fend for themselves. The hospitality shown to us from our arrival to our departure was second to none and I have got to say that the breakfast that we were able to order from Sarah was exceptional - a must !

Everything about our stay was faultless and the surrounding area and its Gastro Pubs are by far some of the best we have experienced in some time. I look forward to a return visit and can strongly recommend it to anyone thinking about booking this rental property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cannot pinpoint one aspect of the holiday but if I had to then the comfort of the bed:)
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2012
Thank you for your very generous review. We are glad your stay was a memorable experience, your arrival was perfect timing and it was lovely to be able to share the joy of new life on our smallholding with you. Since your visit we have added to the clan with three delightful goslings, but I am sure they think they are sheep! And five happy little pigs, who reside in my friends wood just down the road.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing