We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Enchanting House To Stay In.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manor House - Front aspect Banqueting table in Dining Hall with beautiful exposed stairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The Manor House - Front aspect
Banqueting table in Dining Hall with beautiful exposed stairs
Large sitting room with ample seating and an open fireplace
Games room with pool table Wii and piano
Four oven AGA lit all year round
Large farmhouse kitchen
Small sitting room
Main stairs
Master suite with four poster and bath tub in the room!
Master tub
Garden facing room
Master suite
Rear facing bedroom
Private and secluded front aspect
Beautiful summer wedding
Front lawn with traditional style marquee
Front lawn with traditional style marquee
attic rooms 6ft head height
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clockit14
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Enchanting House To Stay In.”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The helpfulness of the owners in all our enquiries were exemplary.
On arrival we were greeted with such cheerfulness by the owner - who could not have been more agreeable.
The Manor House was all, if not more than we had hoped for, crisp and clean, wild flowers arranged in pretty little pots in the bedrooms, comfortable, large rooms with everything one needs for a stay away, plenty of equipment thoughout the house, (loved the pantry) the games room, indoors and in the stable provided endless entertainment. The grounds were a country haven for wandering, playing croquette, tennis, or just sitting with a glass of wine.
The added attraction of the walled garden next door, with its beautifully kept flora and fauna and the Dove Cote café for a scrumptious coffee and home made cake....
We had a perfect time with all the family and our guest, enjoying stylish country living, even the canines members of the party were relaxed. We would recommend this to lovers of the country for a special place to stay. We will return!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark l
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in April 2014

stayed at this lovely place in April last year 2014. We were 3 families and 2 dogs. Total 16 humans.
The weather was fantastic which helped make the stay all the more memorable. The house is great, grounds fantastic. Lovely walks.

Would defiantly go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldofji...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cut above”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a friend's birthday weekend here. A gorgeous, really spacious property set in lovely grounds admist the stunning Dorset countryside. The house was a joy and cooking on the aga was a pleasure. It was the first time we have cooked on one but we were able to bang out a really good dinner for 16 people with relative ease. There is a dining table that easily accommodated us all which lent a really rustic, communal feel to our celebration. Would definitely recommend and I would love to go again.

I accidentally left my coat behind and the landlady, Tabitha, couldn't have been more accommodating in offering to send this all the way to Brighton for me. Exceptional!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroline...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Property: Highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Manor House for my Boyfriends surprise 40th Birthday (18 people). The house was fantastic and perfect for a group celebration. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a special property with wow factor. The owners Tabitha and Henry booked Clay Pigeon Shooting for us locally and couldn't do enough to help us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen, great space and everything you could need. Dining room was also fantastic
Liked least: The property was quite hard to fins, but we did arrive in the dark
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie S
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a celebration”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful weekend at The Manor House to celebrate my boyfriend's 30th with 12 of our friends + 2 little people and a dog. The house has a ton of space, plenty of rooms to relax in and a brilliant dining area with a huge table which easily coped with the 14 of us. Tabitha kindly recommended Louisa Loasby to cater for our dinner party on the Saturday night we were not disappointed and enjoyed a fantastic 3 course meal. If you are looking for somewhere for a family get together, a break with friends or to celebrate a special occasion I would definitely recommend The Manor House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing