We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for family and pets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #61 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for family and pets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Went there last year summer time and i an honestly say it was a brilliant place to stay, dog friendly, brilliant breakfast, 5 minutes walk from seaside and great for value, the owners were so polite and hospitable. Planing to go there again and personally my advise for pet owners out there it is a great place for your pets and i woudl go there every year, personally my personal openion they are undercharged for there rooms as the rooms are great and very comfertable sorry my english is not very good. ut i think i done well :)

Room Tip: Most room are beautiful i took a look to a quiet few of them and it was very hard to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora462005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    61
    12
    11
    9
See reviews for
39
102
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Enjoyable stay for a stag weekend! Friendly staff, clean room and comfortable. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockcml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Hotel is in the perfect location for the town centre,seafront or the Bic.
Jorge the owner is very friendly and helpful and pointed us in the direction of the Atlantico Portuguese resteraunt for our evening meal which was very nice.
The room was spotless and the breakfast very nice.
Will definitely stay there again next time we go to a show at the Bic

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobymarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here for one night en-route to visit friends in kent, was promised en suite with bath however only shower available, was still good value though since they didnt charge any extra for our 2 dogs and cooked a good full english breakfast with plenty of extra tea coffee and toast. good for overnight stay but would be a bit cramped for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My sister and I recently spent Saturday and Sunday night 28/29 January to celebrate my birthday on a short break in Bournemouth. Hotel very good, (on the West Cliff side) very clean, twin room number 8 2nd floor (top), small room but very clean and well decorated as was all the hotel, lovely large shower, good hotwater, efficient heater to bedroom, turned on before our return and curtains drawn - nice touches. Excellent all English breakfast, friendly staff. Equal distance to town centre/seafront, very convenient location. Noise from younger guests only on Saturday night but expected. Free parking at rear of hotel but extremley tight entry for larger vehicles. Short walk down small hill to both seafront/pier and town/shops/winter gardens but easy going. Lunch at Key West on Pier good, dinner in local indian restaurant (across main road) good, dinner in local Portugese restaurant, (Atlantico recommended by Portugese hotel owners) excellent (cod in white wine sauce to die for as was Portugese white wine recommended). We visited the Russel Cotes Museum, recommended by a friend, just up small hill on East Cliff - absolutely superb, - a must see, free entry, wonderful architecture/history/art gallery with superb views across pier and bay. Obvsiously in January a few restaurants/etc were not open but still so much to see and do in such a lovely town with the most amazing beach and clifftops walks. This hotel (no bar though) is a lovely value for money, very clean and friendly place whose aim is to please (we were asked if the owners could improve on anything before leaving), in a very central location with free parking - what's not to like!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plantoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 km away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 km away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.0 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#97 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#72 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#83 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hedley Townhouse
The Hedley Townhouse
#34 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Property: Shirley Hotel
Address: 81 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,191 - ₹ 6,873
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley Hotel. This family run Bournemouth B&B is situated on the favored West Cliff. It offers great value for money in this wonderful location being just five minutes walk from Bournemouth town centre with its shops, cinemas, theatre, restaurants and bars. Not forgetting our close proximity to the seven glorious miles of award winning sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shirley Hotel Bournemouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing