We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home hospitality”
Review of Charlesworth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charlesworth Hotel
Ranked #71 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“home from home hospitality”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Booked this hotel via laterooms.com, price was good for 2 nights bed and breakfast over Easter. Not the most modern hotel we had ever been to but by far the most friendly. The hosts, Brian and Wendy were so accomodating with room choice. We didnt have a brilliant nights sleep as Bournemouth is a magnet for hen and stag parties, but i wouldnt dream of badmouthing people out enjoying themselves, afterall,enjoyment was why we were there in the first place.
Breakfast was cooked to order and was so much better than anywhere i had been in this country. It was to die for. First day i had smoked salmon and scrambled egg, it was delicious. My husband is a fussy eater but that didnt phase the hosts, they pulled out all the stops for him. Second day i had the full English and needless to say it was perfect.
We would not hesitate to go back, only drawback, the hotel is at the top of a very steep hill, ok going down but after walking back on the first night, it was not a major decision to get a taxi on the second night.
Had a very nice meal in Aruba bar and restaurant, a bit clubby and once again lots of stags and hens but there was no trouble at all.
Congratulations to the Charlesworth, you made our short stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid the smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldie-Pit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    29
    17
    8
    14
See reviews for
27
71
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have stayed with Brian and Wendy on several occasions and we always get a warm welcome, the best breakfast ever, lovely clean comfortable beds, and clean rooms etc etc. Plenty of tea and coffee etc everything you could wish for.

Thanks a lot Brian and Wendy. See you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happylady02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed for one night and think Wendy and Brian do a great job. They were very welcoming and our room, although basic, was very clean and quiet. Our bed was very comfortable and breakfast the next morning was fresh and tasty. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked this hotel having stayed years ago and reading some good reviews.Our welcome was lovely from wendy but the room we had was very dissapionting.For the price we paid we expect basic facilities,even accepting the shabby decor and peeling wallpaper border,but we also expect it to be clean,which it was not!The room had been hoovered in the middle but round the edges was at least a months worth of fluff containing other peoples hairs!!The windowsills behind the bed were filthy as was the shower.Also we found cigarette burns in the carpet and bedlinen.Such a shame as the breakfast was nice and Wendy and Brian a lovely couple.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevangWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Chris and I stayed at The Charlesworth in September for one night on our tour of the South Coast. We specifically booked this hotel because, as smokers, the ability to be able to smoke indoors means a lot. The room was large and airy with all the facilities you could want, plenty of tea and coffee, comfy bed and great shower. It was quiet with very little outdoor noise even though we had the window open. The breakfast was amazing, the best I've had for a very long time. We didn't meet Brian but Wendy was lovely and very helpful, giving us information about eating places in the local area. I would definitely stay here again. It is a very reasonably priced hotel with everything you could need for a good trip. We'll be back, don't change your smoking policy....please!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisnPat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 km away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
396 reviews
0.1 km away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
302 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ullswater Hotel
Ullswater Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
0.1 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#91 of 132 in Bournemouth
152 reviews
0.1 km away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#66 of 132 in Bournemouth
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlesworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlesworth Hotel

Property: Charlesworth Hotel
Address: 35 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,699 - ₹ 8,658
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlesworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlesworth Hotel is a family run Bed & Breakfast Hotel, close to the Beach,Shops,Bars & Restaurants (only a few minuites walk. Couples/Families only. NO STAG/HENS!!) Parking available on the premises £5 per day. Smoking rooms available (not family rooms) £5 per stay. Pet friendly - £5 per stay. All rooms have en-suite shower facilities, Freeview TV, T/Coffee facilities and Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Charlesworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlesworth Hotel Bournemouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing