We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,398)
Filter reviews
2,397 results
Traveller rating
816
843
425
182
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
843
425
182
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse sunday carvery sea view indoor pool coach party restaurant manager coach trip sister hotel next door bit dated evening meal reception staff the cliff short break air show cumberland hotel self service enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 2,397 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed over the Easter holidays , we were asked if we wanted a upgrade to a sea view which we accepted for a extra £20 per night . The upgrade room was not what we had , the room we were given didn't have a working TV , hand towels in the bathroom no bath towels , draws didn't open and the four potter bed blocked the TV . To be fair the maintained man came to fix the TV , but it didn't work when we came back in the evening . We complained to the manager who offered us a different room but as we only had one night left (2 night stay ) she gave us the extra payment back and sorted out the towels , she also said that they were having a refurb later in the year . The staff were very friendly and helpful

Room tip: The sea view is good
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LynneA235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Lynne,

Thank you for your review. Thank you for complimenting our staff - they do work hard indeed to satisfy all guests.

Our sincere apologies for the problems in the room that you experienced. I am glad that everything was resolved for you! Thank you for your comments - we highly appreciate your feedback.

We will be going through a full refurbishment at the end of this year, so hopefully next time you visit us, we will be able to offer you a nicer product. Please do not hesitate to book directly with our Reservations Team to personalise your booking and to get one of our latest offers.

Kindest Regards
Julia Sulimenko
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We were booked with two friends on a three night DBB short break when the snow came. We realised that we were unable to travel home.
The hotel booked us the extra night with no hassle, we even had the same rooms.
Throughout our stay our rooms were warm and comfortable. The food at all meals was piping hot with plenty of chouce.

Room tip: The single rooms booked for our friends were small but adequate for their needs
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear CandLJ,

Thank you for taking your time to post a great review about your experience at our hotel and your 5 stars! We are glad that your stay was enjoyable and you had a great time at our hotel. We really hope for your visit again in the nearest future, so to get one of our latest offers please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations Team on 01202 298350.

Kindest Regards
Julia Sulimenko
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This hotel was in a perfect location for the seafront. In 10-15 minutes you can reach the main pier. The rooms were cosy albeit a bit dated. We ate breakfast & dinner in the hotel and both were nice. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety. I would recommend this hotel to family & friends.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Jessica,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are happy that overall you had a great stay and you would not hesitate to visit us again and recommend our hotel to your friends and family.

We hope for your visit in the nearest future so to get the best rate available, please contact our Reservations Team directly on 01202298350.

Kindest Regards
Julia Sulimenko
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Very warm welcome, arrived very early but reception sorted our room out as quickly as possible. Sat in pub style bar while waiting for house keeping. Had a very nice cup tea and great sandwich’s. tried out the indoor pool due to weather being very British indeed, pool very warm. So far very nice.
Follow up review at end of our stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I8939EKpauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Paul,

What a wonderful review! Thank you for your nice comments! We are glad that even in this snowy weather you felt nice and warm in our hotel. We hope for your next visit in the future, so to get one of our latest offers please do not hesitate to contact our Reservations Team on 01202 298350.

Kindest Regards
Julia Sulimenko
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Hotel was fine and the room was comfortable. Breakfast was ok, buffet style but fruit was from a can and there was no cheese. The hotel was very busy and parking was always full. Television was not working properly and most channels had no signal.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jsulimenko, Front Office Manager at The Suncliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear cambear68,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all guest feedback as without it we cannot improve our service and facilities. Your comments about the breakfast will be passed to our Head Chef.

Our sincere apologies about the TV signal - we did experience some issues with the aerials so your room was not the only one. However, our Maintenance team tried their best to fix the issue but it was a problem of much bigger scale.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future to the Suncliff - please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we can personalise your booking and offer you a good price.

Kindest Regards
Julia Sulimenko
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews