We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Has potential.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #32 of 69 Hotels in Bournemouth
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Has potential.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel has the potential to be very good but they need to get their customer service right. Being a Marriott Rewards member and therefore staying in Marriott hotels on a regular basis, I have come to expect a certain standard of the Marriott brand and this particular hotel falls short. Unfortunately, despite the spacious rooms, lovely location and good restaurant and leisure facilities it falls down on the all-important customer service. If I hadn't seen the signage, I would never have believed it to be part of the Marriott chain.
On the positive side, the restaurant is good and has some very efficient and personable staff who do their jobs well, as you would expect of Marriott. However, the front of house staff definitely need to step up their game and realise they are supposed to be working in a service industry and are there to ensure the best possible experience for their guests.
Be warned - if you arrive by car, it is highly possible you will fail to find a parking space, especially if there is any kind of wedding/function taking place.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a suite - the extra space is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    454
    221
    96
    57
See reviews for
247
548
31
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Highcliffe is a Hotel run as a Hotel should be, I spent many years working in the Hotel and Restaurant business, this is everything a Hotel should be. It is immaculate, well run, And worth the price tag. The Breakfast is buffet style but if you want anything, nothing is to much trouble.

Room Tip: We paid £30 extra for a sea view and it was worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had some airmiles to use up and decided to spend them on a one night stay here, quite different from our usual hotel stays which is usually a premier inn or similar, but a real treat. Very grand & luxurious, attentive staff. Lovely big room with sitting area, amazingly soft bed, though views were of a side street - however we did expect that sea views would be saved for superior rooms/suites. Seemed to be a great deal of facilities for business users, took a look at the pool/fitness area seemed nice though we did not use. highlight of the stay was breakfast the next morning, we were asked if we wanted to take breakfast on the terrace, what a lovely surprise - fantastic views and warm sunshine and blue skies! food was also very tasty and of good quality and a great selection to choose from. tea and coffee frequently topped up for us by friendly waitress too. we easily found a spot to park on the road just next to the hotel, we arrivedabout 4.30pm, it was free parking for two hours and then unlimited between 6pm-10am so we did not have too pay parking charges which was handy. overall a very nice stay :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Baker05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I have used this hotel several times on business when we generally stay for 3 nights. We have never been let down. On this most recent stay, the service was - as ever - friendly and first class, the room was clean with all the facilities expected and needed, and food in the restaurant was to a high standard. Not the cheapest hotel available but I don't mind paying to be treated well - and the location is stunning.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAscot264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

we enjoyed very good service from william ( from malta) at the terrace on a tuesday lunch time.
the lounge menu has a large selection of dishes from light snacks to full main courses. all four dishes we chose were very good and well presented,we also had wine and coffee all served with a smile .the terrace has fantastic views of the west cliff sea and when the sun is shining its perfect spot, with glass screens to protect you from the breeze.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatdrinkstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 69 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
1.6 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 69 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 69 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.4 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.4 km away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 69 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel

Property: Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Address: 105 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#23 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,219 - ₹ 16,275
Hotel Class:4 star — Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping sea views, an exquisitely detailed lobby and outstanding staff welcome you to the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel. Located adjacent to from the Bournemouth International Centre on the Dorset coastline, we offer a setting that both business and leisure travellers will appreciate. Richly appointed guest rooms offer supreme comfort and secure high-speed Internet. In summer, the sun terrace and outdoor pool provide the perfect retreat. Wifi is available free of charge in the lobby, lounge and bar to all hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Bournemouth
Bournemouth Marriott
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing