We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carrington House Hotel
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed two nights on a reduced rate. Once our turn came round check in took a reasonable amount of time. Our room was on the third floor which meant taking the lift with our bags. The lift was small, slow and we did wonder whether it would make it! On opening the door to our room we were greeted with a decent sized space to be honest but furnished with only a bed and some built in storage. The TV was the usual small size which couldn't really be watched from the twenty feet away from the head of the bed to the far end of the room where it was placed. The bathroom was basic but functional with a shower over the bath. Breakfast was buffet style but the hot selection was served by one of the staff. The breakfast menu looks a lot more extensive and better than it actually was. On our second morning I felt like we were in the way of the staff as they set up for lunch around us. Clattering cutlery and crockery didn't make for a relaxing Sunday breakfast!
I'm glad we didn't pay the full rate!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    238
    296
    192
    341
See reviews for
266
411
54
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Had a nice stay here for a long weekend back in March. I was visiting my brothers and was born in Dorset so I know the area like a 2nd home.

- Reception staff were very polite
- Handy swimming pool
- Lovely buffet breakfast
- Comfy bed and warm shower

I agree that its dated but we are there to sleep right so why let the decor bother you? unless you dont plan to leave the hotel for your entire stay! The one gripe is that parking spaces are full Friday and Saturday night. I nearly got caught on the Saturday night but by Sunday it was dead again

Its also only a 10 minute walk from the train station which was very handy

On and to the reviewer xmarksthespot I found your review pathetic and untrue based my stay and I doubt you stayed at this hotel at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I travelled to the Carrington House Hotel to stay overnight before a meeting there, and have to say that it's got very little going for it (polite reception staff and proximity to Bournemouth station - 10 minute walk - being about the only redeeming features). It is badly in need of an overhaul. A particularly nice shock when turning for the night to find MOULD on the bed linen. The hotel manager was apologetic the next morning but seemed to think that the fact he'd fed back to the laundry staff was enough - well, it wasn't, and apparently the Carrington aren't prepared to negotiate once the problem's fixed. Breakfast average and slightly disorganised. Work may require me to go to the Carrington again, but I'm certain I won't be staying there - which seems crazy, I know, but overall left a pretty bad impression.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solentblue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is very nice overall, good location, we enjoyed our stay and breakfast is good.

Could do with bar staff that are more readily available instead of having to ring a bell for service then having to wait 5 or so minutes for service. we were not the only people that thought this as we had a conversation with another couple that were waiting. Potential lost revenue.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turn3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just got home from an excellent line dance weekend at the Carrington House Hotel at Bornemouth. The hotel is not as bad as some people make out. We had a decent room in the front of the hotel on the first floor. Did ask for twin beds but got a double,but as it was only for sleeping put up with it, the mattress was very hard, the sheets and pillow cases were nice and clean. Slept very well with no disturbances from other hotel guests. Tea and coffee in the room topped up daily and the room kept nice and clean. Good flat screen Samsung television although a small screen, controller excellent in one piece with batteries and worked. Good selection of programmes.
The bathroom was in good order with a good shower over the bath. At peak times the water does run hot and cold which necessitates quick moves on the taps. Bathroom could do with a magnifier mirror. Towels were changed as required daily.
Dining room and meals were ok,the breakfast as previously mentioned was excellent. Staff work very hard to keep up with the meals.
Reception staff were very polite and helpful and delt with my question on why I had to pay for WiFi which I thought was very excessive BT. Did not use this service as most hotels supply this service for free.
Excellent ballroom (Ambassador) with nice round tables,first class dance floor. Tea, Coffee and cold water supplied, bar facilities if required.
Not a bad hotel, worth the money we paid. Will stay again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Talgidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,966 reviews
2.4 km away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
475 reviews
1.6 km away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
396 reviews
0.8 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,450 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington House Hotel

Property: Carrington House Hotel
Address: Knyveton Rd, Bournemouth BH1 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,133 - ₹ 24,282
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrington House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carrington House Hotel, close to the town centre and all Bournemouth's top attractions, is situated on a quiet pine tree lined avenue on the East Cliff side of Bournemouth - perfect for a weekend break or short sightseeing trip. The hotel is close to both the railway and coach station and is only a ten-minute drive from Bournemouth Airport.There is so much to see and do in Bournemouth and its surrounding area, that you are bound to be back again and again whether it is a relaxing short break in Bournemouth that you are after, a cosmopolitan city break, or a weekend break for sight seeing and fun, Carrington House Hotel is an ideal base for all your activities.The hotel has 145 en-suite bedrooms, including 42 purpose-built family rooms plus conference and banqueting facilities for up to 700, a heated indoor swimming pool, table tennis, pool, table football and free parking for 85 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Bournemouth
Carrington House Hotel Bournemouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing