We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Two nights B&B, plus brasserie meals. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful thereafter. Hotel very well appointed and relaxing. Other staff polite and generally attentive.

Slight mess-up on booking for a meal - after a delay, still didn't get the table we had previously asked for. But everyone was apologetic, and this didn't detract much from the stay.

Creaky floorboards were a minor issue.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACROTERION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Acroterion, thank you for posting a great review. Its graet to hear all boxes are ticked, we have just been appointed as the AA highest 3 star in town at 88% and are delighted. Apolgies RE table location and booking, with two restaurants, very rarely we do get misunderstandings on an odd reservation, glad they sorted quickly for you and hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,872 - 2,876 of 3,611 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

me, my partner and little girl had a lovely 3 nights there :) we were only staying 2 nights at 1st but liked it so much we booked there and then for an extra night :) my little girl is only 9months old and the provided a travel cot for her and did a lovely job cleaning the room everyday. we was aloud to use the suncliff hotels indoor swimming pool as it was too cold to use the cumberlands outdoor one. the hotel is close to the sea and not far from the pier. the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful there and there is a lovely atmosphere around. on our checking out day me and my lil girl had an accident, we fell and she bumped her head on the concrete floor and the staff and manager was excelent and very helpful by getting ice for her head and asking if we drove or wanted a taxi to hospital, but we drove and they gave us directions to get to the hospital :)

Room Tip: higher floors are always the best for views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Katie M, loveley to hear you extended your stay as you were enjoying so much. Your comments are much appreciated, and the GM Helder, was happy to assist your little girl, he has a 3 year old himself and is quite relaxed at dealing with small children, hope the bump is ok now and please come back for longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Went to the Cumberland hotel for Sunday lunch and have to say the value for money was great. We had a four course lunch including coffee, for under £20 a head. Ave to sy we are going again .

Room Tip: You just have to try it yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Graet to hear you are returning to our Traditional Roast sunday lunch, at £16.95pp, we feel its great value and we are always busy, see you very soon and thanks for posting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had chosen this hotel as it looked fairly close to New Forest, the beach, had an indoor swimming pool and most important a family room.

The day before coming over it was clear that the weather was going to be terrible at best. When I tried to cancel or modify the booking (first via booking.com, then directly with the hotel) the message was clear; no way, you'll be invoiced the full stay as soon as you arrive and whatever you decide to do. This was mentioned on the booking.com website but I had expected some understanding just 6 hours after the deadline.
I was very disappointed by this attitude and the lack of flexibility.
The manager even didn't bother to talk to me to explain why this very customer unfriendly approach. Eventually we (had to) come over and had almost non-stop rain.

However I must admit that the hotel was fairly good.

Things I liked:
* The lobby,
* The decoration in the bar,
* Our room (nicely redecorated with flat screen and nice view),
* The restaurant (the food wasn't very high standard but OK, drinks were very expensive!)
* and the people working in the hotel who were very nice and friendly.

Points I didn't like:
* Parking much to small. When we arrived, the parking was utterly packed. It was raining cats & dogs and had to park almost a km away (paid parking). Later (after the weekend) some places did free up.
* The rather small indoor swimming pool was all right but in next doors hotel (a lot of chlorine int he water).
* Door of our room didn't close properly.
* no safety deposit box in the room
* Our bathroom was very basic with a very old shower. A small investment here could do wonders.

All in all we had a good time (except foe the weather).
Its just sad that it had to start with a bad impression.

Room Tip: Beware of reservation conditions. We had a room with a view which was worth while seeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Axel P, Thank you for your post and good comments regarding the hotel. I am sorry you were upset with booking.com cancellation policy. May I first say that if you choose to book via a third party site, you must also cancel through them. It is policy in most hotels, airlines etc, that if you should cancel less than 24 hours before arrival, you do pay for the first evening, it leaves the hotel very little time to re-sell your room, and we were very busy this week, also we had no control over this as you did book through booking.com! You must also understand that if guests in the uK were able to cancel less than 24 hours before arrival due to weather, we would all be in a spot of bother in Northern Europe!
All in all I am pleased you had a good stay, and glad you enjoyed the hotel and Dorset.
I would suggest in future if you do have any issues at a hotel, that you contact the manager, we are very customer focussed at Cumberland, and any guest comments or maintenance issues are dealt with very quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We only had one night stay at the hotel ,and when staying before we had an upgraded room .This time we had a normal double and were not disapointed ,The change to lux shower gel /soap is a nice new touch ,as is key cards to get into your room .
Breakfast was lovely with a large choice of foods.I like the change with Tea and Coffee being brought to your table .My only complaint was we didn't stay longer .
But look forward to going back for our christmas party weekend .

Room Tip: Top floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mills1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

I really enjoyed reading your review, particularly from someone who has stayed many times. Its good to hear your perspectives on our changes and improvements. The serving of Tea and Coffee at breakfast was requested by the AA, our bathroom products have improved, and the 100K replacement of our hotel doors and rfdi locks have all added to our added experience at the Cumberland. After a mystery visit this week, the hotel was awarded an 88% Merit score by the AA, the highest 3 star rating in Bournemouth and Dorset, and the Ventana was also awarded 2 rosettes for its food, we are delighted. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
218 reviews
0 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,112 reviews
0.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,061 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.5 km away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: ₹ 3,728 - ₹ 15,433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth
The Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing