We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Marsham Court Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramar(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green House(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Piccadilly(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Celebrity(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,087)
Filter reviews
3,088 results
Traveller rating
404
721
652
573
738
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
721
652
573
738
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 3,088 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I had to change rooms three times as the first two rooms given to me were so dreadful there was no way I was going to stay in them. The third room, eventually, was "passable" - just. The lifts were not working and there was a sign up saying they didnt know when they would be! Terrible for people arriving in either wheelchairs or with children in strollers. The hotel was so dated, food terrible (breakfast), the sheet on my bed didnt fit, so was just laid on top of the mattress, and the two flat pillows on the bed were ready for the dustbin. Never again would i go there.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Dev0n55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsBH, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on Trip Advisor. I will pass the entire review onto the team at the hotel so they are aware of what you experienced as they will want to do their best to avoid this happening in future. Hopefully you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Had to book two rooms as nothing available for 3 persons. Rooms are basic and small. Not pleasant smelling, can't open window so pretty clammy at times. Bathroom you can't swing a cat in. Having said that it was clean and served it's purpose. Stayed here about 10 years ago and it's not changed. BUFFET dinner and breakfast certainly worth the money. All staff friendly and polite. Lifts not working for our stay. The gym room had a leak and not usable. The pool, sauna, steam and Jacuzzi all fine. Evening entertainment left a lot to desired but suited the clientele. Grounds kept well. Close to beach, shops, bars etc - good location.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank yogianddaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsBH, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As a company we are always delighted to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and have checked-out happy. I will ensure to make the team at the hotel aware of the concerns you mention however. I look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Bath hotel in the future. For the best available deals please call our sales centre on 0871 221 0204

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very pretty on the outside but make no mistake this is an old fashioned, dated hotel operating near the bottom end, and desperately in need of a wake up call...

20 quid per day for parking and all the extras already mentioned in previous reviews - what modern hotel charges you for towels and Wi-Fi these days??

But the breakfast... no pastries, no meats, no cheese, no bread other than cheap super thin sliced... one yoghurt and 2 fruits and 3 cereal. Really basic fry up a d no chance of getting something cooked to order.. . Poached egg?? Forget it...

The Premier Inn across the road is so much better value and in its current format this hotel will not last I'm afraid. Get with the programme and check what your competitors are doing! Premier inn or Norfolk royal on a golden ticket so much better value folks....

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsBH, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Bath Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of our Royal Bath Hotel on Trip Advisor. I will ensure to pass the entire review onto the team at the hotel so they are aware of what you experienced as they will want to do their best to avoid this happening in future. Hopefully you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The first room we were allocated was very old with dirty windows & a view of a brick wall literally about 1 metre away from our window. This room was also freezing cold.

We read that we could swap our room for an extra few so we paid £60 and swapped to a room on the top floor with a balcony & sea view. This room was stunning with underfloor heating in the bathroom and a separate living area to the bedroom.

I would recommend that if you stay here you spend that little bit extra to guarantee a better room as the hotel itself is great so it's a shame to let one bad room leave a bad first impression.

Hotel is also minutes away from the beach and shops in central Bournemouth.

Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Caseyacorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived early, but were able to put our bags behind reception, off to the spa we went. Well Spa it's not, residents have to pay to enter £4'each, £1 for a locker and £1 for a towel, should of bought our own, the pool was freezing, the room itself was cold, and the Jacuzzi didn't even work, there was one piece of exercise equipment all tapped up, the stream room was nice, but we couldn't even get in the sauna, apparently only two seats. We were staying B & B so went out for a curry, we wernt given our room keys, they were in the room when we got security to let us in!!!!!, we were apparently upgraded!!!! Must admit our room was massive it was obviously a family room, an alarm sounded twice, whilst we were sleeping we wanted to ring reception but the phone didn't work, there was a child's sticker on the wall in the bathroom!!!!! The shower was abit hit and miss, one of the kids beds bed legs was bent, so that needs seeing to. Breakfast was ok I thought there would of been more to choose from, but was enough. For a deal which cost us £119 and the extra spa costs, would we go back? Unfortunately not, the hotel needs upgrading massively

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank deanoandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews